We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered
Fresh from the land and sea around the big of Hawai'i, we offer locally sourced food for your enjoyment.
$12 - $35
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
Seafood, American, Cajun & Creole, Bar
Wheelchair Accessible, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Waterfront
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
694 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
More languages
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews monkey bread stuffed chicken lava cake beer cheese po boy bruschetta fish and chips flat bread ahi ribs cheesecake fresh catch mashed potatoes steak lilikoi sandwich tacos
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a reservation and was seated immediately with a great view. For some reason service was slow. Slow getting the menu, slow on drink order. Took too long to get drinks and food order. We were at our table for an hour and a half...before we were done. Also had a $25 gift card we wanted to apply towards the bill but the waitress couldn’t figure out how to use it so we couldn’t. Food was very good but service not up to par. Maybe not as good as they used to be.More

Date of visit: November 2020
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

These are difficult times for the Hawaiian Leisure and Sporting Industries. Get used to wearing a mask when walking around but not when dining or drinking. You'll find hand sanitizer at the entrance to all businesses. I recommend a reservation to reduce wait times. We...breezed through the waiting line and were immediately seated and our beverage order taken. We ordered gumbo, steak pasta and fried chicken with gravy. It was all delicious and quickly served. I'm from the south and the fried chicken with gravy was good but not southern seasoned. All staff wore masks. The restroom was very clean. I highly recommend Foster's Kitchen.More

Date of visit: November 2020
jgfhawaii, Owner at Foster's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

You're right: These are difficult times, but we're here to help our community get through them! We also recommend a reservation so you can get to enjoying your meal as soon as possible. Glad to hear that our gumbo, steak, and pasta impressed you! We...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I wanted to order Shrimp and Grits, but the description included Maui onions. When asked if I could have it without onions, I was told "Everything is made fresh" and that it would be no problem. After a few minutes, the manager came by and...told me the seasoning they use had onion powder in it. I declined this dish and ordered their fried buffalo chicken sandwich. When the sandwich came, it was grilled and not fried. When I asked about the change, I was told when they checked the coating mixture, there was onion powder in it and they did not want to take a chance with the meal. I don't like onions, but I can eat them. I was so impressed that Foster's Kitchen went above and beyond due to dietary restriction. Our server, Paulina kept our drinks filled, and was part of the reason the kitchen staff made sure I was onion free!! As a resident, we have dining choices. We will continue to use this location in Kileau Kona or once the Waikoloa location opens, go there. THANK YOU!!More

Date of visit: October 2020
jgfhawaii, Owner at Foster's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

If you don't like onions, we're going to do whatever we can to make sure you don't taste a single one! Whether it's just a preference or a dietary restriction, we don't take chances. We'll let Paulina know that she helped make your meal so...More

Reviewed October 21, 2020 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch. Ordered a house Pina coloda spun specialty drink that tasted odd. Requested a fresh plain pina coloda and realized it was rancid. Waitress didn't seem to believe me so I mentioned it to the manager as it was a bad taste....I was given a quick apology and the drink was taken off the bill. Wish I would have gone someplace else that didn't ruin my lunch. Not good customer relations.More

Date of visit: October 2020
jgfhawaii, Owner at Foster's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're very sorry that your drinks didn't taste right, Tina. We'll always work quickly to get a customer all settled with a drink they love, so I'm glad we could take it from the bill for you. The next time you crave a piña colada,...More

Reviewed September 30, 2020

Food was so delicious that we ate dinner here two nights in a row! Thank you Fosters Kitchen for a perfect ending to our Staycation. P was awesome and the cooks were right on point with every dish. Bravo to the manager, your team definitely...provided us with the best experience in fine dining. Mahalo nui loa from your local patrons☺️More

Date of visit: September 2020
jgfhawaii, Owner at Foster's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2020

Mahalo nui to you! We're humbled to have been a part of your vacation right here at home! We'll make sure to pass the compliment along to the chef. We can't wait to serve you again soon! Best, Foster's Kitchen

