We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$12 - $25
CUISINES
Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
423 results
Traveler rating
263
89
35
25
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
263
89
35
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salmon homemade ice cream bread wonderful meal attentive service fine dining san juan island dessert foodie
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed April 10, 2024 via mobile

My wife and I I had dinner last week on a whim. We were walking to the brewpub and passed by and decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed. There were only 2 couples that night so you would expect good service...and we got it. I had the halibut and my wife had the special (pork chops). Both meals were very good and the presentation was nice. I do recommend this restaurant, it is a bit more pricey than the brewpub but you get what you pay for. I will go back next time I am looking for a nice meal in a small intimate setting.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna Maria de Freitas, Owner at Coho Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2024

Thank you for sharing your dining experience at Coho Restaurant . We are so pleased you had a memorable meal. You enjoyed the first halibut of the season. The pork chops came from Stillwater Ranch, here on San Juan Island. We can't get enough of...More

Reviewed November 24, 2023

We went for thier Thanksgiving prixfixe meal. I don't even know where to start. The expectation was high, especially for the cost of the meal. There was not one part of the experience I would say was even good. The service was sub par, the...staff really was not knowledgeable or engaging in any way, and the food was poor at best. I would not recommend this restaurant in anyway. It was obvious, the experience would be the same, any night that you would have dinner service at Coho. Probably the worse, high end meal I have ever had, and we have frequented the very best worldwide.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 11, 2023

We had a reservation hiccup for out dinner but they ended up fitting us in and all worked out. They apologized and gave us dessert on the house which was very kind and also delicious! The food was sourced as locally as possible and everything...was scratch-made. Will be coming again!More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 2, 2023

We were very disappointed with our dining experience here. The staff was very nice but they couldn't overcome the lack of training and the distasteful food. Our server was lovely but there were many strange things about the service besides being slow to get to...initially greet us. So it took forever for her to come to our table. We ordered the four course prix fixe dinner. Each course was placed on top of our "bread" dishes. Very odd. Those dishes should have been moved to the side or removed from the table altogether. Our silverware was never replaced, as it should have been for each of the four courses. But what really disappointed though, was the food. It is sad when the best thing was the initial amuse bouche - cucumber with a beet hummus. For my starter I ordered the tomato soup. It was completely unremarkable. Hubby had the Coho salad. It was supposed to have pickled red onion on it but did not. The server told us they had run out but then the chef came out with some and make it pretty clear that they had forgotten to put it on the salad. We had some with our last few bites and it really balanced the dish out! For the next course I ordered the chickpea fritters and hubby the crabcakes. But then, we were told that they had run out of the crabcakes so he had to choose something else. There wasn't much to choose from. Just a caprese salad or pork belly. Since we don't eat pork, that left the caprese salad and he had just had a salad. We ended up splitting so he wasn't stuck. The caprese salad wasn't great. The tomatoes needed to be riper and the mozzarella a better quality. The worst though was yet to come. Hubby had the halibut which was overcooked so that lovely sweet flavor was obliterated. Mine was really bad. I had the seafood tagliatelle. It had so many conflicting flavors I really couldn't eat it. There was an over powering amount of tarragon with large pieces of citrus (I think blood orange) with the rind still on it. This was very bitter. Then there were large slices of leek that were barely cooked. Those were inedible. Our desserts were fine - ice cream sundaes. Really hard to mess that up. We had been so anticipating the meal. Usually a prix fixe tasting never disappoints but this one wasn't worth the money at all. Final note. When I called to confirm our reservation, I asked what the dress code was. I was told that it was semi-formal. It isn't. I would say smart casual is the dress code.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 26, 2023

We had really been looking forward to trying this place after a late ferry arrival. Overpriced for average quality food. Wanted to charge extra to split an entree and for bread. Service was not up to par. Enjoyed Madrona Grill in Roche Harbor more.

Date of visit: June 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anna Maria de Freitas, Owner at Coho Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2023

Thank you for dining with us. We are sorry that your dinner didn't meet your expectations. This time of year, chef shows off the wonderful seasonal local bounty of the islands. Their goal is to let the individual ingredients speak for themselves.

Reviewed October 25, 2022

Although this was our fourth time to Friday Harbor this was our first visit to this restaurant and we were thoroughly delighted with the amazing food, service and cozy ambience. Definitely recommend going.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Coho Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2022

Susan, We are so glad that you finally made it to Coho Restaurant when you were visiting San Juan Island. Chef Ryan changes the menu regularly to reflect the seasonal bounty of the islands. We look forward to having you back on your next trip....More

Reviewed October 4, 2022

Our last time eating at Coho Restaurant was May of 2019. We realize a lot probably has changed since our last visit to San Juan Island. We were so glad we were able to make a reservation for a table of 4 in this quaint...farm to table spot. The restaurant has not changed when it comes to the quality of food and the attentive service. We could not believe that Chef Ryan was there, apparently he left and returned only recently. Good choice, you made our dinner once again memorable. We were with our friends and we all ordered something different to try as many dishes as we could. Each of them were over the top... creative and delicious. Our server Heidi was the best, her table side manner we impeccable. Once again, I have to give Coho 5 stars, as it did exceed my expectations. Perhaps a hat trick in our future. :)More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Coho Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2022

Susan, We are thrilled to have you back as patrons and to have Chef Ryan at the helm at Coho Restaurant. Chef and his team work tirelessly to deliver a quality dining experience. We are pleased to learn we didn't disappoint. We hope it won't...More

Reviewed August 31, 2022 via mobile

Delicious meal in a cozy house. Our meal from appetizers to dessert was wonderful. Everything was fresh and surprisingly large portions. Homemade ice cream was a treat. Fine dining at its best.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Coho Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2022

Hi! Thank you for dining at the Coho Restaurant. We are pleased that you had a memorable evening and that you enjoyed exploring all the summer flavors of the San Juan Island bounty. We would love to have you back at our table next time...More

Reviewed August 16, 2022

The best food - great service - a wonderful meal - probably the best food on the island - a most relaxing eveningMore

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Coho Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2022

Debbie, Thank you for dining at Coho Restaurant and we are so pleased to learn you had a memorable dining experience. We look forward to hosting you the next time you are visiting San Juan Island. With kind regards, Anna Maria and the entire San...More

Reviewed May 29, 2022 via mobile

We went to Coho to celebrate my brother in law’s birthday as it seemed to be a special place to have a good time and enjoy good food- the presentation is very pleasing and the ambience seems nice Then things started to happen. First, they...called us to change the reservation to one hour later (8:30 pm) because they had made a mistake when booking. All the day was planned so this threw a wrench in the plan. After rearranging activities and schedule, we arrived at the place (a small, nice house near the center) and were sat down right away. The server did have our table ready but for some reason he did not seem to happy to have us- zero smiles, totally flat tone and monotonic. Then he came to our table and began by letting us know that ~20% of the menu was no longer available- thanks to our being “late” due to the changed sitting time. We tried to order a bottle of wine but that also was no longer in stock (the replacement suggested by the waiter was sufficient but very frustrating that nothing was available. Our server seemed to be in a pretty dour mood, and he did not make any effort to make our stay enjoyable. He seemed to try but it was very half-hearted and waned after the first few words. The food was actually good with one critique- the temperature was a little on the low side. Which is beber ideal, but even less so when the dish you are having is goat (which would have otherwise been great). We wanted to get some dessert but also there were no options. Just vanilla and chocolate ice cream. Before we were done dining, since it was late (again because our reservation was moved up and we came in when most people were leaving) he brought us our check (not unusual) and started cleaning up all other tables and piling the chairs on top of them. Not a warm fuzzy feeling for sure. All in all, I would not recommend spending your money in this place just on the basis of the service. Shame, as the chef is good and the food is very nicely presented (albeit a little cold as mentioned). The bill was not cheap- the restaurant is for sure fine dining- and the overall customer experience left us feeling very disappointed and displeased. I will not return anytime soon and will not recommend it. A nice “could have been”.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 2, 2022

I would love to give this restaurant a higher rating. I am a foodie and felt that the wine for archipelago was great, the food was a bit light on portion (still hungry) and a bit daring for my taste (chicken feet. . .). One...of my husband and myself favorite things to do when we go on vacation is to find good restaurants. We had our whole trip booked and my husband's 45th birthday we were schedule to eat at Duck Soup. But, the head chef of Coho, Samantha Dechristopher, offered to come and cook for us on his birthday. We gave her some money in advanced and kept in touch via text. The day of his birthday she said she would be there around 7:30 PM. We text with her throughout the day joking with the family that she might not show, but immediately saying no one would do that to someone on their birthday. 8:00 PM rolled around and she text us that she was running late, our reservation at Duck Soup was at 8:00 PM so we were now committed to this new plan of Samantha Dechristopher making birthday dinner. She texted at 9:56 PM she said she was still stuck at the restaurant "for a hot minute" (the restaurant is not open on Sundays) At 11:00 PM when we sent a text to her saying Are you not coming? She had shut her phone off. Our elderly parents and party of eight went to bed hungry. My husband did not get a birthday dinner/dessert. On San Juan Island everything closes by 9:00 PM, there is not a single grocery store or gas station etc to get food. Coho's head chef, Samantha Dechristopher is a flake and if I owned the restaurant I would not continue to employee someone who treats clients so unprofessionally.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Coho Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2022

Sandi, Thank you for joining us for the Archipelago Winemakers dinner. We are very disappointed with your behavior toward our executive chef. While you discussed some tentative plans for a private dinner nothing was finalized. There wasn't even a deposit exchanged. The money that you...More

Reviewed March 30, 2022

We had the salmon and pork dinners. Absolutely delicious! Small quiet dinning atmosphere with attentive staff.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Coho Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2022

Keith, Thank you for dining at Coho Restaurant. We are so pleased that you had a memorable dining experience. The fish that you enjoyed was steelhead, a pink fin fish local to our waters. The pork came from one of the local farms on the...More

Reviewed December 7, 2021

We dined in late November with a party of 11. Three and a half hours later, we left one meal short (the person shorted was offered wine instead but they failed to notice he wasn't drinking); In addition, the wine pairing never came out with...the course with which it was supposed to be paired; the food was only okay. We were never asked to show vax record and we were seated nearly on top of another large party so we never had assurance that people were vaccinated. The only dessert we wanted, they say, didn't come out that evening. Finally, and this was what sunk the whole evening, our bill came with a 25 percent gratuity added for our large party. Of course, it is okay to charge gratuity with a large party. It is NOT okay to add 25 PERCENT gratuity when, in fact, they didn't tell us ahead and the service was absolutely not good. Not blaming the one server in charge of more than 25 folks that sitting -- am blaming the restaurant management for thinking anyone could deliver a fine dining experience. Super uncomfortable when we mentioned this. Chef/supervisor said, "sorry." No offer to comp a meal for the meal that they completely missed. No offer of anything other than one glass of wine to the person who was not drinking.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Coho Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2021

Dear Eddie, Thank for dining with us and we appreciate your taking the time to share your dining experience. I have read your letter along with the two reviews your party published here on Trip Advisor. I have also spoken at great length with the...More

Reviewed November 24, 2021

We made a reservation for 5pm for 12 people, they were not ready when we arrived, and when they were, they split us into two tables. Throughout the meal, they forgot to bring multiple items, and they would pick up items before we were finished....Before bringing out our entrees, they told us that the soufflé’s would take 20 minutes, and we needed to order these in advance. They came out 30 minutes later to tell us that the soufflés had fallen and the chef refused to serve them. Rather than remaking them, we were told dessert would be complimentary but we would need to order other items. Some of the group ordered the skillet pie—it was an apple pie served in a cast iron skillet. The desserts distinctly tasted fishy and were inedible. When we informed the staff, she blamed the pastry chef who from her account, also worked at a hotel, and was overworked. Unfortunately, receiving the final bill was not much better—they charged all of us a la cart rather than the 4 course tasting price, had still not brought out half of our party their dessert, and when we told them we no longer wanted the desserts, our server replied “perfect”. Frankly this restaurant should be avoided at all costs—they fancy themselves fine dining, but have only found a way to charge too much for lack of quality or service. Sadly no manager ever came out to speak with the party, and their server was unequipped to handle the poor performance and lack of care.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 3, 2021

Went to Coho to celebrate my wife’s birthday and were very disappointed. We have dined at Coho several times over the years so we expected a nice experience. Food presentation was nice but it was all show and no go. What are described as large...plates are actually small plates. I had the venison special that had only 3 cubes of meat. My wife had seafood pasta…a few clams from Canada and a few shreds of halibut..menu described it as local fish. Our guest had rabbit that was bland and dry. Also, wine was opened in the kitchen rather than at the table. Our server was new to the job and was very pleasant. So, we had a $300+ mediocre experience. At a high end price point, I would recommend Duck Soup Inn or McMillans.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Harrison_Innkeeper, Owner at Coho Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2021

David, Thank you for dining with us and we are sorry that your special celebration didn't meet your expectations. We were training a new server the night you dined with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed her hospitality and table demeanor. It is...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Tucker House Inn
740 reviews
.12 miles away
The Island Inn at 123 West
528 reviews
.13 miles away
Friday Harbor House
740 reviews
.15 miles away
Earthbox Inn & Spa
821 reviews
.16 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Market Chef
292 reviews
.03 miles away
Rocky Bay Cafe
688 reviews
.05 miles away
San Juan Island Brewing Company
185 reviews
.08 miles away
Kings Market
189 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Arctic Raven Gallery
39 reviews
.07 miles away
San Juan Island Farmers Market
33 reviews
.01 miles away
Harbor Song Art gallery
7 reviews
.06 miles away
Palace Theater
7 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
auctioneer2244
February 18, 2017|
Answer
Response from Harrison_Innkeeper | Property representative |
Greetings from Friday Harbor! We would love to host you for dinner in September at Coho Restaurant. During that time of year we feature halibut, salmon, scallops, crab and octopus on our menu at any given time. Let us know... More
0
Votes
shirleydearfield
December 10, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Harrison_Innkeeper | Property representative |
Shirley, Coho Restaurant is open February through December including all major holidays. Our business office is open year round so you can purchase a gift card at your pleasure. You also have the option of purchasing a gift... More
0
Votes
Muguvian
July 13, 2015|
Answer
Response from Harrison_Innkeeper | Property representative |
We currently have 6 entrees on Coho Restaurant's menu and 1-2 specials per night. Many guests choose to enjoy a couple or three small plates in lieu of a larger entree.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

COHO RESTAURANT, Friday Harbor - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Coho Restaurant

Coho Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5