We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Shawty's Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
4 Market Place, Twizel 7901, New Zealand
6434353155
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

346 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 327: English reviews
Hastings, New Zealand
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2016

We ordered pizzas for our group of 14 people when we stayed in Twizel. They were recommended by our excellent host Chris at the High Country Lodge, and sure didn't disappoint. We had several pizzas and garlic breads delivered to our accomodation, they arrived promptly and were piping hot. Tasty, and so filling we had left overs for the next... More 

Helpful?
Thank sparky98288
Racheltwizelfoodie, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this review

Always happy to hear such positive feedback! We look forward to serving you next time you are in Twizel. Kind Regards Rachel More 

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2016

Staying overnight in Twizel on my wife's birthday we were looking at a take away until we discovered Shawty's. Fantastic, the young English waitress was excellent, attentive, efficient and very pleasant. I ordered the beef "two ways" and they returned to say because cf the cut, it would be hard to cook rare. The chef nailed it and the whole... More 

Helpful?
Thank andyms2015
Racheltwizelfoodie, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your excellent review, our staff really appreciate your feedback! hope your wife had a great holiday memory and that the rest of your trip was fantastic. Kindest Regards Rachel More 

Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016

Popped in without a reservation a couple of nights ago. Got a nice table outside. The waitresses were very nice and efficient. I had the duck salad and the chilli prawns and I must admit I was surprised how good both dishes were.

Helpful?
Thank Auzzie3
Racheltwizelfoodie, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the review it makes it all worthwhile for us when people enjoy our food and service! Hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Kind Regards Rachel More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

Had dinner out with my friend. Service was outstanding and yhe food was great too! Id definately recommend!

Helpful?
Thank binajimster
Racheltwizelfoodie, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your recommendation. We love hearing your feedback. Kind Regards Rachel More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

Our group went to Shawty's a few times over the course of a weekend. Good range of cabinet food, banana muffin had pieces of banana through it which had gone slightly stringy due to not being mashed but the raspberry muffin was light and very tasty. The savoury pinwheels were a hit as was the gourmet sandwich. Waffle fries were... More 

Helpful?
Thank danielle81311
Racheltwizelfoodie, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this review

So glad that you enjoyed our service on a number of occasions. We will follow up with the muffin issue! Good advice re the coffee sometimes there is a wait but it is worth it! Regards Rachel More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2016

My wife and I ate here last week on a recommendation. I ordered the lamb rack and my wife the salmon. The rack came with chorizo and it totally dominated the dish. If I was blindfolded, I would have had no idea what I was eating except chorizo. The salmon came with a glaze. Problem is it too dominated the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 642grantm
Racheltwizelfoodie, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your meal and reflected this in a very poor rating. Your feedback is valuable however and we will take this on board, did you give feedback on the night? as I would expect that our staff would have rectified any issues at... More 

Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2016

We were a group of 23 people who had preordered pizzas. They were a superb variety and very tasty. Totally recommend this cafe/restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank terryjudymag
Racheltwizelfoodie, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this review

Awesome feedback, thanks for taking the time to review us, this means a lot to our staff. Cheers Rachel More 

Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2016 via mobile

The 3 of us popped in for brunch at 11am. Food was really nice. Enjoyed the place and will go back to try dinner menue one day.

Helpful?
Thank RayHermens
Racheltwizelfoodie, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I look forward to hearing your feedback on our dinner menu, we take pride in providing delicious food and wonderful service. Cheers Rachel More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2016

Really nice food, beer and wine. What more could you ask for? They had some GF options which is great, and their Beef 2Ways was delish. All in all, a very good choice for a casual dinner in Twizel.

Helpful?
Thank John T
Racheltwizelfoodie, Owner at Shawty's Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience. Kind Regards Rachel More 

North Wales
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2016

Didn't eat in but we ordered Pizzas to be ready for 7pm and they were. What's more, they were very good Pizzas as well.

Helpful?
Thank Guesthouseowner

Travelers who viewed Shawty's Cafe also viewed

Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 
Twizel, Mackenzie District
Twizel, Mackenzie District
 

Been to Shawty's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Cuisine
New Zealand, Gluten Free Options, Pizza, Cafe, European
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4 Market Place, Twizel 7901, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Canterbury Region  >  Mackenzie District  >  Twizel
  • Phone Number: 6434353155
Description
Since its beginnings in 2005, Shawtys has built up a strong reputation, synonymous for fine food and great espresso. A destination in the Mackenzie Country. Open 7 days from 8.30am till late over the summer months with reduced hours during the winter season. Shawtys has a full breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, and cabinet food available, and our chef's are committed to providing you with great qualiy food at an affordable price. With a comprehensive gourmet pizza menu and great range of gluten free and vegetarian options there is something to suit everyones taste.Step into warm surroundings and take in the "New York" inspired decor. Shawtys recently underwent an amazing facelift and would not be out of place in a bustling city scene. A new look has led to a renewed focus on excellent quality wines and an array of craft beers. Shawtys offers a dining experience of high standard in a relaxed setting, perfect for an intimate dinner with friends or larger gathering. We aim to leave a lasting impression on our customers with great service and we invite you to check us out.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Shawty's Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?