We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highway Inn Kaka'ako

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Location and contact

Ala Moana - Kakaako
0.9 miles from Downtown Honolulu
Improve this listing
About
Highway Inn's Honolulu location (Kaka'ako). The younger sister store to our establishment founded in 1947 in Waipahu. Serving Traditional Hawaiian Fare alongside Hawaiian inspired local plates to appeal and introduce our guests to Hawaiian Cuisine.
PRICE RANGE
$9 - $19
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks
CUISINES
Polynesian, Hawaiian
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Free off-street parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
188
92
16
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
188
92
16
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lau lau kalua pig haupia lomi salmon squid luau smoked meat laulau pork combo plate loco moco rice ono taco chips mac salad tortillas potatoes sliders
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed June 30, 2020 via mobile

A first time visit to this restaurant which I have been wanting to try for a long time. Ample parking in front and on the side streets. The wait for a table was inexplainable as numerous tables were available inside. The service was pleasant and...almost professional. It did appear there was a lot of talking amongst the staff which caused unnecessary delays in responding to waiting customers. The menu has a nice selections of local favorites. I chose the boneless short ribs. These came with two scoops of rice, Mac salad, and four slabs of short ribs. The short ribs were dried out and overcooked which was a huge disappointment. The beef stew which also came with two scoops of rice and Mac salad was much better. It was a nice mixture of vegetables and stew meat and very tasty. Not a traditional Hawaiian stew. The Mac salad was very good. The pan cakes were huge and great value for the money!More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
187russellr, Owner at Highway Inn Kaka'ako, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2020

During Covid-19 restaurants need to sanitize tables between guets and only 50% of our tables are open for dine-in. Staff have a significant amount of additional responsibilities managing a huge shift in business to take out, delivery, curbside pickup. You may say well get more...More

Reviewed February 29, 2020 via mobile

While traveling we always try to find the spots that serve really authentic food. All the locals suggested Highway Inn and we were not disappointed. Be prepared to wait because the secret is out. Hubby had the LauLau combo and I had the pork sliders....DELICIOUS.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 21, 2020

Great spot with super friendly staff. Parking can be tough but there is a separate lot you can walk from as well. Beef stew plate is always a winner and make sure to throw on their chili pepper water to add some spice. Perfect intro...to Hawaiian food for anyone visiting Oahu.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 16, 2020 via mobile

Great local meal. This place gets busy so plan to wait. Parking is smallish and can be difficult. The meal makes it worth it. We liked the pig, loco moco and poke.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 14, 2020 via mobile

Fabulous food, good prices and family friendly. Parking is a bit tight. The lot is shared by other businesses and so it can get crowded. But they validate parking so you don’t have to pay. My only suggestion would be to put more descriptions on...the menu (for mainlanders who don’t know Hawaiian food). I had to explain the menu to guests.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
187russellr, Owner at Highway Inn Kaka'ako, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2020

Hi there - so sorry our server did not hand you our Malahini guide which is exactly what you suggest - we wrote this about 10 years ago. Malahini means 'newcomer' in Hawaiian, Here is a link to it so you can email your friends....More

Reviewed February 12, 2020

A classic Hawaiian restaurant, a good selection on the menu, delicious tacos and pork, all well prepared for this very nice atmosphere in the place. I would recommend!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 11, 2020

Loved the chance to get authentic polynesian food. Music and a friendly waiter who took the time to help us understand what we were ordering. Kalua pig was excllent!

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

We absolutely love this restaurant and was so happy to see the downtown location. The Hawaiian food here is total perfection! The Kalua pig combo with squid luau and raw onion/salt- my favorite all the time. The kids love the Laulau and the coconut Haupia...that comes with all combo plates is the best I’ve tasted. The only downside was the wait time for our food. 45minutes! Our server did warn us about the wait time, but we had no idea it was going to take close to an hour to get our food. We did get complimentary taro chips and salsa for the long wait. Heck, I have to admit....the food was worth it. Can’t wait to go back again!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
187russellr, Owner at Highway Inn Kaka'ako, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Mahalo for your patience. Yesterday was the busiest day we've ever had, and our staff worked flat out to serve almost 700 people. We look forward to you coming back, and don't forget to join our free frequent diner program.

Reviewed December 26, 2019

We ate here (at the Kaka'ako location) after walking around downtown Honolulu. We were in the area of the Medical School and we saw students walking back with styrofoam plates and saw them coming from this place so we decided to stop. We are so...glad we did. This place had incredible food. I tried poke for the first time here. I recommend the shoyu poke bowl. My wife got the signature hawaiian plate with Beef Stew, poi, the steamed 'uala (sweet potato), haupia, and the potato mac salad. This was such an incredible experience. A must go in our opinion.More

Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 10, 2019

We had a late lunch/early dinner with fish tacos and a couple of moco locos. The food was definitely tasty with good potions and great service. We would go again for sure. They also run the food service at the Bishop Museum, limited menu with...same great taste. Also have the pani popo pancakes, they are so good they are addictive!!More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
2,258 reviews
2.74 miles away
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
1,596 reviews
2.68 miles away
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
4,230 reviews
2.69 miles away
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki
4,756 reviews
2.55 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ruth's Chris Steak House
454 reviews
.21 miles away
Moku Kitchen
280 reviews
.03 miles away
Hank's Haute Dogs
252 reviews
.03 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Honolulu Beerworks
117 reviews
.08 miles away
Kaka'ako
119 reviews
.06 miles away
Children's Discovery Center
77 reviews
.28 miles away
Kaka'ako Waterfront Park
60 reviews
.27 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Highway Inn Kaka'ako staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing