We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Atlantic Inn

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Peverell Terrace, Porthleven, Helston TR13 9DZ, England
+44 1326 562439
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

318 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 315: English reviews
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2015

Sunday lunch Bang on! Sat night entertainment fantastic and were even treated to some local regulars singing some cornish songs. Great night!

Helpful?
1 Thank stuart j
Theatlanticinn, Owner at The Atlantic Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your lovely review we all try and its nice to be appreciated:) More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2015

Good food but rather noisy when we were there! Would be happy to eat there again. Lovely view over Porthleven harbour.

Helpful?
Thank Freda E
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2015

This was a busy little pub. The staff were very welcoming and attentive. The food was a little disappointing, but it was a busy evening. As a drinking pub, it was up there with the best.

Helpful?
Thank Paul T
Theatlanticinn, Owner at The Atlantic Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thank yous so much for your lovely comments. However did you know, because you only gave us 3 spots, because you didn't eat here, tripadvisor marks us down? More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2015

Great pub, beautiful view and amazing food... Whoever the Chef is give him a pat on the back! TOP NOTCH!! The bar staff are great too, so relaxed and happy which made us feel the same. Perfect Thank you.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy H
Theatlanticinn, Owner at The Atlantic Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much we all appreciate good reviews I will pass on to our staff More 

Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2015

We only popped into the Atlantic Inn for drinks so can't comment on the food but the menu did look quite extensive and looked as though it covered most appetites. Both selections of ale were great and we sat outside overlooking the harbour and out to sea in the glorious sunshine for a few hours - wonderful

Helpful?
Thank jgandkg
Pissouri, Cyprus
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2015

Been to Porthleven on holidays ten times .. Discovered the Atlantic Inn on our latest trip ... How did we miss it?! Ended up eating there three times. The food was amazing ... Cornish hake, lamb and steak .... The ale was fab (Cornish Doombar and Betty's). The view of the sea beautiful. The service friendly. The atmosphere? Think ordinary... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Lynette N
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2015 via mobile

We called here on a Saturday evening our first night of our holiday and the meal was phenomenal I ordered from the specials board and had the monk fish and sweet potatoe curry .... Amazing one of the best meals I have had ... Certainly not your usual pub grub!! Fantastic. Pity the second time we visited I ordered the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SB00th
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2015

Fresh local fish all over the menu was well cooked and delicious. Some Pub Grub elements - like butter in wrapped portions. Service great - and by 7.30pm on a Saturday, the restaurant was full and buzzy. A pub more for locals than the harbour side tourist places. Well done.

Helpful?
1 Thank FPnu
London, England
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2015

Only 5 mins stroll from the Harbour, the Atlantic has a fantastic view over Mounts Bay, a nice range of beers and above average pub grub. Lovely landlord and staff who really care and friendly regulars. Perhaps not as cute as The Ship, or quite as ruthlessly efficient as The Harbour, you should still make a point of dropping in... More 

Helpful?
Thank BinThereAteThat
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
410 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2015

Came here based on TA reviews having done a few other places already in Porthleven. Certainly not flash and sophisicated but has a charm nonetheless. Food was clearly fresh cooked and was tasty. The restuarant part we ate in was deserted at this lunchtime, even the bar was quiet...no tourists it would seem :) owners were friendly and I suspect... More 

Helpful?
Thank Newquaygreen1

Travelers who viewed The Atlantic Inn also viewed

 
Porthleven, Helston
Porthleven, Helston
 

Been to The Atlantic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$6 - $20
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi
Good for
Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Peverell Terrace, Porthleven, Helston TR13 9DZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cornwall  >  Helston  >  Porthleven
  • Phone Number: +44 1326 562439
Description
Lovely friendly locals pub with beautiful sea views from a terrace, serving home cooked food,locally brewed ales and a good selection of largers and other beverages.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Atlantic Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?