We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Cnr Surf Parade & Queensland Ave, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
+61 7 5538 9938
Website
Today
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,168: English reviews
Brisbane
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great place for breakfast - good value $10 breakfast special. Service is friendly and efficient. Great relaxed ambiance.

Helpful?
Thank jax1601
Green Point, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Great food and perfect service from Courtney. We were so impressed we have booked for dinner. Thank you for the great referral Courtney

Helpful?
Thank jollygoodhomeser2016
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited this restaurant with 25% off voucher from hotel. Asked as we were seated if we could use it. Come the bill and no discount. Told only applies at night but this is not mentioned on voucher and the discount menu is different and slightly more expensive. The food is mediocre pub fare but totally unimpressed with the restaurant's refusal... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicki T
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Vicki T, Thank you so much for your comments - we are so sorry you had a disappointing experience with us at Sage with some conflicting information and your feedback has highlighted some issues with our discounting system that we have taken immediate steps to rectify. Thank you again for giving us valuable feedback and the opportunity to improve... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The restaurant is quite ordinary. Meals are ok. They advertise $10 breakfast as all other cafes around. However when we've got the bill it was $18. And apparently it was all our fault. $8 wold not break my purse but I hate to be taken for a ride. Beware.

Helpful?
Thank Boris_K52
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Boris_K52, Thanks for your review - yes we do offer a $10 breakfast special, however apparently when you ordered you asked for the big breakfast (we understand now you meant the breakfast special, however the big breakfast is something else entirely and is listed on our breakfast a la carte menu for $18). Your review has highlighted to us... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Best Cafe 2016 award is astonishing. On a week's stay at Broadbeach tried Sage the first morning. Ordered the Breakfast Brushetta - eggs, avocado, tomato, onion etc. & coffee. Coffee was excellent & the 2 poached eggs were beautifully cooked but the few pieces of avocado were miniscule - almost non-existent. At $15.90 - sorry - that's a rip off.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Knightley2013
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Knightley 2013, Thank you for taking the time to review us - I will pass on your feedback regarding the size of the avocado portions to our chef. In terms of comparisons to other venues, we too have several salads we serve at lunch that are only $16.90 but the food costs on these salads are not the same... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Amazing food with fantastic service by Ruby. It was a busy night and the food was still served in a timely manner. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone and everyone

Helpful?
Thank Ghassibe
JustineC1, General Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Ghassibe, Thankyou for your compliments - we greatly appreciate the feedback! Kind regards, Justine Clarke Marketing Manager More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Very ordinary restaurant. Not enough staff. Manager used bad language to his staff. The food was below average. We had to ask for a drink every time and then wait forever to get it.

Helpful?
Thank Woodruf
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I ate here numerous times for breakfast with a colleague while staying on the Gold Coast for a conference. The menu has great variety and the food is tasty and had quick service. The breakfast special is good value and the fruit salad was also great.

Helpful?
Thank Priscilla J
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Went for breakfast, poached eggs came out like hard boiled and doused in vinegar. They were inedible. When we told the waiter, we were only given a 10% discount. Should of pushed the issue more, but we're not that type of people. Disappointed with the food and lack of sincerity shown. So many other places to eat, so avoid

Helpful?
Thank HungryTeee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A very popular place to eat and its is always full at dinner. I went for the early bird dinner and the menu had a variety of things i would have liked to try. I ordered Salmon and asked that it not be well done. My friends ordered the marinara and schnitzel which they thoroughly enjoyed. My salmon unfortunately was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julianne C
JustineC1, Manager at Sage Cafe Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Juliane C, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We appreciate your wonderful comments about the food and extend our apologies for not getting the salmon quite as you requested. We'd love to see you back at Sage soon to try some of our other dishes. Kind regards, Justine Clarke Marketing Manager More 

Travelers who viewed Sage Cafe Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sage Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$11 - $31
Cuisine
Steakhouse, Bar, Pizza, Seafood, Grill, Italian, European, Australian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Wine and Beer
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Monday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Tuesday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Wednesday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Thursday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Friday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Cnr Surf Parade & Queensland Ave, Broadbeach, Gold Coast, Queensland 4218, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Queensland  >  Gold Coast  >  Broadbeach
  • Phone Number: +61 7 5538 9938
Description
WINNER – Australia’s Favourite Family Restaurant 2010, 2012WINNER – Best Café Restaurant 2009 & 2012STATE WINNER – Best Café Restaurant 2007WINNER – Best Licensed Restaurant 2005, 2006 & 2007Open from 7am till late, 7 days; Sage Café’s menus feature traditional favourites mixed with contemporary flavours and we specialize in high quality steaks and fresh seafood. Sage’s steaks are Meat Standards Australia certified and are 90 day aged and grass fed. With it’s northerly aspect, Sage Café Restaurant is one of the few venues that enjoys full sun all day, making it the perfect place to enjoy a leisurely breakfast or lunch and has a bustling pace enhanced by the action of the open kitchen.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Sage Cafe Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Melbourne Australia
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sage Cafe Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?