We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Alivate

Certificate of Excellence
$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
145 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
+64 3-443 1188
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

181 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 167: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Having this with a gang of friends. As in the menu mention it is good for sharing but the portion is mean for a person. The price is very expensive. Not good for the value.

Helpful?
1 Thank LaiKwan3
auckland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had lunch yesterday. Food was ok but service poor. Waitress never came back to follow up and we had to chase her inside to get coffees. You can do better in Wanaka.

Helpful?
Thank AucklandRewiti
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Served drinks in hot glasses. Meal sizes were poor and overpriced. Food was nice but experience ruined to doing the simple things poorly and feeling ripped off.

Helpful?
Thank Donald B
Glenda T, Owner at Alivate, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are always trying to improve our customer experience and we will follow up on your comment about the hot glasses. It is our policy to serve all beers in chilled glasses. In regard to your comment about the meal sizes, as we have a share plate menu, there are... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If it weren't for the view the experience would have been a very poor one. The service is disappointing because there was only one server/general manager, she was struggling to run the restaurant and the bar. We ordered our food and it came out sporadically leaving one of us to finish last, i heard the kitchen bell rang but instead... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dj M
Glenda T, Manager at Alivate, responded to this review

Hi Dj M, It was me serving your table that busy lunchtime, and yes I was on by myself. This time of year you can do 0 or 50 people for lunch depending on changes in the weather, the mountains being open or closed, tour buses in town or a number of various other reasons. You can't always get it... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pure luck in searching for a dinner variation led us to this venue. The most outstanding meal of our trip. So much so that we ordered our only dessert too experience the flavours. Lemongrass infused creme brulee and kaffir lime chocolate mousse. An awesome conclusion to perfectly prepared mains. It's a must go!

Helpful?
1 Thank OffWeGo4Fun
Glenda T, Owner at Alivate, responded to this review

Hi OffWeGo4Fun Thanks for your review. Glad you found us and enjoyed your experience with us. We look forward to you visiting next time you are in Wanaka! More 

Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Best view of the lake while meeting friends and having an afternoon beer and bun! Great place to relax and unwind after a day's fun

Helpful?
1 Thank Altrafive
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bar was nice with a great view over the lake and the menu looked good. Unfortunately the result was average and quite expensive for what we got

Helpful?
Thank Brian E
Glenda T, Owner at Alivate, responded to this review

Hi there, It would be interesting to know what you actually ordered and why it was only average, but as you have not mentioned what you had and why it was average, I cannot comment. I'm wondering whether you mentioned you were not happy to our staff, who would have been more than willing to fix any problem with your... More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you think "salivate" when you see "Alivate", then this is probably intended. This restaurant and bar serves fusion food and portions are meant to be shared. The dishes are scrumptious and taste as good as they look. Yums!

Helpful?
1 Thank Spooky T
Glenda T, Owner at Alivate, responded to this review

We're glad you were "salivating" over our dishes. Thanks for your review and hope you enjoy the rest of your stay in New Zealand. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Monk fish was absolutely delicious, food designed to share. Local beer on tap. Open fire and bar area at the front looked cozy. Would be a great view during the day. Friendly staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
Glenda T, Owner at Alivate, responded to this review

We agree the Monk fish is to die for. We now have Asahi on tap as well. I'll pass on your compliments to our staff. Thank you for your review. More 

Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've been meaning to eat at Alivate for several months having enjoyed their lovely view out across Roys Bay and hospitality for drinks and nibbles three or four times since we moved to Wanaka late last year. Having checked out the menu online, we were all set to share Asian fusion with family for a wintry Sunday lunch. Every dish... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank NZ_Kate
Glenda T, Owner at Alivate, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We want every customer to have the sort of experience you had at our restaurant. The sharing menu is great for a large group and we love the range of dishes we have on the menu for winter. We agree with your mention about our desserts, all of them are melt in your mouth... More 

Travelers who viewed Alivate also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Alivate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Average prices
$8 - $20
Cuisine
Fusion
Meals
Dinner, Lunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
12:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 145 Ardmore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Otago Region  >  Wanaka
  • Phone Number: +64 3-443 1188
Description
Asian fusion menu with small plates, main meals and delicious desserts using local New Zealand produce. All day menu. Extensive cocktail menu and craft beers, Kronenbourg 1664 on tap and Central Otago wines.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alivate staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?