We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.


88 Hermitage Road, Hitchin SG5 1DB, England
+44 1462 423733
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good28%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“thai food” (23 reviews)
“sticky rice” (10 reviews)
Closed Now
Asian, Thai, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
88 Hermitage Road, Hitchin SG5 1DB, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 292 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2017 via mobile

Nice staff, quite accommodating and most importantly the food was nice. The Phad Thai noodles I had was delicious. Selected the prawn option and was pleased the tract has been removed :). It also seemed pretty authentic, reasonable prices also.

Thank mayowaoladapo
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 13, 2017 via mobile

Never normally dissappointed with the quality of take away food from Sukawatee but a good stir fry needs some crunchy veg but this was all mushy. What happened to the beansprouts listed on the menu ingredients? Can only think they got missed on a busy...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Please accept our apologies for the disappointment with your dish beansprouts are not listed as an ingredient in our menu under stir fry only included in Phad Thai dishes, Please request inclusion next time should not be a problem. Many Thanks

Save your favorites!Keep track of your top restaurant finds.
Save now
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

30 diners. Given a choice of two set menu choices for two very delicious meals. The food was delicious. Especially the beef and basil (but this is my favourite!) Very helpful I’ll definitely be visiting again!

Thank Kathryn W
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Kathryn, Thank you very much for your 5 star review, Very pleased to hear all guests were satisfied with our service, we are looking forward to your next visit- party booking in our New venue.

Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

We had the most delicious meal, we will definitely be returning! We’ve just moved into the area and this is a real find. Reasonable prices, relaxed atmosphere and lovely waitressesMore

Thank Pippa G
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Hello Pippa, First of all a warm welcome to our Town with a fantastic friendly community sprit, Very pleased you enjoyed our hospitality we look forward to you becoming one of our many regulars getting to know our waitresses on first name terms it can...More

Reviewed October 11, 2017 via mobile

Sukawatee is a fantastic Thai restaurant, lots of choice for everyone from mild to spicy. Caters for all dietary requirements there’s a handy checklist in the menu of all dishes which let you know what’s vegan, veggie, gluten free etc which makes choosing the food...More

1  Thank Kat F
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Many Thanks Kat for your great review much appreciated by the whole team, looking forward to your next visit very soon we hope

Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

Very enjoyable meal quick and tasty. Service was excellent and the restaurant and facilities were very clean

Thank andyamstutz
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017

Thank you very much for your 5 star rating, Very pleased to hear you enjoyed our hospitality at Sukawatee we are all looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

My friend and I tried to have lunch here with our young children (all under 3)... we were refused rather rudely before we even entered the restaurant as we had a pushchair. The lady running the restaurant shouted "no no, no room, don't come in"....More

1  Thank splodge1987
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Please accept my apologies on behalf of Sukawatee we only have two high chairs available if these were in use at the time of your visit the staff should have explained the situation calmly to you instead of jumping down your throat with no explanation...More

Reviewed September 6, 2017

My wife and I have been to Sukawatee on a previous occasion and enjoyed it so much we took my brother their for his birthday. We were looking for somewhere with a good atmosphere, food and service which was not to expensive and needed to...More

1  Thank Jonathan G
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

Hello Jonathan, Birthday treat ! Very nice thank you very much for your in-depth review most welcome by the whole team, we are looking forward to being of service to you in the very near future Many thanks again for the 5 star rating.

Reviewed August 30, 2017

Great for a quick pop-in, eat, go place. Tasty food and.....most of all, fab value. Staff could be slightly warmer in my view - a bit quiet and sombre in there but overall, good.

Thank Mum-n-2girls
Reviewed August 25, 2017 via mobile

Highly recommended for Veggies and Vegans. Just stumbled across this Restaurant, so helpful, tasty, well priced, fresh, quick AND VEGAN OR VEGETARIAN. You can choose almost anything on the menu and they can Veganise it. Brilliant, we will be back.More

Thank Charles B
Tinbum_13, Owner at Sukawatee, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017

Hello Charles, Thank you very much for a great review very pleased to hear that we catered for your requirements both front of house and beyond, we have a very versatile team in the kitchen that try very hard to go the extra mile, we...More

Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Hitchin
Premier Inn Hitchin Town Centre Hotel
303 reviews
.04 miles away
The Sun Hotel
402 reviews
.21 miles away
Hitchin Priory
465 reviews
.31 miles away
Lord Lister Hotel
87 reviews
.32 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Fabio's Gelato
196 reviews
.01 miles away
Taste Buds
120 reviews
.05 miles away
Hermitage Road Restaurant & Bar
1,083 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
British Schools Museum
104 reviews
.28 miles away
Market Theatre
29 reviews
.19 miles away
Hitchin Swimming Centre
64 reviews
.35 miles away
Queen Mother Theatre
11 reviews
.52 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available
Good for
Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
12:00 PM - 2:00 PM
5:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 88 Hermitage Road, Hitchin SG5 1DB, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hertfordshire  >  Hitchin
  • Phone Number: +44 1462 423733
  • E-mail
Small 36 seat only restaurant strongly advise pre booking Friday/Saturday evenings to avoid disappointment
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing