We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coriander's

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
30 Conical Hill Road | Shop 5, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
6433157616
Website
Today
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tue - Sun 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

258 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 256: English reviews
Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

One of the best curries I've had. Shared a vegetable jalfrezee and an aloo Gobi and they were delicious! Very lovely and helpful staff who catered very easily for our vegan needs. Really nice atmosphere and really warm do was nice to get out of the cold.

Helpful?
Thank katyb12345
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Haven't dined in here. But stayed nearby and took advantage of the take away. Had a couple of drinks while we picked it up and hid from the family with my brother. Lovely food too.

Helpful?
Thank SaxonFraser
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Chose this restaurant as it had great reviews. The restaurant was very clean with great ambiance. The curries were to die for. Very efficient and friendly waiters. Very enjoyable evening. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank LYN3521962
coriandersnz, Guest Relations Manager at Coriander's, responded to this review

And thank you for trying us out! We hope to see you again some time :) More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We got takeaways from here and they were delicious. Rather popular so we went early to avoid the rush. Park next door for the kids to play while waiting for our takeaways which was a bonus. Definitely recommend

Helpful?
Thank emmarV1222JC
coriandersnz, Guest Relations Manager at Coriander's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We hope to see you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Staff was great. Food was delicious. However my girlfriend ordered some chicken with lemon rice and it wasn't to her liking (I thought it was delicious however). The roasted duck breast was delicious and the sides were well cooked. Garlic naan is good as always. Recommend if you want to spend a little extra cash

Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
coriandersnz, Guest Relations Manager at Coriander's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Daniel! More 

Kaikoura, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The curries was expensive and the dish I ordered (chicken balti dhansak) was nothing like I had ever had before at other Indian restaurants and I was very disappointed (I'm not sure I have ever had kidney beans in it before either??). The staff were lovely and friendly though.

Helpful?
Thank nathalie1jones
coriandersnz, Guest Relations Manager at Coriander's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we will pass your feedback onto the kitchen. More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After a recent visit to this restaurant we were very disappointed with the quality of food served in their platter for two. The Chicken Tikka, lamb and lamp chops were very dry and uninspiring. The main course was slightly better, plenty of heat but with very little flavor. Would like to see them try harder.

Helpful?
Thank 425drew
coriandersnz, Guest Relations Manager at Coriander's, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback Drew! We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your meal but rest assured we do try extremely hard! We hope you will give us another chance next time. More 

Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
139 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was a bit reluctant to return to Coriander's this trip after our one and only experience there in 2013 but there was no need to worry - the food was superb and the service spot on. Our best value evening meal in Hanmer this time, too. It was reasonably busy on a Saturday night but we were seated quickly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Coastfans
coriandersnz, Guest Relations Manager at Coriander's, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we're very glad to hear you had an enjoyable evening out. We'll try our best to seat you somewhere else the next time you come in :) More 

Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a nice place its about the 3rd time we have been there - sometimes it has been better than others. The food was fine nothing to complain about. My problems is this the Corianders chain are running a competition for you to win a Great Indian Adventure. Now wouldn't that be great and entice your to have your... More 

Helpful?
Thank RATZnz
coriandersnz, Guest Relations Manager at Coriander's, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you have had trouble entering our competition but please know that if we are made aware of an issue we will always seek to rectify it. Could you please contact us via our website and we will follow this up for you and ensure that... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff are friendly and you don't have to dress up for going to dinner, lots of options..my husband and I had a shared meals and it was alot with good food to try :)

Helpful?
Thank lkm324
coriandersnz, Guest Relations Manager at Coriander's, responded to this review

Thank you for the five stars and recommendation! More 

Travelers who viewed Coriander's also viewed

Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
Hanmer Springs, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Coriander's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$12 - $18
Cuisine
Indian, Gluten Free
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Parking Available
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Monday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Wednesday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Thursday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Friday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Saturday
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 30 Conical Hill Road | Shop 5, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Hanmer Springs
  • Phone Number: 6433157616

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Coriander's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?