We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Honu's on the Beach Restaurant

Is this your business?
75-5660 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612
+1 808-329-2911
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good34%
  • Average20%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible4%
Travelers talk about
“crab legs” (17 reviews)
“prime rib” (23 reviews)
“roast beef” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Contemporary, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
75-5660 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Ordered the grilled yellow fin tuna-I asked for it rare--and said again rare please-it was cooked perfect-came on a bed of fresh vegetables with a light lemon sauce-perfect.

Thank Hal C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We ate breakfast there the 5 days we stayed. Everyday it was fantastically good with the BEST service ,James and Lani were SOOOOO GOOOOOD!!!!!!!! Prices were average cost for any where we ate in 30 days,in fact cheaper than most. It is a Marriot Courtyard...More

Thank vanblarson
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much. Our culinary staff and our servers work very diligently to deliver that 5 diamond experience every morning. It's very rewarding to received an acknowledgment like yours. We;'ll be suer they read about thisd. Manahlo, Jak Hu General Manager

Reviewed March 19, 2018 via mobile

While staying in a large hotel like The King Kamehameha Courtyard by Marriott you have a variety of choices for you dining. From a coffee shop to poolside faire and finally fine dining. The choice at the Marriott for fine dining is Honu's on the...More

Thank boris1959
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

You must've come during one of our nights recently. Our weekend buffet dinner covers usually run about 200 a night and triple that during special celebrations. There are many factors that can affect the umber of guests at any restaurant from bad weather, to other...More

Reviewed March 3, 2018

Nice location, sitting outside is the best option for a nice setting. We avoided the buffet evenings which aren't our favourite way to dine. The menu is very similar to the pool bar alongside which was disappointing. It would be nice for a hotel of...More

Thank Jean H
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Thank you fr bringing your concern to us. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef for his contemplation. Mahalo, Jak Hu General Manage

Reviewed February 11, 2018 via mobile

Nice poolside/beachside restaurant in downtown Kona at the Sheraton Hotel. Good food and reasonable prices for hotel. Great setting outside by beach. Highly recommend!

Thank dar0898
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2018

We appreciate your feedback and knowing that we helped another guest enjoy their visit to Honu's. We hope you'll be back for another visit in the near future. Mahalo, Jak Hu General Manager

Reviewed February 3, 2018

Our first visit was great. We were seated overlooking the lagoon and gardens. Our server was very good, prompt courteous and friendly. With a good ahi dinner and wine, we were well served. On the second visit, we discovered it was buffet night- not my...More

Thank Robert M
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2018

Thank you for visiting our Honu's restaurant and providing us with such great feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again. Mahalo, Jak Hu General Manager

Reviewed January 27, 2018 via mobile

Staff was very professional and friendly. We ordered all American breakfasts off the menu. Apparently this does not include a refill on the coffee. Charged us an extra 4 dollars for a refill on a small cup of coffee served out of a carafe that...More

Thank Wendy T
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2018

Aloha, We appreciate the feedback you've provided to us about breakfast at Honu's. We do offer free refills of our Kona Blended coffee with each cup ordered. the only time we will charge a guest for the coffee refills I when the guest specifically orders...More

Reviewed January 7, 2018

Love the walls opening up to the outside. Open air one of the reasons we love Hawaii. The eggs Benedict was lacking flavor, but adequate. Nothing wrong with the scrambled eggs, bacon and coffee. High prices for “okay” fare. This hotel/Resort was all around a...More

Thank Stevellie
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Aloha, We thank you for your comments regarding your impression of your recent stay at our hotel. We're sad to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your experience. However I can let you know that it was our pleasure to host you during...More

Reviewed January 5, 2018

I don't know what the people ate who gave this place five stars, but it sure wasn't any of what was made available to us. We lived in Las Vegas for many years so we have a lot of experience with buffets. At Honu's, everything...More

1  Thank OhenryII
Pacifica H, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Aloha and thank you for your visit and review of your dining expirience, as you mentioned in your review we do not encounter often that guests are unhappy with our Buffet. Most of our guests have been returning to us for our Friday and Saturday...More

Reviewed January 3, 2018

We were visiting week of Christmas and figured places would be booked up, so made reservations a week in advance for this holiday dinner buffet. It was very $$$$, and the food was mostly ok, but we were frankly disappointed in that they never mentioned...More

Thank RansomGray
J-HuGeneralManager, General Manager at Honu's on the Beach Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Aloha, We apologize for failing to meet your expectations for the holidays. Coming from Las Vegas, I can only imagine why our buffet and atmosphere seemed unlike what you are used to. We will give your comments some extra thought for the 2018 holiday season....More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 47 hotels in Island of Hawaii
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3,204 reviews
.06 miles away
Kona Seaside Hotel
1,286 reviews
.14 miles away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
537 reviews
.36 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
507 reviews
.41 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
One Aloha Shave Ice Co
121 reviews
.15 miles away
Splasher's Grill
3,033 reviews
.08 miles away
Fish Hopper Seafood and Steaks
3,181 reviews
.14 miles away
Menehune Coffee Company
185 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Kailua Pier
290 reviews
.08 miles away
Kamakahonu
102 reviews
.08 miles away
Ahuena Heiau
95 reviews
.04 miles away
HYPR Nalu Hawaii
533 reviews
.09 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
la808la
December 10, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Joel M | Reviewed this property |
Don't know for certain, but I'd bet money on it that they do.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$10 - $40
Cuisine
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Buffet
Good for
Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 AM - 10:30 AM
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Monday
6:00 AM - 10:30 AM
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
6:00 AM - 10:30 AM
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
6:00 AM - 10:30 AM
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
6:00 AM - 10:30 AM
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Friday
6:00 AM - 10:30 AM
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
6:00 AM - 10:30 AM
5:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 75-5660 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-3612
  • Location: United States  >  Hawaii (HI)  >  Island of Hawaii  >  Kailua-Kona
  • Phone Number: +1 808-329-2911
  • E-mail
Description
Honu's on the Beach Restaurant features the most spectacular Breakfast Buffet with fresh island fruits, bakery items and breakfast basics enhanced by our famed "Live Omelet and Waffle Station". Ala carte menu available. We welcome you in joining Executive Chef Roy Basilio & our entire Honu's team with our newest "Farm to Table" menu. (Cuisine selections available Sunday to Thursday). On Friday and Saturday evenings we feature our famed Prime Rib and Seafood Buffet with a raw bar, appetizers, salads, specialty entrees and of course our "Slowed Roasted Prime Rib Au Jus and Steamed Snow Crab Legs". Join us for Sushi & live music, Sunday through Thursday evenings, 5:30pm - 8:30pm. Happy Hour daily at Billfish Bar, 20% off Pupus, drink specials, 5:30pm to 6:30pm.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;