We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Little Water Cantina

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Mexican, Seafood
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Brunch
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
Updated 09/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Little Water Cantina
Updated 09/28/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
35
25
16
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
35
25
16
11
6
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed July 6, 2021 via mobile

The food was good. BUT, the service is the worst. Correction, actually, there is no service. They have evidently fired all the servers. You must get your own water, order from a terrible difficult to understand app, bus your own table and there is absolutely...nobody to help with questions on the menu. This is technology at it’s worst followed up by a really bad decision by the owner to replace his staff with an app/technology and then they have the nerve to ask for a tip on their app when checking out and it’s starts at flipping 15%. THERE ARE NOOOO SERVERS!!! This place has the same business model as MCDonalds. Why are you asking for a tip??? I can only hope this is not the future of dining out with your family. There needs to be a human helping with your dining experience and not an app. Not technology. Not ever.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 7, 2021

I count myself fortunate to live so close to this spot. The deck overlooking Lake Union is under a clear plastic tent now (during the winter) and it's easy to social distance inside it. The food is excellent and they went out of their way...to make a delicious plate for my friend whos is allergic to night shades; a huge deal for this style of cooking!More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 23, 2020

didn't love the guacamole $4 can of coke? wow, what a markup, even from the sugar tax more veggie/vegan options would be nice

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 25, 2020

We had a drink with a friend at Little Water Cantina Thursday. We didn’t fill out any forms or coupons or anything, only official interaction was my boyfriend paying with his debit card. Today I got an email at my personal address from the Cantina!!...I didn’t ask for emails or provide any info, they never asked to email me. I do not appreciate this violation of my privacy. This was very rude and creepy. I will not be back.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
BreakfastforDinner, Owner at Little Water Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2020

Who sent the email? It certainly was not us. The only time personal information might be collected is when using our free internet.

Reviewed January 8, 2020

My company hosted our holiday party here, and it was AMAZING. I worked closely with Laura and we were able to secure everything easily and efficiently. We emailed for a number of weeks (and I am so grateful she was so kind and working with...me with some of the dumb questions I was asking!), and it all led to a wonderful and happy night. Jill and Craig were the ones helping us that night at the bar and bringing us food and drinks. The energy was positive and happy and everything ran smoothly and there was not a single hitch or hiccup. I will definitely be booking more events here, as well as just going for drinks with friends!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 30, 2019

Really loved the patio, service wasn’t AMAZING. Special shout out to Jenny, Craig and Frankie for making it a great experience. Yummy snacks and delicious margaritas.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

Great service and atmosphere. Surprised to be billed for salsa when our waitress asked, “would you like chips and guacamole”. They were delicious!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: June 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 1, 2019

had a great business lunch here - wild boar sandwich was intriguing on the menu and even better to eat. good service, nice views.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 9, 2019

I had the taco salad for lunch and thought the dressing might be off, but then we assumed it was just the heavy lime component in it....that evening I suffered a bout of the worst food poisoning i’ve ever had with 9 hours of vomiting...and down and out for almost 24 hours following.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: January 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barbara H, General Manager at Little Water Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2019

I am so sorry to here this of this! Please call me as soon as you are up to it as we certainly take this issue very seriously. Thank You, Sincerely, Barb

Reviewed December 17, 2018

I was greeted promptly with a smile and taken to my table for my reservation. Upon arrival it was very cold in the restaurant. Granted, it has cement floors and a bistro feel with big glass windows. The view is lovely. the Server came to...the table right away. The problem was the food. The presentation of my Chimichanga Relleno was nice but it lacked flavor and was too cheesy for my liking. I ate half. My date had the Camorones. This was not eaten and sent back to be replaced by Quesadilla. This too, was not eaten and not wanting to make a fuss asked for it to be boxed (when they arrived home discovering that the salsa and guacamole had not been added to the boxed food was a big disappointment since that was the best part of that dish). A final note was the water bottle left at the table was very dirty inside. The server replaced this. The menu is very small. I hope for this darling place a new chef to give them the food to match the beautiful view. Will keep an eye on this gem and maybe try again in a year.More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barbara H, General Manager at Little Water Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2018

Dear Not So Much, Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Little Water Cantina. Please accept my apology on behalf of the chef for the less than pleasurable meal and know that these issues are being addressed. This is not typical...More

Reviewed September 29, 2018 via mobile

Picked the restaurant off Tripadvisor due to the great location reviews. Came here on a nice sunny afternoon and got seated outside overlooking the lake. The location is great and so was the service. Unfortunately can’t say that about the food. We had ordered the...tacos - pollo and the pork ones. Both lacked flavour and tasted very ordinary. Ordered salsa and chips to get rid of the not so great taste and the salsa wasn’t fresh and bad again. The portion sizes were decent and the food was priced reasonably. Probably wouldn’t come here again.More

Date of visit: September 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barbara H, General Manager at Little Water Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2018

Hello Karan B Thank you for taking the time to review Little Water Cantina. I am glad to hear how much you enjoyed the service and the view. I am equally as disappointed that yo caught our kitchen on an off day. Please know that...More

Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

Food was expensive and uninspiring. Service was really bad. View was great....and, yeah, view was great.

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barbara H, General Manager at Little Water Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Hello Joe Z, I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience. Please reach out to me personally if you would like to discuss in further detail. Thanks You Barb

Reviewed July 14, 2018

I got fish tacos. They didn't have much flavor. Different Mexican food than I am used to.Menu choices are small, not much variety. Setting was beautiful, service.was.good.Did not like the salsa but the chips were awesome and so was the queso. I don't drink but...my brother said the $10 for his drink was way over.priced.More

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barbara H, General Manager at Little Water Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Hello motorcitygal74, I hope the view brings you back so you can enjoy delicious food with great flavor as it should be and typically is. Thank you for the feedback

Reviewed June 6, 2018 via mobile

We visited the Cantina for lunch. It was a sunny day and seating on the terrace was glorious with magnificent views. Service was friendly but our order was mixed up on 3 different fronts though quickly corrected. Food was a bit of a let down;...not as tasty as it looked and tacos disintegrated and had to be eaten with a knife and fork. Unlikely to be back.More

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barbara H, General Manager at Little Water Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Hello Matvl, Thanks you for your review. It sounds like we missed the mark in a couple of areas. Please know that this is not typical of what you should expect from Little Water. I hope you will return.

Reviewed May 14, 2018

I was in town with a coworker, and our associate in the area recommended Little Water because of their excellent tacos and view of Lake Union. We were staying in a hotel at the bottom of the lake and walked the mile or two up...around the houseboats and hills to the restaurant, and the initial vibe from the from may not have been super impressive, but as you walk in it opens in to a light and airy dining area and bar, and if the weather is good you can opt to be seated on the patio which we were. I had the Chimichanga Relleno and it was very good. The sauce was a very nice spicy, adobo like sauce and very enjoyable. The view as the sun was setting was fantastic, and a great place to unwind after a long day. Our server was very good and knowledgeable, but they seemed slightly understaffed. Only two waiters and a very nice lady that is probably the owner or manager were taking care of the tables. So it was just a tick slow. Overall were I a local it would probably be a spot that I went a lot, and If we stay in that part of the city again we will pop back in.More

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barbara H, General Manager at Little Water Cantina, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2018

Hello Matt W Thanks you for the great shout out. I am so glad that you discovered the gem that is Little Water Cantina and we look forward to your return. Sorry for slightly strained service. Cheers! Barb Hills AKA nice lady

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
College Inn Hotel
15 reviews
.80 miles away
Staypineapple, University Inn, University District
1,385 reviews
.83 miles away
Staypineapple, Watertown, University District
1,779 reviews
.91 miles away
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
181 reviews
1.09 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ivar's Salmon House
850 reviews
.42 miles away
Ivar's Fish Bar
255 reviews
.44 miles away
Sushi Kappo Tamura
104 reviews
.12 miles away
Westward
248 reviews
.35 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
University of Washington
1,228 reviews
.82 miles away
Gas Works Park
991 reviews
.41 miles away
Henry Art Gallery
25 reviews
.87 miles away
Grand Army of the Republic Cemetery
5 reviews
.84 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Little Water Cantina staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

LITTLE WATER CANTINA, Seattle - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Order Online Food Delivery - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Little Water Cantina

Yes, Little Water Cantina offers takeout services.

Yes, Little Water Cantina is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Little Water Cantina is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5