We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fresh! on Spey - CLOSED

121 High Street, Aberlour AB38 9PB, Scotland
+44 1340 871333
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good30%
  • Average15%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible5%
Travelers talk about
“cullen skink” (13 reviews)
“soup” (10 reviews)
“scones” (8 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
Cafe, British, Soups, Scottish, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
121 High Street, Aberlour AB38 9PB, Scotland
All Details
Reviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 92 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2016

This café used to be the best one in Aberlour, however the quality of food has dropped and I find that sad. I was there the day of the Aberlour Highland Games so things where a touch busy, but basics like the butter for the...More

Thank philip_maylam
Reviewed February 28, 2016

The food is nice but the staff need to cheer up a bit, makes us feel quit sad. It's not very big so book if you go, certainly at the weekend.More

Thank FionaSuds
Leeble72, Public Relations Manager at Fresh! on Spey, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2016

Hello, Thank you for your review. 'Fresh on Spey' closed at the end of January 2016 becuase it was sold to new owners who reopened it as 'The Byre' in Feburary 2016. We wish great success to the new owners at 'The Byre' - 121...More

Reviewed February 4, 2016

Great little cafe in Aberlour. If you are craving a coffee when passing through Speyside, or you happen to have just finished up a good walk down the trails along The River Spey, this would be the perfect place to stop in for a coffee....More

Thank Weinmann11
Reviewed January 28, 2016

We visited for lunch and opted or the Cullen Skink with brown bread at £4.95 each! We both loved the soup and the service was professional and came with a smile.

Thank Bill M
Reviewed January 24, 2016

Lovely, friendly staff. good food reasonably priced. Easy to find. Eat there and you will certainly want to return!

1  Thank Victoria31
Reviewed December 31, 2015

Popped in here for coffee and a scone. Staff were young and pleasant. Only cheese scones available, but they were very good.

Thank Annmchristie
Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile

Stopped in here for lunch and had the Cullen Skink. Creamy, flavoursome Cullen Skink to be proud of with oodles of fish. Lovely lunchtime stop.

1  Thank Eriskay17
Leeble72, Public Relations Manager at Fresh! on Spey, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Thank you for stopping by Fresh on your way through Aberlour and we are glad you enjoyed the Cullen Skink!

Reviewed October 16, 2015

We live in Aberlour and often visit Fresh on Spey for the excellent real leaf tea.We tried the Cullen Skink recently for lunch and were greatly impressed.Great flavour where quality is of the essence.

Thank Bill M
Leeble72, Public Relations Manager at Fresh! on Spey, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2015

Thank you for your positive feedback we are glad you like our loose leaf tea and Cullen Skink and thank you for coming to Fresh while the village struggles with awful longterm roadworks - it is much appreciated!

Reviewed October 9, 2015

This is usually a good wee coffee shop that I usually visit when in Aberlour but I was really disappointed with the coffee served this time around. It seems that many tearooms and coffee shops are getting it wrong with the quality of coffee being...More

Thank Speysider58
Leeble72, Public Relations Manager at Fresh! on Spey, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2015

Thank you so much for your feedback and positive comments. However, we are terribly sorry you did not enjoy the coffee this time round. We do not charge for an extra shot, so please do not hesitate the next time you are in to ask...More

Reviewed October 6, 2015

We had a meal on a Sunday and it was maybe a weekend staffing/planning issue but some meals looked and had the texture of food that had been reheated or microwaved for too long - sweaty, frazzled and overly chewy to varying degrees. The quality...More

Thank Beachdrum
Leeble72, Public Relations Manager at Fresh! on Spey, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2015

Very sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal and thank you for your comments and feedback. We do beleive this was a blip on this occasion and hope you will visit us again soon. We appeal to all of our customers to please feel free...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Mash Tun
350 reviews
.08 miles away
The Dowans Hotel
131 reviews
.28 miles away
Le Petit Gourmand
140 reviews
.10 miles away
The Byre Grazing
67 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Aberlour Distillery
326 reviews
.20 miles away
Speyside Cooperage
314 reviews
1.95 miles away
Speyside Tours
192 reviews
4.15 miles away
Glen Grant Whisky Distillery and Garden
203 reviews
4.23 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Good for
Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 121 High Street, Aberlour AB38 9PB, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Moray  >  Aberlour
  • Phone Number: +44 1340 871333
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing