We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar

Main Street | Lake Tekapo Village, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
+64 3-680 6677
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent27%
  • Very good33%
  • Average22%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible10%
Travelers talk about
“lamb hotpot” (4 reviews)
“potatoes” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, Pizza, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Main Street | Lake Tekapo Village, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Having to wait for an hour for food, we ended up having it taken away and enjoy the pizza with wine infront of our balcony while waiting for sunset. Thin crust pepperoni pizza and salami chorizo ham pizza. Both are tasty. . Food : 5/5...More

1  Thank ieatirate
TinPlate2014, Guest Relations Manager at Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi ieatirate, Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to give Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar a review & we hope to see you again in the future!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went here with friends, a truly terrible dining experience. I ordered the chicken “parmigiana” which came out as an over microwaved piece of breaded chicken (likely frozen) wrapped in hard dry bacon served with a creamy spaghetti(ie not parmigiana).. all of the food was bland,...More

1  Thank Patrick H
intrepidtravler77, Owner at Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hi Patrick, We thank you for your feedback, however there are a few points that need to be stated. I can assure you that we do not microwave our chicken, and it most certainly does not come in frozen. We make everything in house and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The pork fillet was devine. So tender and plenty of it. My husband had the fettuccine. Very generous portion. Both meals delicious. Yuumm. Staff were very friendly.

Thank Gee8246
TinPlate2014, Director of Sales at Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Gee8246, Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to give Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar a review & we hope to see you again in the future!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After wandering around a few restaurants in the small village, I decided to try Tin Plate and it was a lovely dinner! I had Pan fried duck breast with creamed leek and cherry jus. Duck was cooked perfectly and the creamy leek sauce and the...More

Thank Angelic8619
TinPlate2014, Guest Relations Manager at Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Angelic8619, Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to give Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar a review & we hope to see you again in the future!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stopped here on the road between Christchurch and Queenstown. We chose Tin Plate as it was open relatively late for lunch (2 PM) and it offered vegetarian options. We had the chicken quesadilla and the potato and red bean cake as well as blood...More

Thank Anna P
TinPlate2014, Guest Relations Manager at Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Anna P, Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to give Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar a review & we hope to see you again in the future!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I loved the lamb hot pot, served with potatoes gratin and broccoli. Yum yum. Generous amounts of lamb in the dish. $28. The pork filet was good. $28. Together with a drink each, total $78. This is a business in three parts: a bar, a...More

Thank Dianne C
TinPlate2014, Director of Sales at Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Dianne C, Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to give Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar a review & we hope to see you again in the future!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had dinner here Labour Weekend. Was told we had to sit outside in the cold as tourists were arriving in an hour snd we would be kicked out if we sat in. Service was ok. Was asked if we were ready to order 3 times...More

Thank funho57
TinPlate2014, Director of Sales at Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi funho57, I am finding it hard to thank you for your review as the first part of it is as as far from the truth as possible! I have spoken with our staff that worked on labour weekend just to make sure that nothing...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We whent in for dinner, the only thing availlable was pizza, because they had to cook for a large group. So we ordered pizza. My wife a veggie it was not so good, the vegetables were to big chunks and there was to much cheese...More

Thank Ivar1970
TinPlate2014, Guest Relations Manager at Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Ivar1970, Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to give Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar a review.

Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

Went in for a cheeky late lunch, was served promptly by the team, food arrived in a good time, and was all great. Ordered take away pizzas the night before, and the reason for the four star instead of 5 - pizza topping didn't cover...More

1  Thank SOTL2017
TinPlate2014, Guest Relations Manager at Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Hi Z7441ZHcharlieh, Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to give Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar a review & we hope to see you again in the future!

Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

Had dinner at this place on a quiet monday night. Lots of tourist but place wasnt overcrowded. Pizzas are amazing. Even the gluten free pizza was good. Place is a bit promicey as $34 for a pozza bit then again everything is pricey in lake...More

Thank getmevarun
TinPlate2014, Guest Relations Manager at Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2017

Hi getmevarun, Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to give Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar a review, happy to hear you loved your pizza but will just clarify the price as all our pizza's are $24 not...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kohan Restaurant
979 reviews
.04 miles away
Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill
999 reviews
.03 miles away
Reflections Restaurant
576 reviews
.11 miles away
Run 76 Cafe
532 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lake Tekapo
1,920 reviews
.23 miles away
Church of the Good Shepherd
1,435 reviews
.25 miles away
Mackenzie Sheep Dog Statue
299 reviews
.32 miles away
Tekapo Star Gazing
37 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $24
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Street | Lake Tekapo Village, Lake Tekapo 7999, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Mackenzie District  >  Lake Tekapo
  • Phone Number: +64 3-680 6677
  • E-mail
Description
Tin Plate Kitchen & Bar is a contemporary Restaurant & Bar open for breakfast, lunch & dinner and offers a diverse range of food, wines, craft beer, cocktails & a great pizza menu that is available for take away. Indulge in a scoop or bowl of New Zealand Kapiti ice cream, available in 10 delicious flavours! Our menu changes with the seasons to ensure you get the freshest and finest local ingredients on your plate, catering for gluten free, vegetarian & vegan diets. During winter come in & enjoy the warmth & comfort of the fireplace while relaxing with a glass of mulled wine & in summer enjoy a Cosmo in the outdoor seating areas & soak in the sun. Tin Plate Catering offers a range of options to suit all function & event types. Ask us for a copy of our Catering Kit which will give you costs & menu choices for canapés, buffet breakfast, lunch & dinner, platters & cheese boards, high tea parties, welcome packages & picnic baskets. The restaurant & bar can be hired out for private functions i.e. birthdays, corporate or staff events & is a great alternative location when bad weather arises (e.g. wedding receptions). We have staff that can be hired as well as a PA system & can supply a mobile kitchen for functions at an additional cost. Let us work with you to create the perfect event!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing