We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Sukawatee

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
80 Hermitage Road, Hitchin SG5 1DB, England
+44 1462 423733
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Tue - Sat 12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

230 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 229: English reviews
Valenzuela, Philippines
Level Contributor
254 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It was such a nice find for foodies. They serve delicious Thai food for a very affordable price of less than 10 pounds a meal. The cons here include the place being very small, and there was only a single waiter serving you (we didn't get much smile from her).

Helpful?
Thank Rohise
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this review

Thank you Rohise for your review, pleased to hear you enjoyed our offerings from the food point of view, Yes we are only a small establishment nothing we can do about this Sorry! Lunch yes one waitress can handle service very quickly, Tuesday-Thursday evenings we always have two staff on service three at week ends ? No they do not... More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

from the moment we entered , we were made to wait 10 mins to order drinks and the staff were not at all friendly. the food was of poor quality, the green curry seemed like it was ready made and chicken was just added to it. won't be going there again. Also portions are very small. We ordered prawns for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keval P
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this review

On reading your review , I dispute your claims either you have the wrong restaurant or being your first and only restaurant review it appears very suspect ! we do not have a small prawn starter for £5.00 on our menu again disputes your claims of a visit, ALL our dish's are prepared fresh to order and we have many... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The place is very loud and has horrible acoustics. Food is fairly generic Thai, nothing imaginative or interesting. Slightly overpriced for what you get, and the desserts are very limited (I expect interesting desserts from South East Asian food)>

Helpful?
Thank Megan K
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this review

Hello Megan, Sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion, Yes it can get a bit loud at peak times we are only a small high street venue, regards desserts Thais do not really do desserts to that extent, in Thailand you have your main Couse in one venue then have to walk to a specialist dessert venue,... More 

Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited 12 Aug for lunch, it must be our favourite place in Hitchin for a quick bite, we like to be reminded of our holidays in Thailand when we eat here. Food is consistently good, staff are very friendly and hospitable. Many thanks!

Helpful?
Thank Andrewfarrrow
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this review

Thank you Andrew for your great review, looking forward to your next visit we try to stay consistent with our offerings evening menu is worth a try more choice! for special occasions. More 

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having visited this restaurant occasionally over the last few years, I have recently found that, though the food is still good, the service is lacking in both friendliness and customer care. On our last visit, we went with friends and were disappointed at the experience.

Helpful?
Thank gillian a
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, at busy times we do loose the personal attention a bit I can only put this down to pressure of service what with the restaurant being busy and countless takeaway orders the staff get a bit stressed at times, Full apologies for any lack of customer care we wish you to fully enjoy your experience... More 

Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been a lot of times now and find every time the food is always fresh and very tasty. The two girls who work there Aye and Lei (sorry if I haven't spelt their names correctly) are always friendly and work hard.. Very reasonably priced too

Helpful?
Thank Madelaine C
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this review

Madelaine, Thank you very much for your 5 star review, (the girls names are near correct well done Lei is luck in English) these are nick names they use don't ask we why? some I cannot spell let alone their real Christian names! 5 stars are very welcome by the team much appreciated, THANK YOU. More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you are just considering this then you should commit!...lunch menu is great and the evening food has a lot of option too! At lunchtime prawn crackers are provided and there is a list to select from...the portions are good too!

Helpful?
Thank Whitzino
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic recommendation MUCH appreciated by all, Very pleased you enjoy our hospitality we do our Best to please. More 

Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Looking for a good takeaway for a get together with friends and Sukawatee was recommended by my brother in law. Looked at the menu on line and there was something for everyone so called up, placed the order to be told it would be ready in 30 minutes. Spot on! Just as they said, ready to collect in the time... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian S
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this review

Thank you Ian for your great review appreciated by the whole team, Food and service enjoyed by all Great, Please thank your bother in law on our behalf for his recommendation we are looking forward to seeing you again very soon. More 

Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rather than having the usual Indian take away we decided to go for Thai. The restaurant itself is very bland and not inviting but the food was very nice and there was plenty of it. The only down side was the price. It was about twice as much as our usual Indian. Would defiantly recommend but you need to save... More 

Helpful?
Thank synprop
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this review

Sorry if you think we are expensive you cannot compare Thai cuisine with Indian, portion size larger fresh healthy ingredients ! Please visit us again soon we offer up to 20% discount in the week for collection and our prices are very competitive locally, Many thanks for your 4 star rating much appreciated by the whole team. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Having enjoyed good quality take away food we visited the restaurant for a sit down meal. This is a popular local restaurant so booking is advisable. The interior is very simply furnished however service is attentive and the food is delicious. Set meals offer a great variety.

Helpful?
Thank Lynn W
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this review

Thanking you Lynn for your honest and positive review, pleased to see you mention booking ahead we hate disappointing our faithful and friendly customers. More 

Travelers who viewed Sukawatee also viewed

Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Sukawatee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Asian, Thai
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Highchairs Available
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm
5:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 2:00 pm
5:30 pm - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 80 Hermitage Road, Hitchin SG5 1DB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hitchin
  • Phone Number: +44 1462 423733
Description
Small 36 seat only restaurant strongly advise pre booking Friday/Saturday evenings to avoid disappointment

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sukawatee staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?