Reviewed September 30, 2020 via mobile

This place was OK, service was good. It was busy, but the place had more of a fast food restaurant feel. We had the firecracker wings and bruschetta. Both were very good, not the best but far from the worst! It was OK! We’d eat...there again, it is conveniently located near both the Hilton and Marriott, which is why we went.More

Date of visit: March 2020
jgfhawaii, Owner at Foster's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2020

We're glad we could be a part of your experience here in Kailua-Kona! Making sure our customers have a five-star experience is always a priority for us, so if there's anything we can do to improve your meal, please don't hesitate to reach out to...More

Reviewed August 30, 2020

It was not easy to find ....in fact this is the second time I looked for it.......it is Up stairs with a small sign.......it had a nice view....they were very friendly .......kept everyone apart and safe.........the appetizer was ok but nothing special........all the dishes were...ok but my fish (Ono) was very dry and overcooked.......the pizza was ok and the burger was ok.....nothing special about any of the dishes........small size of servings for the price......More

Date of visit: August 2020
jgfhawaii, Owner at Foster's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2020

While we're glad you were able to finally join us, we're sorry you had trouble locating us! This feedback is important, so thank you for your honesty. It's a shame, though, that your meal wasn't what you were expecting. Did you happen to reach out...More

Reviewed July 15, 2020

A table by the rail with a beautiful ocean view and breeze. Tables well spaced. Food was delicious. I had Shrimp and grits. My husband had chicken pasta dish. Both were delicious. Nice presentation.

Date of visit: July 2020
jgfhawaii, Owner at Foster's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2020

Rebecca, we're proud to hear your visit was an absolute delight! From the shrimp and grits to the beautiful ocean view, it sounds like we delivered on a fun and lovely date night. Thanks for sharing your support! - Foster's Kitchen

Reviewed July 5, 2020 via mobile

We celebrated a late fathers day this week and really enjoyed the view and the food. We split the double bbq chicken breast and a small salad which was plenty. Our waitress was friendly attentive and glad to be back working.

Date of visit: July 2020
jgfhawaii, Owner at Foster's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2020

We're proud to hear you choose us for a belated Father's Day celebration! Sounds like our team was just as amazing as your food. We're already looking forward to welcoming you back someday! Until then, take care. -Foster's Kitchen

Reviewed July 3, 2020 via mobile

Went up for the atmosphere and bar wound up with a great atmosphere and food. The drinks all different from their menu were not good honestly but they were strong so only drinking half was enough. They do off a few vegan options as well...as other diet restrictions so that was nice for the group. Very kind staff. Chances your drink will be identical to ours is low. I would go again though.More

Date of visit: July 2020
jgfhawaii, Owner at Foster's Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2020

We appreciate you stopping by and giving us a try! Sounds like our thoughtful service and welcoming space really won you over. Here's hoping we'll get a second shot at impressing you with our drinks -- come back and see us again soon! -Foster's Kitchen

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Royal Kona Resort
3,879 reviews
.21 miles away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
599 reviews
.30 miles away
Kona Seaside Hotel
1,536 reviews
.62 miles away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
3,634 reviews
.63 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Gypsea Gelato
172 reviews
.04 miles away
Basik Acai
455 reviews
.12 miles away
Island Ono Loa Grill
286 reviews
.06 miles away
Huggo's Restaurant
1,644 reviews
.10 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St. Michael the Archangel Church
194 reviews
.17 miles away
Ali'i Drive
916 reviews
.22 miles away
Kona Farmers Market
273 reviews
.21 miles away
Kona Inn Shopping Village
89 reviews
.30 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
February 14, 2020|
AnswerShow all 16 answers
Response from Charles S | Reviewed this property |
August 9, 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from jgfhawaii | Property representative |
Yes we do. Please call (808) 326-1600. Mahalo 🤙
April 10, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from jgfhawaii | Property representative |
Yes we do. All items that can be prepared GF are marked on our menu with an icon. Mahalo
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing