We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
About
The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
PRICE RANGE
$5 - $25
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub
FEATURES
Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Parking Available, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (1,113)
Filter reviews
1,056 results
Traveler rating
433
429
128
37
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
433
429
128
37
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lambs fry lamb shank burger mash fish and chips pie bread salmon pub food great beer beers on tap blue cod great pub wait for a table new zealand lake stream
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Great spot for a drink in the sun overlooking the garden and stream. Great range of beers on tap too!

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Best ice cream for a very long time!!!! And awesome food thank you so much!! We will be back very soon .

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Carly T, Owner at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you, we also think our homemade ice cream is pretty awesome! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Always love the food there and the service is awesome, Michelle looked after us really well. Food came quickly, which is always good

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
Carly T, General Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, I'm pleased to here that you had a pleasant experience with us again. I'll pass your comment on to Michelle!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food was so nice - we went back the next night. The four of us tried out 8 meals - each one was delicious. The staff were very friendly and accommodating of our request to have a quiet table in the corner. The atmosphere...was great. Would definitely recommend.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Carly T, General Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review us. So pleased when I read that guests had a pleasant and welcoming dining experience from start to finish, as that is what we aim for here at The Ale House. Thank you

Reviewed December 20, 2020

It was an excellent night having drinks and food... the ambiance of the restaurant and the atmosphere was really good... thank you GUUS for your excellent service... we will be definitely be back soon.... keep up the good work

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?
Carly T, General Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I've shown Guus and the other staff members your glowing review! Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I'm very pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality.

Reviewed November 23, 2020

Service is friendly and quick, meals are well presented and I just love there chowder. Right in town across the road from the Lake the setting is really nice.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Carly T, General Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We do have one of the most amazing views here from across the lake, we are very lucky. Always delighted when I read that the service is friendly, as that is one of our main aims. Thank you for taking a moment of your time...More

Reviewed November 20, 2020 via mobile

Went there for dinner on Saturday night. Good service. Wait staff helpful and courteous. If you like seafood I can recommend the Mussels. Food and drink was all good at reasonable price. Nice outlook from our table to river going along side.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Carly T, General Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for a nice, informative review of our establishment. I'm glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us.

Reviewed October 27, 2020 via mobile

Average food, service and atmosphere. Not made to feel welcome and refused to turn volume up on tv to listen to the live game after ringing up first to check whether game was been shown. Didn’t expect to watch without sound. Rude staff.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
617carlyt, General Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2020

Funnily enough staff don't respond well to downright rude customers. You didn't ask for the volume to be turned up, you demanded it be turned up, regardless of any other customers who came in to dine. We were happy to change the channel for you...More

Reviewed October 19, 2020

Great friendly service. There for lunch we had fhe roasted cauliflower salad with chickpeas, very tasty, and the blue cod burger. Great value for money and a lovely location.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Carly T, Owner at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your 5* star review. I'm very pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch with us.

Reviewed October 18, 2020 via mobile

We had a dinner here recently and it was fantastic. The staff were great and the food Devine. It’s just unfortunate that you can’t book a table so you’re not guaranteed to eat this relish food

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Wanaka Hotel
679 reviews
.07 miles away
Lakeside Apartments
627 reviews
.07 miles away
Bella Vista Wanaka
414 reviews
.08 miles away
The Moorings
556 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Big Fig
1,012 reviews
.04 miles away
Kika
600 reviews
.07 miles away
Kota Restaurant & Bar Wanaka
317 reviews
.06 miles away
Wanaka Gourmet Kitchen
686 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wanaka i-SITE Visitor Information Centre
234 reviews
.04 miles away
Wanaka Fine Art Gallery
12 reviews
.05 miles away
Wanaka Heli Hikes
5 reviews
.02 miles away
Wanaka Farmers Market
11 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kates1960
March 8, 2017|
Answer
Response from Cechová M | Reviewed this property |
Dear Kates 1960, Sorry about this, But I was in NZ Speights Ale House with my french husband 1 Month ago and the food was truly delicious. Believe me, that french peoplae do have very hight level about the food. And me, as a... More
1
Vote
Donna M
December 16, 2016|
Answer
Response from Charlotte L | Property representative |
Hi there. No we are not open for Christmas Lunch. There are a definite 2 places open though - Francescas - which is directly behind us. It is an Italian restaurant - you will need to book this though. Edgewater resort... More
0
Votes
poiuyt2
November 12, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Charlotte L | Property representative |
Hi there. We do not have roast meals. If you go to our website you can view our menu. Hopefully there is something that would be to your liking.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing