We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Victualler Harbourside Bar & Restaurant

Claimed
Reserve a Table
Sat, 2/23
8:00 PM
2

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Location and contact

About
Beautiful harbourside bar & restaurant, housed in a grade II* listed bakery building on the old navy Victualling yard, overlooking Portsmouth Harbour
PRICE RANGE
$9 - $63
Special Diets
Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Bar, European, British
FEATURES
Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
135
53
22
22
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
135
53
22
22
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chateaubriand risotto flat iron steak brisket t bone pizza creme brulee sea bass bread sunday roast fish chips sandwich ice cream industrial style lots of history old bakery sharing platter
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 266 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We had a very warm welcome (despite our teething 18month old) for a delicious evening meal. I had the Beetroot & Savory Granola to start and the mushroom risotto which was cooked to perfection. We will most certainly be back here to eat again!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Roger3982
Victualler-Goaport, General Manager at The Victualler Harbourside Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your comments. So please you enjoyed your meal. We are very proud of our new menu. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our first time at this restaurant. As it was Valentine's we were looking forward to a nice romantic meal. The food and service were great, but the converted warehouse was very noisy. Perhaps it could do with some soft furnishings.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank David S
Victualler-Goaport, General Manager at The Victualler Harbourside Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your comments. Pleased you choose to share your Valentine evening with us. We love the historical look of the Restaurant, we are looking at making some changes in the near future with the furnishings. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Went here for New Years. Meal was excellent prior to the main band and celebrations. Customer service was slow. Coffee came out cold but to be fair they repacked this with no quibble. The band was good, but it was too loud for us so...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank bluesportloveskenya
Victualler-Goaport, General Manager at The Victualler Harbourside Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your comments. I am the New General Manager & I joined just after the new year. Many improvements have been put in place since your last visit. We are now doing regular live music but with smaller groups so that we don't...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wonderful, atmospheric venue in a beautiful setting. Food and service were faultless. Presentation of the food really stood out. The steak was well cooked and delicious. Can’t wait to visit in the summer.

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank Ravi k
Victualler-Goaport, General Manager at The Victualler Harbourside Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments We are pleased you enjoyed your visit & we look forward to seeing you again on the Summer. Many Thanks

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a lovely meal here and some very nice wine and the staff were all so very helpful Loved the decor Had a great evening listening to Ben Waters who was excellent Will definately return

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank cityshortbreaker
Victualler-Goaport, General Manager at The Victualler Harbourside Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments. Very pleased you enjoyed your meal. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited early Friday evening (8 Feb 19), family of 4 to try the new menu. I had the chicken breast stuffed with spinach and pine nuts and must say it was delicious and well presented. I loved the jus it came with. The other 3...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank LouLou1970Gosport
Victualler-Goaport, General Manager at The Victualler Harbourside Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your comments. We are really pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Victualler. We are very proud of our new menu and looking forward to more great options becoming available. We will be placing a Large Church Candle with a protective shield...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went here because it was raining and had a really nice meal. Laura looked after us really well. The dessert was very good.

Date of visit: January 2019
2  Thank 1John_P1
Victualler-Goaport, General Manager at The Victualler Harbourside Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Victualler. Please follow us on Facebook & Instagram for our upcoming Events & Menu changes.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went there tonight to listen to a band, drinks were expensive. The worst issue was trying to get served bar staff couldn't cope nor was there a system and the 3 staff were not focusing on who was waiting. Waited for at least 20 mins...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Mark P
Victualler-Goaport, General Manager at The Victualler Harbourside Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments & patience last night. It was an incredibly busy night and the Bar Team did well to keep going under the relentless flow of guests. We were short staffed last night due to a number of issues & reached capacity...More

Reviewed January 1, 2019

We ate there as a party of 8 last night to celebrate the New Year, I can honestly say that I have never had such a great time, the live music and dancing, the drinks which flowed, conversation which flowed even more; and food that...More

Date of visit: December 2018
3  Thank judith l
Patrick H, Owner at The Victualler Harbourside Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2019

Dear Judith L, Thank you you for your review and all the positives it contains! We are delighted to having created on your last 2018 evening & first 2019 morning great memories! We have passed your compliments & recognition to the team and these will...More

Reviewed January 1, 2019

Had a great Christmas meal here with friends, staff very attentive and polite. This place used to be the old Bakery that supplied the Royal Navy for a couple of hundred years, situated on the habour water edge. It does have that historic vibe about...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank MikeFlipper
Patrick H, Owner at The Victualler Harbourside Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2019

Dear MikeFlipper, Wishing you a great New Year! Thank you very much for your kind words and an intro to the Victualler! We have indeed taken over the venue for a couple of months and will be working hard to create lots of great food,...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
The George Hotel
472 reviews
.86 miles away
Royal Maritime Club
926 reviews
.89 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
1,484 reviews
.98 miles away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
1,807 reviews
1.45 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 192 nearby restaurants
Arty's at Clarence Marina
220 reviews
.04 miles away
The Boat House Cafe Gosport Marina
201 reviews
.45 miles away
Vanilla Bean Patisserie
70 reviews
.49 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 50 nearby attractions
The Mary Rose Museum
4,812 reviews
.67 miles away
HMS Victory
2,979 reviews
.65 miles away
Portsmouth Historic Dockyard
7,381 reviews
.65 miles away
Gosport Ferry
417 reviews
.62 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mark C
December 5, 2018|
Answer
Response from Patrick H | Property representative | Reviewed this property |
Good evening Mark! Indeed we have a great evening planned for NYE @ The Victualler. You have two choices for that evening: Dinner & party & snacks from 6.30 pm till early hours of 2019 for £ 80 pp and Party & snacks from... More
1
Vote
Rachel R
May 22, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ben B | Property representative |
Hi Rachel, smart casual as a minimum please.
0
Votes
P7052PLanneb
August 18, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ben B | Property representative |
Of course Anne, dogs are more than welcome in the bar area and outside.
1
Vote
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing