We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Island Lava Java

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 Update: Local restaurants need your support! Purchase a gift card directly from them and make a difference. Purchase a Gift Card
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 11/28
8:00 PM
OR
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$30 - $30
CUISINES
American, Cafe, Hawaiian, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (3,189)
Filter reviews
3,036 results
Traveler rating
1,619
946
300
97
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
1,619
946
300
97
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch cinnamon rolls eggs benedict coconut soup salad portuguese sausage fish tacos potatoes pizza fries ribs ono live music great view great coffee across the street first morning
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

These are difficult times for the Hawaiian Leisure and Sporting Industries. Get used to wearing a mask when walking around but not when dining or drinking. You'll find hand sanitizer at the entrance to all businesses. All employees wear masks. My son and I found...a socially distanced spot att the open air bar. The bar tender got to us quickly and we ordered be beverages. When he returned I ordered an individual sized pizza. I checked the men's restroom and it was very clean. I recommend Island Lava Java.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Island Eggs Benedict is covered in the best hollandaise I've ever had in my entire life. It's a must-try! Wonderful atmosphere, nice ocean views, great service, amazing food.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed August 12, 2020 via mobile

Under the COVID 19, most of the restaurant was closed at Kailua- Kona area. Thanks this restaurant! Very tasty reasonable menu with beautiful ocean view outside seating. Face mask required when you enter the restaurant. Public parking locates back side of this restaurant.

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
JeffF2322, Owner at Island Lava Java, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2020

Mahalo for the review, we greatly appreciate you! Please check your messages for a response form our team.

Reviewed July 22, 2020

A friend said this was a favorite place to eat .....so we decided to try it........it is a nice location.....open-air seating with a view of the harbor and the service was good.....but .....all of the dishes we ordered did not have much flavor.......the calamari was...not crispy ...very limp with a peanut flavor.....not so great.....i got a pizza with pineapple and Kalua Pork.....the pineapple was fresh but raw.....the kalua pork had NO flavor...no smoke flavor and very little on the pizza also very little cheese on a very small pizza .......my friend go a cheeseburger....it was cooked well but no flavor.....the french fries were the best thing .....crispy and flavorful.........the fish taco had nice chunks of Ono but again NO flavor.........and one glass of beer ......VERY EXPENSIVE at OVER $100.00 for lunchMore

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
JeffF2322, Owner at Island Lava Java, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2020

Mahalo for the review! We've reached out in a private message.

Reviewed June 24, 2020

On a cruise. Located on the main street. View was nice--across the street from the water. Food was okay but a little expensive.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
JeffF2322, Owner at Island Lava Java, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2020

Mahalo for taking the time to leave us your review and feedback! We sincerely appreciate you joining us during your visit. take care!

Reviewed April 13, 2020

Ok, prices everywhere are steep in Hawaii, but service should be a concern if you want return business and to justify the 18 percent tip that is part of every bill. We ate there twice and found the food good.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
JeffF2322, Owner at Island Lava Java, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2020

Thanks for your review! We've sent you a personal message in your inbox.

Reviewed March 28, 2020

You have java in your name and you don't have back up coffee machine for when it breaks. That is just disappointing. Also we saw our waiter three times to take our order, to bring us our food, and to get the check. No checking...how we are doing or if we want to order anything us or to refill our water.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
JeffF2322, Owner at Island Lava Java, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2020

Mahalo for taking the time to leave us this review. We've been closed to in restaurant service since March 23rd due to the COVID-19 issues. If this is a backdated review, we sincerely appreciate that you've taken the time to follow up with us after...More

Reviewed March 26, 2020

We thoroughly enjoyed the food. The Veggie omelet was recommended and for good reason, delicious. The Big Island Basics Wonderful. We went back for breakfast again and we can say you will not be disappointed with the Island Eggs Benedict or the Waipi’o Stack Breakfast....I will agree the service was very slow.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
JeffF2322, Owner at Island Lava Java, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2020

Mahalo for the great review! We've reached out in a private message to thank you further.

Reviewed March 18, 2020

Very good. staff very nice. Ginger root ice tea was great. Orange juice blended - excellent. Daughter loved veggie omelet. Son had luau omelet. Potatoes were great. Worth giving a try

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
JeffF2322, Owner at Island Lava Java, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2020

Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, Beth! Check your inbox for a personalized thank you.

Reviewed March 14, 2020 via mobile

We had the best breakfast there we liked it so much we went back for happy hour. Staff was extremely friendly and truly best mai tais we had on the island. Great sunset views

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
JeffF2322, Owner at Island Lava Java, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2020

Mahalo for the kind words! We sent you a private thank-you, so be sure to check your inbox!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Royal Kona Resort
3,879 reviews
.19 miles away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
599 reviews
.33 miles away
Kona Seaside Hotel
1,536 reviews
.65 miles away
Club Wyndham Kona Hawaiian Resort
1,009 reviews
.66 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Gypsea Gelato
172 reviews
.01 miles away
Basik Acai
455 reviews
.10 miles away
Island Ono Loa Grill
313 reviews
.09 miles away
Huggo's Restaurant
1,644 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St. Michael the Archangel Church
194 reviews
.20 miles away
Ali'i Drive
916 reviews
.25 miles away
Kona Farmers Market
273 reviews
.24 miles away
Kona Inn Shopping Village
89 reviews
.32 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Alienmaddy
April 12, 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Neil C | Reviewed this property |
Its Hawaii !!! Who eats breakfast before 6:30 AM? Although they are known for breakfast and lunch, they also serve a great dinner.
3
Votes
RonS817
April 9, 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Hawaiihank | Reviewed this property |
Yes. Lava Java does take reservations. Reservations are not really needed unless you have a large party or if its a holiday. But they do take them if you want to be assured of a table.
4
Votes
francine h
February 5, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from DCrall2013 | Reviewed this property |
I am not sure but they are mostly a breakfast and lunch place. So if you are looking for dinners it may not work. All there food is made fresh and is great. I think they have a web site too.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing