We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
Cafe, European, New Zealand
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (1,209)
Filter reviews
1,095 results
Traveler rating
427
368
182
56
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
427
368
182
56
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza salmon bagel salad steak mt cook great coffee great view lunch and dinner hot chocolate national park new zealand hooker valley south island limited options during our stay first night views
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

The Burger is one of the best I have had in ages. The chips are also really nice, crispy and fluffy at the same time. We also loved the mocha and hot chocolate!

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 days ago

You can't match the views here. My steak was cooked beautifully and my partner loved the sausages. We dined on a holiday weekend and it was quite busy so a bit noisy and hectic, but the staff were lovely and accommodating.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Don’t bother!!! Firstly... We tried to book for 7pm well in advance, we were told we had been booked for 6pm. Assumed it was busy. Only two other people there. Only one other couple arrived the whole time we were there. No entrees available, about...5 x mains to choose from. The food was VERY expensive for what it was $35/$40 per main & being really honest... it was worse than a Denny’s meal!!! We were incredibly disappointed.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for dinner and was surprised they had no ice for the drinks, after all it is a bar - then I ordered a local red wine and whoops that had run out too. We had steak dinners which were of a good portion size...but very cold with almost cold gravy. No one checked how our meals were until we paid the bill. Would try elsewhere next time.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
HarrietW976, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are not permitted to grow grapes or have vineyards in the Mount Cook National Park. Our local reds are from one of the best areas –– Queenstown and they were readily available to you, so there was no "whoops". We also have a pinot...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is a solid choice in the village. Very popular- we saw a few reserved signs of the tables along the window. By 6:10pm on a Sunday evening during the school holiday, it was full. Ok range of menu. Our steak and salmon were both...reasonable price and portion quite large. Burger was very good, with really tasty chips. I would warn against ordering the kids pizzas - they are by far the smallest pizza I’ve seen, for $15. Quite a rip off, although the standard size pizza seems good only a few bucks more. Overall this is fine.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
HarrietW976, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review. I will personally find out what is going on with the kid's pizza; thanks for the alert. Travel safe.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After a day of outdoors activity we wanted some decent food, we loved the atmosphere in the restaurant with fire and great mountain views. Food was good, the pizzas were great and some of the best tasting bases that were not too doughy. I had...the burger which was again tasty and juicy with chunky fries. Service was good but generally not cheap at $25 for the burger. But one of the better options on the mountain.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
HarrietW976, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Oh that is great news! Much appreciated, thanks for your feedback. The burger does have high quality NZ meat and travel costs are substantial. Many thanks. Travel safe.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Meh. Service was a bit underwhelming and the food was ok. It would be nice to see a few more vegetarian options. There is very little choice in the area so I suppose it’s the best you can get. The place is a bit dirty....Ceiling fans are filthy and the pictures on the wall are sun bleached. The place looks a bit tired.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
HarrietW976, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow. Our place is cleaned within an inch of its life every single day. It is exemplary in this area so we find your comment offensive. The ceiling fans are two storeys up so yes, they may in fact need a dust on the top...More

Reviewed September 16, 2020

As a group of 9, we visited Mt Cook for the weekend and, across the board, thoroughly enjoyed every meal we had at the Old Mountaineers' Cafe. We ate dinner here twice and took a to-go-lunch for our day of hiking. We also enjoyed great...morning coffees and pre-dinner drinks in this friendly, relaxed cafe which has a warm and rustic mountain ambience fitting of its' special location in the National Park. Across the board, our meals were excellent. All our dinner mains arrived at the table at the same time; all hot, fresh and hearty fare and well presented. Everyone in our group commented on the great food and left well fed and very satisfied. Thumbs-up to the staff who were welcoming, friendly toward our large group; with Ollie and Olivia deserving special mention for their great service. The coffees made by Ollie were excellent. We will certainly be back!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
HarrietW976, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow, Suzie, thank you for such a spectacular review and we are delighted that you all had such a great time and loved your experience with us. It really makes our day, and that of our beloved staff, when reviews like yours come in ––...More

Reviewed September 11, 2020

Enjoy the view as the food is below average and overpriced. Boring menu . Wish it could have been better . Service was ok.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
HarrietW976, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2020

The food is cheaper than similar meals in major cities, so not sure what you're referring to. If you have any comments on the food say it so whatever it is can be fixed at the time. We were inundated with clients this week who...More

Reviewed September 5, 2020

The tasty pumpkin and coconut soup warmed the cockles after a chilly walk to see the icebergs at Tasman Lake/River mouth. Friendly staff and beautiful location.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
HarrietW976, Owner at Old Mountaineers' Cafe, Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2020

Oh that is great to hear! Thanks so much for your lovely review! Travel safe.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Hermitage Hotel
2,665 reviews
.12 miles away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
2,010 reviews
.37 miles away
Bella Vista Motel Fox Glacier
505 reviews
18.82 miles away
Ivory Towers Backpackers Lodge
221 reviews
18.84 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Panorama Restaurant
353 reviews
.09 miles away
The Alpine Restaurant
332 reviews
.10 miles away
Chamois Bar & Grill
415 reviews
.29 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hooker Valley Track
1,027 reviews
.96 miles away
Kea Point Track
188 reviews
.11 miles away
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park Visitor Centre
676 reviews
.06 miles away
Sealy Tarns Track
74 reviews
.11 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ash5200
June 23, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Harriet W | Property representative |
Dear Ash, Yes it is VERY high season! We do take reservations and if you book your group in for an early dinner that should work. Let me know your name, contact details of where you are staying and if you want to book on 29... More
0
Votes
Pipo2968
May 25, 2015|
Answer
Response from Harriet W | Property representative |
Welcome to Mount Cook National Park! We serve sourdough or ciabatta bread and toast. In winter the last order depends on how busy it is but book for no later than 7pm to be sure that we are open. Breakfast starts at 10am. We... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing