We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 4/19
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$21 - $30
CUISINES
Sushi, Japanese, Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
64
40
34
7
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
64
40
34
7
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews filet rice salt lake chef hibachi
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great service, delicious food and wonderful atmosphere. Highly recommend this place for families, friends and special occasions.

Date of visit: April 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed October 4, 2020

We did a delivery order. The hibachi gave you plenty of filet, but the fried chicken rice was very plain and not full of flavor and not even warm. The garlic sauce was garlic mixed with butter. Quite unappealing. Too costly for the effort.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 6, 2020 via mobile

Since my wife got celiac in 2004 because of the gluten. Now though Benihana can now accommodate gluten-free meals. It was a fantastic evening with an amazing chef. If you have celiac you can go now!

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
BrandCommunication, Other at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2020

Awesome Scott! We appreciate you dining with Benihana, thank you for the kind words!

Reviewed December 21, 2019

We dont like leaving poor reviews but this one needs it. We went Salt Lake for a quick appointment. We allowed an hour and a half for lunch a walk in to Benihana's at 11:45 we were told if we sat at a regular table...we could have our food within 30 minutes this was great we would have even more extra time after seated we alerted our server to our time constraints we ordered our food very quickly and all four of us ordered exactly the same thing to keep it simple. Our server was nice and polite however extremely forgetful after over an hour and still no food we're reminded our server we were probably going to have to leave without eating we had to separate our group to deal with the appointment we had and after yet another hour those that stayed finally received food. 2 1/2 hours later there was a small discount offered on the meal but completely unacceptable to take that long to make for lunch plates. It took 6 times of ordering seaweed salad and 1.5 hours to get that.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
BrandCommunication, Owner at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2019

On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we sincerely apologize for your recent experience. Our team has received your feedback, which was posted to another site and is in the process of reviewing the matter. If you have not done so already, please fill...More

Reviewed October 8, 2019

Came here for lunch during our session break during the DoTERRA Global Convention this year. Seating us, party of three, took a little while - felt like we were being ignored, we were the only ones standing by the podium on the 2nd floor and...servers were just walking by us, no eye contact - patience is a virtue, but no one likes to be ignored. Once we were seated, service was quick and friendly. Our chef was fun and personable. Our meals were prepared to perfection and delicious.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2019

Leesa, On behalf of the Benihana team, we want to thank you for sharing your review regarding today’s visit. We apologize for your experience and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again.

Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

This review is for the Salt Lake City location near the Maurice Abravanel symphony hall. Th the nearest parking garage. After having more problems finding it, we were seated at a tepanyaki tablee only sign for the restaurant is placed low to the ground and...was so small that a driver would never see it. Then, getting to the restaurant involves more than a block walk from. This is the oldest building in which we have visited a Benihana. One person in our party is handicapped and had trouble climbing the stairs getting to the entrance. The chef seemed disinterested in his work. He lacks the showmanship we have come to expect. He read off each guest's order, and instead of cooking my hibachi steak medium rare as requested, proceeded to overcook it to medium well done. Given that their pricing is steep, I like to get what I'm paying for. Overall, a less than great experience. I would definitely not recommend this location.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2019

Allan, we apologize for your experience. If you have not done so already, please contact us via www.benihanalistens.smg.com/. We look forward to following up with you. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Reviewed July 14, 2019 via mobile

Not my best experience at a Japanese steakhouse. It was ok. The frozen non alcoholic drink was great though. Too loud. Crowded. Hidden location.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed July 6, 2019

As usual had a great time here. Food was wonderful and it was nice meeting and enjoying dinner with new friends!

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

Joe, Your feedback is appreciated. We are pleased to hear we were able to create a great memory for you!

Reviewed April 29, 2019

Was there this past Saturday and even though they were packed (prom night!) they worked us into a table. Everyone was great, the meal fantastic and we really enjoyed it!

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?1  
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Joe, Your feedback is appreciated. We are pleased to hear we were able to create a great memory for you!

Reviewed April 14, 2019 via mobile

SO BAD IT SUCKS as I have been a frequent diner since l 2000 as a child it’s a family birthday tradition so basically we eat there in Slc @ least 10X a year. Until now. After me & my sister & 2 friends paid...$165 Check +20-% even tho it was HORRIBLE‼️ I DON’T COMPLAIN ABOUT ANYTHING EVER!! THIS IS THE 1st TIME & IT SUCKS!!!! $165 LATER & my moms TO-GO sucked so bad she called the manager Marc. Knowing him for years you would thing they would care & handle it. THEY DIDN'T! NOT EVEN GENERAL MANAGER. With a simple call to management addressing the issue of no house salad dressing, shrimp was raw (manager said it was a new vendor & it looks gray) Lobster tail wasn’t fully cooked & fried rice was hard. ALL THE ABOVE & NOTHING! Just phone calls with no intent of caring or apology. TOO BAD BENIHANA SLC UTAH SUCKS TO BE UMore

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2019

On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we sincerely apologize for your experience and understand your concern. Please take a moment to reach out to our team directly via www.benihanalistens.smg.com/ so that we can further address this matter.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City Downtown
432 reviews
.09 miles away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Salt Lake City
1,435 reviews
.09 miles away
Salt Lake Marriott Downtown at City Creek
867 reviews
.12 miles away
Towneplace Suites Salt Lake City Downtown
24 reviews
.12 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Eva's Bakery
294 reviews
.12 miles away
Siegfried's Delicatesan
274 reviews
.08 miles away
Bambara Salt Lake City
654 reviews
.10 miles away
Beerhive Pub
262 reviews
.12 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
City Creek Center
636 reviews
.19 miles away
Salt Palace Convention Center
379 reviews
.11 miles away
Eccles Theater
55 reviews
.14 miles away
Utah Symphony
77 reviews
.24 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jacob I
January 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Randy S | Reviewed this property |
Of course it will depend on what you order>>>>>>> I would say, $ 13 low and $ 28 high The dress is casual to dressy, I have done both, depends on the occasion>>>>>>> did this help??? Randy
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing