We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Deanie’s Seafood in the French Quarter is a local institution ranked as one of the best restaurants in New Orleans for seafood. Deanie’s menu includes fried seafood, including the Giant Seafood Platter, New Orleans barbeque shrimp, charbroiled oysters, raw oysters, boiled crawfish and shrimp, gumbo and more. Located one block off Bourbon within walking distance of downtown hotels and attractions. One of three Deanie’s locations in New Orleans, it offers fresh local seafood prepared with housemade recipes and Deanie’s signature seasonings in a casual, friendly atmosphere. The French Quarter restaurant has been featured on the Travel Channel’s “Man v. Food” and the Food Network’s “The Best Thing
PRICE RANGE
$10 - $25
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
FEATURES
Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Takeout, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Beach
Reviews (4,695)
Filter reviews
4,601 results
Traveler rating
2,202
1,439
634
185
141
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
2,202
1,439
634
185
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boiled potatoes seafood shrimp fries bread salad étouffée po boy half platter french quarter fried food huge portions worth the wait wait for a table sat at the bar bourbon street dantes
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The food was absolutely amazing. We ran on this place accidentally, and we were pleasantly surprised. They serve spicy potatoes (instead of bread), yummy.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Deanie's is my go to spot when I head to New Orleans, and it did not disappoint one again. They had just reopened from the hurricane, but the food was great. I might have to go back for a second visit on this trip! The...bbq shrimp is my favorite dish here.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed August 19, 2021

This is a must visit. They really know how to fill you up. Be sure to ask for Jason. He is a 5-Star Server with a billion dollar approach. The place is clean, comfortable, bright, relaxing and very reasonable in pricing. The servings are plentiful...and definitely on point.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed July 30, 2021

Heard what a great place this was to eat from several people where we were staying. The place was pretty busy so we had to wait a while. Wish we hadn't. I had the rice and beans. The sausage was cut up so small it...was hard to find and impossible to taste. Not good at all. Corn bread was ok. Instead of bread they give you a bowl of boiled potatoes to start the meal. Thought that was pretty weird. Short story the place is expensive and I am not sure why. Service was ok.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed July 17, 2021

As my party was waiting for our table, I sat at the bar to order a drink, the bar tender over looked me and my sister. We even asked for a drink menu . He threw it on the counter and walked by. I tried...to get his attention. However, no successful effort. But when I was sitted. Tiffany our server was excellent, best server. LorettaMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Deanie's S, Marketing at Deanie's Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2021

Hi lorettakent60, we work to always provide great service and we we will address your feedback with our staff. Thank you for your review and we hope you give us another try.

Reviewed May 14, 2021 via mobile

Be aware - Deanie’s in the Quarter is closed right now- so disappointed! Had to go elsewhere, which was fun, but not as good.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?3  
Reviewed November 14, 2020

We came here from a recommendation and it was so good!! My friend and I both loved our meal and would definitely recommend this restaurant. The atmosphere was fun and I am so glad we stopped here. There were couple, families, business and friends all...in there eating. The waiter was very good and we never had to wait for our drinks to be refilled.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed September 4, 2020 via mobile

I wasn't overly impressed with this place. I didn't hate it, and I didn't love it. I got the lunch menu, which was a trio of soup samples and a stuffed crab with some fries. The soups that I tried were a crawfish etouffe, a...crawfish bisque, and a gumbo. I didn't really care at all for the crawfish bisque, and the gumbo lacked flavor. I did enjoy the etouffe, but even then I've had better etouffe from chain seafood restaurants. The stuffed crab was very rich in flavor. It was good but it wasn't something to rave home about. It was underwhelming, just a pile of seasoned crab meat on a cheap looking metal shell. I did really enjoy the boiled potatoes that they brought to the table before our meal. They were perfectly seasoned and delicious! They were the best part of the meal,as well as the steamed zucchini and squash that we ordered for my 1 year old nephew. I understand that covid has really caused a lot of issues, and this portion of my review does not reflect the score that I gave. I found it a little confusing that EVERYTHING was served in disposable items, cups, utensils, plates, everything. I can understand why restaurants would do this given the current pandemic, however, I do not understand why they were reusing their paper menus, yet throwing away all this other stuff. I found it entirely odd that they will hand off paper menus from table to table, yet they won't wash dishes. Like I said, this didn't affect my score, just something odd to point out. Personally, I try to reduce the amount of waste I contribute, and I was not a fan of being served food entirely on things that had to be thrown away.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?2  
614melissai, Owner at Deanie's Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2020

Hi Tummons617, We are sorry you didn't enjoy your experience. However, this review cannot be for this location as we have been closed since March because of the Pandemic.

Reviewed July 19, 2020

We ordered the fried platter. It has shrimp, crab, catfish and a few others things. It was amazing. And, it is gluten free. You won't even notice! The half order is plenty for 3-4 people but if you want your fill it can be shared...with 2 with some leftovers. We will definitely be back!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed July 10, 2020 via mobile

We give Deanie’s another try this time I must admit very good me and the wife really enjoyed sharing seafood platter

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living
lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty
Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port
of call for folks in search of a good time and a great
story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs
across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied
around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively
well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hyatt Centric French Quarter New Orleans
3,252 reviews
.02 miles away
Courtyard by Marriott New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
1,404 reviews
.04 miles away
The Ritz-Carlton, New Orleans
3,662 reviews
.08 miles away
Holiday Inn French Quarter-Chateau LeMoyne, an IHG hotel
827 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
GW Fins
8,095 reviews
.07 miles away
Olde Nola Cookery
2,653 reviews
.06 miles away
Red Fish Grill
4,525 reviews
.07 miles away
Arnaud's Restaurant / French 75 Bar
2,795 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
RTA - Streetcars
16,035 reviews
.11 miles away
Museum of Death
466 reviews
.05 miles away
Germaine Wells Mardi Gras Museum
24 reviews
.08 miles away
Ignatius J Reilly Statue
10 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Anna J
April 30, 2021|
Answer
Response from Stukid |
Parking in New Orleans is always a challenge. Your best bet is to leave your car at the hotel (if they have parking!) and walk/Uber. We stayed downtown, and got free parking voucher by gambling at Harrah's!
0
Votes
rebecca c
July 19, 2020|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Danny G | Reviewed this property |
I think I would call them and ask for management then check. I think its "iffy" just because of the seafood issue & how to ship it! Frozen might be best way with dry ice! You should ask & they will accommodate you I'm sure!
0
Votes
rebecca c
July 19, 2020|
Answer
Response from CJAYNFAMILY | Reviewed this property |
French quarter location is close due to COVID check other locations probably do are call on orders
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Deanie's Seafood

Yes, Deanie's Seafood offers takeout services.

Deanie's Seafood is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4