We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Blue Hut

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Point, Teignmouth TQ14, England
+44 7791 263421
Website
Today
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 5:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 116: English reviews
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I have heard great things about the Blue Hut. Authentic fresh seafood at a reasonable price. No flash, just quality. Sadly the day we went they were out of white crab - so our mixed crab sandwich was all brown crab and not actually mixed. Needless to say it was a disappointing visit.

Helpful?
Thank Chad C
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

Looking at all the other feed backs , I feel must of been a very bad Sunday for the Blue Hut, Crab Sandwhich was worse one I have had, Very very Sloppy Brown Crab, though the Cockles were fine , as they always are. Been going to the Blue Hut for many a year so this as I said not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CHERYL818
lizmb926, Owner at The Blue Hut, responded to this review

Thank you Cheryl for your feed back, wish you had given us the opportunity to rectify your disappointment of your £4.50 fresh crab sandwich made to order using only fresh crab that day , no added ingredients, so as fresh and natural as it can be, which of course will come in different textures as it is real crab. (... More 

Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2016

Found this place on trip advisor, not really fair that a 5 star rated place gets a lower ranking just because they're small and so have less reviews!! Come on Trip advisor! Superb crab and prawn cocktail.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul160762
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2016

John who owns the the Blue Hut is a great chap nothing to much trouble,his seafood is to die for,best i have ever had.he also has a pod near the pier,went every day for five days.We will be back for sure.

Helpful?
1 Thank daventryot
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2016

Lovely sea food, especially prawns, lovely quiet location on river beach, only managed to catch it open twice since the weather was unsettled.

Helpful?
1 Thank sandrasz2015
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

Visit this little hut if you are up for a fresh tasting snack. We had a fabulous crab sandwich, served on brown bread with lemon. yummy. The staff are lovely and friendly. Sit eating this whilst watching the boats bobbing on the river, with a soft Devon breeze blowing on your face. Perfection.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kriskirb
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2016

Alfresco cafe very near the lifeboat station/ferry to Shaldon. Seating all outside, very relaxed between boats and beach huts. I visited The Blue Hut twice in May with my two sisters, found when we waited for the ferry to Shaldon. The pull of delicious seafood, sandwiches, wraps etc, was too much and we caught the ferry back to have lunch... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Supersue3110
SW England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

The owners go to so much trouble to ensure you get your food served just the way you like it. Everything is beautifully fresh, tasty and simply perfect. There's nothing pretentious about it, but you'd go a long way to find a better crab sandwich. Look for it on the back beach near the Point car park. Well worth finding.

Helpful?
1 Thank DevonNightowl
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016 via mobile

I had high expectations of this place and wasn't let down. Big mug of tea and a dressed crab salad that was to die for. I've had a few over the years and this one was right up there with the best I've enjoyed. Lovely friendly people and cracking food! Do not miss it!

Helpful?
1 Thank IanMKD
EXETER, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

The Blue Hut is tucked away in a little corner of the beach at Teignmouth and it is so relaxing to sit and watch all the activity on the water whilst enjoying the freshest seafood and sandwiches you will find anywhere - all made and served up with a smile from the friendly owners. It's a must go to gem... More 

Helpful?
Thank Christopher G

Travelers who viewed The Blue Hut also viewed

 
Teignmouth, Devon
 

Been to The Blue Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 stars
    Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Seafood, British
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Good for
Dining on a budget, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 5:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Point, Teignmouth TQ14, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Teignmouth
  • Phone Number: +44 7791 263421
Description
Shellfish by the sea.Takeaway or outdoor seating with fantastic River Teign views,situated on the River/back beach.Open from 11am to afternoon/ teatime, weather dependant.Outside catering,buffets a speciality at a venue of your choice.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Blue Hut staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?