We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Le Bistrot d'Alain

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
French, European, Gastropub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Valle Menendez, 16, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
+34 922 75 23 36
Website
Monday
Closed
Hours:
Tue - Sun 7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 79: English reviews
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Not our first visit but this little place never ever disappoints. Staff wonderful, food brilliant and what a selection. Attentive but not intrusive and very knowledgable. Well worth a visit search it out

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D J
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wow, what a bad meal! I wish I could give it a zero. Everything from the food to the service was bad. I found a lot of good restaurants in Tenerife and this was by far the worst meal I had. I see you have given my partner some 'advice' about what to do when visiting a 'good and serious... More 

Helpful?
Thank Adam K
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our dinner here last Sunday! We were impressed with the services by the owners. Best to visit this restaurant when it's not so busy. Food was good. However, I would strongly suggest to Jacques that more vegetables should be served with the main courses. Hence, lack of nutritional balance. Even in French fine dining, more vegetables on the... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank wolverinecyclops
Le bistrot A, Gérant at Le Bistrot d'Alain, responded to this review

By propriety we use to answer our customers. We will take into account your critical remark to give you even more satisfaction next time. Jacques and Marie More 

exeter
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I had been to this restaurant many times previously under the old management. Although the food was good it was not great like before and it is an expensive night out we will not return .

Helpful?
1 Thank ExeterAnne
Le bistrot A, Gérant at Le Bistrot d'Alain, responded to this review

It's really very difficult to judge the quality of a restaurant after only one meal especially seing it's impossible to taste more than one starter and one maincourse among all those that are offered you. Above all, we are very surprised by your critical remark about our present prices we have lowered (food coffee alcohol and wines included). Many other... More 

Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After reading the reviews on this restaurant, we thought we would give it a try. From the moment we walked in it was terrible- after a couple had barged past us to get a table first (not the restaurateurs fault) but they could have dealt with it better. Then we thought ah they have redeemed themselves as they brought us... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Roxywhittam
Le bistrot A, Gérant at Le Bistrot d'Alain, responded to this review

By propriety, we always answer all our customers and you have probably noticed that not all the restaurants take time to do it. We are very sorry about the behaviour of this couple but we are not responsible for this situation. At last if we can give you an advice when you go to a good and serious restaurants like... More 

Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First time here and won't be last Lovely welcome from French owners started with sparkling wine Moved onto beautiful amuse bouche I had great four gras and great pigs cheeks melt in the mouth Hubby raved about crayfish and prawn in puff pastry All washed down with lovely Margaux Keep it up!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
Le bistrot A, Gérant at Le Bistrot d'Alain, responded to this review

We are pleased you enjoyed your meal. It is an encouragement to continue and try to do even better. jacques and Marie More 

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Bistro is a must for foodies. Forget the minimalist menu and look at the blackboard which will be brought to your table with the days specials. My partner chose 'Grenouilles' (Frogs legs to you!) and very tasty they were with a piquant sauce. I had a lovely dish of coarse chopped ham in a crust, two pieces nicely garnished.... More 

Helpful?
Thank dtredhead
Le bistrot A, Propriétaire at Le Bistrot d'Alain, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your meal among us. It's an encouragement to go on offering you good quality products well cooked by a good Chef at a reasonable price. Jacques and Marie More 

Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2017

A small but intimate restaurant in Los Cristianos. The menu was limited and very French. Possibly too French with not a lot of variety but what we had was good and the service was excellent and the owner was very attentive. Perfect for a special occasion

Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary E
Le bistrot A, Gérant at Le Bistrot d'Alain, responded to this review
Google Translation

Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez passé un bon moment ! Jacques et Marie More 

Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2017 via mobile

Friends back home convinced us to make Alain a visit for dinner - a French bistro south in Los Christianos. We preordered a table, and we were received in the very best way. The meal was complete, as starter a light pâté supplied with fois gras, the beef was perfect (for each of us, with differing preferences), and the chocolate... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Bjørn Magne E
Le bistrot A, Gérant at Le Bistrot d'Alain, responded to this review

We are very pleased you enjoyed your meal. It's an encouragement to continue. For us it must be a good moment spent in a restaurant with a good quality food, a good cooker in a nice atmosphere. It's what we try to do everyday. Jacques and Marie More 

Liverpool
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2017

This is a little back-street gem, which seemed to be open mainly in the evenings. It is run by a very welcoming couple from the Paris region and is delightfully French in ambience and cuisine. As soon as we arrived we were offered a glass of sparkling wine. After the gratis amuse bouche we went for starters of pheasant and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Convo
Le bistrot A, Gérant at Le Bistrot d'Alain, responded to this review
Google Translation

Nous avons eu plaisir à vous accueillir à notre table !! Nous vous remercions du temps consacré à nous écrire.... More 

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot d'Alain also viewed

 
Los Cristianos, Arona
 

Been to Le Bistrot d'Alain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$27 - $41
Cuisine
French, European, Gastropub
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Good for
Business meetings, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Tuesday
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Wednesday
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Thursday
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Friday
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Saturday
7:00 pm - 10:30 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Valle Menendez, 16, 38650 Los Cristianos, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
  • Location: Europe  >  Spain  >  Canary Islands  >  Tenerife  >  Arona  >  Los Cristianos
  • Phone Number: +34 922 75 23 36
Description
The restaurant "Le Bistrot d'Alain" situated in Los Cristianos, south of the island of Tenerife, is the opportunity to enjoy fine french cuisine made with seasonal ingredients. Its interior, classic and elegant, gives relaxation and allows you to taste its delicacies in a calm and relaxed atmosphere. Its covered terrace allows to enjoy the mildness Canarian climate. The menu shows several starters such as Country terrine with Rabelais spices and Espelette pepper or duck foie gras, frog legs a la provencale that will arose your appetite. It also offers main dishes like Magret duck breast with orange sauce, steak tartare, the delicious beef filet manner Rossini, with foie gras and truffle or the grilled Lamb Carré with thyme ... And ask the market chalkboard for the chef's suggestions !!! To accompany all these delicacies, the great french wines are finally proposed.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Le Bistrot d'Alain and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Manchester, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Le Bistrot d'Alain staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?