We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Worplesdon Place

$$
Bar, British, Gluten Free, Grill, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Perry Hill | Bespoke Hotel, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England
01483 232407
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

253 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 253: English reviews
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The pub looks lovely due to a recent refit, and the location is nice BUT the food isn't great and certainly isn't worth what they charge for it. The prices are similar to local gastro pubs serving food that's vastly superior and freshly prepared. Our food looked and tasted like it had gone from freezer to microwave. Disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We have visited 3 times now and probably won't return. The service was very slow and the staff were not very attentive, despite not being very busy on a Saturday evening. The food is a little expensive for what it is. There are also much better pubs offering better food and better value for money nearby. The starters arrived after... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian G
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have been back to the Worplesdon Place several times since it re-opened in March, and have enjoyed each visit and been impressed with the friendliness of bar staff and waiting staff. It has a lovely relaxing atmosphere, and is a great place to meet/catch up with friends. On my first visit, we had coffee - another time I took... More 

Helpful?
Thank EileenT63
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went for lunch last weekend and it and we really enjoyed it. The staff were kind and helpful, sitting outside was lovely and our lunch arrived quickly and tasted great. Would recommend, and would definitely go back again!

Helpful?
Thank jesswatson15
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I often visit with my boyfriend and sometimes with friends and it's always a lovely experience. The bar staff are very friendly and the food is lovely. My personal opinion is there isn't enough variety of food on the menu but that's my opinion. The garden can get quite messy when the sun comes out but what garden doesn't. All... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chantelle W
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Sunday. Place was very quiet, but they did manage to serve the one table that came after us first. Service was slow throughout - thank goodness we did not try it on a busy day! Chicken looked disgusting and Sunday roast was frankly un-edible. They had the nerve to charge an extra few pounds for pink beef, but this had... More 

Helpful?
Thank akamcdonald
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited here with a few friends and their children on a Friday lunch time, the place was dead when we got there, and it took us an hour for all of us to order drinks as there was only one person serving, most of the time chatting to colleagues who were just wondering around watching the queue of people.... More 

Helpful?
Thank LJMJ2010
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to drop in on the way home on Sunday afternoon at about 5pm for an early dinner with our 3 young girls (6, 3 and 3) as we had heard some good things and were interested to see what it was like. Outside was very nice in terms of seating area and the large grass area for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Spritepro
DOXFORDS, Manager at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Dear Spritepro Thank you for your feedback and comments following your vist to Worplesdon Place on Sunday. I can only apologise that some of our food items had run out. Sunday is and was an extremely busy day and we unfortunately sold an unusual amount of burgers. The number of burgers we will prep in future as well as several... More 

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having been to several times recently and been very impressed with the food and service I would like to know what has happened! The food was terrible and the man behind the bar very rude and grumpy. Having been told that there were no burgers having been given the menu earlier and then no chicken at all the meals that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol A
DOXFORDS, Manager at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Dear Carol A Thank you for your feedback and comments following your visit to Worplesdon Place. I can only apologise that you did not receive the usual experience and all aspects of your review have been discussed within the management team and will be addressed. Please do come back to see us for an improved and more normal experience. Best... More 

Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food here is good and you cannot fault the location as a family friendly venue, however the service at the bar was very poor, the staff were not welcoming and not very helpful. In fact it felt as though we were intruding and everything we asked for was too much trouble, such a shame as this is a perfect venue... More 

Helpful?
Thank julesamanda
DOXFORDS, Manager at Worplesdon Place, responded to this review

Dear Julesamanda Thank you for your recent feedback and comments following a visit to Worplesdon Place. I am dissapointed to hear that the bar team were not welcoming as that is something we have spoke a lot about since our refurbishment. I have sat down and gone through this with the senior bar team to ensure that all guests are... More 

Travelers who viewed Worplesdon Place also viewed

Worplesdon, Guildford
 

Been to Worplesdon Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3 of 5 stars
Average prices
$5 - $26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Gluten Free, Grill, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Perry Hill | Bespoke Hotel, Worplesdon, Guildford GU3 3RY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Guildford  >  Worplesdon
  • Phone Number: 01483 232407

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Worplesdon Place and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Worplesdon Place staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?