We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crowe's Nest Bar

Main Street, Cong, Ireland
+353 94 954 6243
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good30%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“mussels” (16 reviews)
“lamb shank” (7 reviews)
“chowder” (10 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Irish
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street, Cong, Ireland
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were here for dinner on a Monday night in late November. The food was well presented and very tasty. My husband had a lamb shank and I enjoyed the curry. The owner was very friendly and was helping out with the service along with...More

Thank nashiesmam
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited this pub on a busy Sat evening. Place was full but we were shown straight to a table. Menu was varied. I had the daily special of slow cooked lamb shank, came with mixed veg on the side, Beautifully cooked al dente. Huppy...More

1  Thank Elaine M
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were in Cong mid-day recently and stopped at the Crowe's Nest Bar on the ground floor of Ryan's hotel for lunch before heading up to Donegal. The pub is on what seems to be Cong's main street and is just a 3 minute walk...More

Thank IllinoisMike
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed a nice meal on our first night in Cong, friendly staff and good atmosphere, given that this is off season still very good and would recommend a visit for a good bite to eat!!

Thank bigmac14758
Reviewed November 3, 2017

We wanted to go to Pat Cohan's pub from the Quiet Man movie, but it was closed for the year. The food here was good and had a pint of Guinness.

Thank Sierra_Gray_Wolf
Michael C, Owner at The Crowe's Nest Bar, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2017

Thank you for taking time to review us.

Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

Crow's Nest is listed as a "bistro" with up to $$$ prices. Not so. It is the local pub/restaurant attached to Ryan's Hotel. Same owners, one of whom is the chef. Excellent atmosphere. Dining is in a sport bar/pub environment. We enjoyed dinner while a...More

Thank dcb1Florida
Reviewed October 20, 2017

Very modern pub and large eatery in the centre of Cong. Very pricey though but to be expected of the area and S.Ireland. Varied menu. We had no complaints about our evening meals - steak and chips or fish 'n' chips. They were served quickly...More

Thank Angela S
Michael C, Owner at The Crowe's Nest Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Morning Angela. Thank you so much for reviewing us positively. We really appreciate you taking the time to do this.

Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile

We only had drinks here but the Guinness was good and I was offered a choice of glass for my g&t - nice not to have the fishbowls that we got everywhere else!

Thank Anne F
Michael C, Manager at The Crowe's Nest Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Thanks Anne for taking time to review us - much appreciated

Reviewed October 15, 2017

Great food. The fish and chips (they used Hake that night) was best we had in Ireland. Salmon was excellent as well. Chocolate cake was great end to the meal

Thank Art G
Michael C, Owner at The Crowe's Nest Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Thanks Art. We were delighted with your review and that's what makes our job so enjoyable when you go away happy with the food we create !

Reviewed October 11, 2017

Initially, the atmosphere of this pub seemed more like a local neighborhood place. And it is! The main entrance leads right into the bar. But on a windy, rainy evening, my husband and I were too tired to look elsewhere, and sat down for dinner-...More

Thank mamusia
Michael C, Owner at The Crowe's Nest Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Thank you for your very positive review. We are always delighted to stop and have a chat

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Hungry Monk Cafe
538 reviews
.08 miles away
The Dungeon
34 reviews
.35 miles away
Pyramid Restaurant
75 reviews
.00 miles away
George V Dining Room
291 reviews
.50 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Ashford Castle
407 reviews
.52 miles away
Royal Abbey of Cong
329 reviews
.11 miles away
Statue of John Wayne and Maureen O'Hara
232 reviews
.02 miles away
Monk's Fishing House
90 reviews
.16 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
ChrisG02
September 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from silverfox711 | Reviewed this property |
even though I couldn't help you with my earlier response, I have a suggestion. the crows nest is part of Ryan's hotel in Cong so if you look them up, I'm sure Denis or Brian will be able to help you.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$6 - $41
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Parking Available
Good for
Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street, Cong, Ireland
  • Location: Europe  >  Ireland  >  Western Ireland  >  Province of Connacht  >  County Mayo  >  Cong
  • Phone Number: +353 94 954 6243
  • E-mail
  • This restaurant is at Ryan's Hotel
Description
We are a bar/bistro in the centre of Cong Village. We provide a varied range of food from early morning until late evening. We pride ourselves on quick and attentive service and welcome everybody into the Crowe's Nest and want them to have an enjoyable experience with us.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing