We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shaven Crown

High Street, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6BA, England
+44 1993 830500
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good24%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible0%
Travelers talk about
“lamb” (5 reviews)
“pudding” (4 reviews)
“burger” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Bar, Pub
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
High Street, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6BA, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 74 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

Maybe we went on a bad day didn't feel very welcome and was very expensive didn't end up staying for a meal decided to go somewhere elseMore

Thank Angela B
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Dear Angela B, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you weren't impressed. Sadly we can not do any food at the moment due to a lack of a kitchen, which you, if you were staying with us, would have been informed about...More

Reviewed May 14, 2017

Really lovely place. We stayed as 4 friends, booking 2 twin rooms. Met by the owner who is a lovely lady, can't do enough for you, always smiling. Lovely place, beautiful, clean room, very comfy beds. Had already been warned that the kitchen was out...More

Thank Essexrangers
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2017

Dear Essexrangers, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so sorry for the water issue which has been resolved. I am glad you enjoyed the courtyard. You were very lucky with the weather!! Kind regards, Evelyn

Reviewed May 7, 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night and were warned beforehand the kitchen was out of action for hot food. An excellent continental breakfast was provided. We stayed in a basic room which had crisp white bed linen and robes and a small shower ensuite. The shower controls...More

Thank Jilly D
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2017

Dear Jilly D, Thank you for your kind review. Kind regards, Evelyn

Reviewed April 23, 2017

A wonderful weekend spent in a charming old hotel in the village of Shipton under Wychwood. Our room (the Shipton room) was lovely, overlooking the courtyard and small pond. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was lovely and spacious. We ate in the...More

Thank Beverly N
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2017

Dear Beverley N, I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for writing such a brilliant review! It would be lovely if you could come and stay with us again soon, Kind regards, Evelyn

Reviewed February 22, 2017

Lovely little hotel. Really helpful Staff/Owners. Clean and fresh. Easy parking. Breakfast amazing. Dog friendly

Thank SailorD101
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2017

Dear SailorD101, Thank you for your lovely review. I do hope we will see you again very soon. Kind regards, Evelyn

Reviewed February 5, 2017

We visited the Shaven Crown on the off chance whilst out for a long walk. So glad we did! We had a fantastic Sunday lunch of roast Sirloin with roast potatoes, Yorkshire pudding and vegetables of honey carrots & swede, braised red cabbage and cauliflower...More

Thank Nichola B
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2017

Dear Nicola B, Thank you for your lovely review. I am very happy you enjoyed your lunch and hope to see you again very soon! Kind regards, Evelyn

Reviewed February 2, 2017

We had a lovely dinner with relatives and were surprised it was so quiet. It is a hidden gem in this very pretty village. Great service with friendly staff?

Thank Patricia D
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2017

Dear Patricia D, Thank you for your fabulous review. It would be lovely to see you again soon. Kind regards, Evelyn

Reviewed January 23, 2017

A group of us had dinner here, and we received the warmest of welcomes and service. The hotel has been completely refurbished since our last visit, and we were impressed by the changes. We had an area to ourselves, and the taste and presentation of...More

Thank Andrew C
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2017

Dear Andrew C, Thank you for your wonderful review. I am so pleased that enjoyed our food and that you liked the refurbishment. Hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards, Evelyn

Reviewed January 13, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the seven crown for two nights prior to picking our daughter up from Brize Norton. The couple who own this hotel were very welcoming and couldn't do enough. The food was fantastic and the breakfast made sure we were set up for...More

Thank Nick P
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2017

Dear Nick P, Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I hope you Daughter arrived save. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, Evelyn

Reviewed December 24, 2016

You can't be but impressed by the external features of the Shaven Head. The pathway from the car park to the entrance reminded me of La Residenzia in Mallorca . A magnificent Christmas tree greeted your eyes in the entrance hall leading through to Reception...More

Thank Ken T
Phil R, Owner at The Shaven Crown, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2017

Dear Ken T, Thank you for your lovely review. We sadly had to take the Christmas Tree down today since it is the 6th of January but we are already looking forward to the next one. I do hope to see you before then. Kind...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Milton Hare
192 reviews
.32 miles away
Wychwood Inn
175 reviews
.69 miles away
The Lamb
103 reviews
.40 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The King’s Head Inn
7 reviews
3.20 miles away
Windrush Cycle Tours
6 reviews
3.72 miles away
Burford
163 reviews
3.85 miles away
St John the Baptist
63 reviews
3.86 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Hunty78
August 28, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Ustaritz | Reviewed this property |
Certainly children are allowed everywhere and, as the owners delight in their dogs, I would presume that they allow dogs in too! However, I would ask direct as they are very approachable....
1
Vote
Susan O
May 20, 2015|
Answer
Response from PhilipM724 | Property representative |
Many thanks for your message. Yes, we do serve breakfast to non-residents. Kindly call in advance to book a table. Kind regards, Phil 01993 830500
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$7 - $40
Cuisine
British, Bar, Pub
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Validated Parking, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
6:30 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Shipton under Wychwood OX7 6BA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Oxfordshire  >  Shipton under Wychwood
  • Phone Number: +44 1993 830500
  • E-mail
Description
The Shaven Crown, which is situated in the heart of the Cotswolds, re-opened September 2014 after extensive refurbishment. The Hotel is one of the oldest inns in England and oozes character and atmosphere as well as lashings of Cotswolds charm. You will usually find a roaring log fire to welcome you in the Grand Hall and can guarantee an equally warm welcome from the staff. We have a an excellent restaurant, serving the highest quality locally sourced produce, a bar, which is open all day, and seven beautifully appointed en-suite bedrooms. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing