We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

French Quarter
0.2 miles from French Quarter
About
Pier 424 is a unique Bourbon Street destination offering a wide selection of fresh, local seafood prepared daily in a market-style setting. Select from all the freshest fare-oysters, lobsters, boiled seafood and fresh fish-served in traditional dishes. Features include one of the largest oyster bars in the city and covered balcony for dining and enjoying the city’s world famous people watching.
PRICE RANGE
$6 - $35
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Wine and Beer
Reviews (1,241)
Filter reviews
1,156 results
Traveler rating
446
357
201
93
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
446
357
201
93
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters jambalaya red beans and rice alligator bites fries chicken bread pudding bourbon street french quarter an appetizer server trio appetizers seasoning
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Started out by not being seated where we wanted, further into the restaurant to be away from the streets weed and cigarette smoke, sat us near Bourbon Street, even though pretty much every table in the place was open. Great. Next, our server acted as...if this was the last place on the planet she wanted to be. Forgot half of our simple order, and was in no rush to fix it. Food was on par with fast food but with 3x the cost. There's way better in the French quarter. Not here.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When we came in there was only one other table here, waited over an hour to get our food. Food was good, poor kitchen staff.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Irwin, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

JS, we regret your visit was not favorable and we hope you will give us another try

Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice spot, food was okay, but it took over an hour to get it after ordering. They did give us a discount for waiting so long. The waitress was great.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Irwin, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you E5920MRandread, for letting us know of your visit , we appreciate you being patient ,and we hope we will see you again soon

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Chris was great! We sat at the bar and had oysters and beers. Everyone that worked there was friendly and positive. Great atmosphere and amazing service.

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Irwin, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

EFAH, Thank you so much for letting us know of your visit, look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed March 2, 2024

My primary complaint: As an appetizer. I ordered a corn and crab bisque. On the menu, it doesn’t specify “cup” or “bowl”— just tells me an order is $10.50. When the check arrived, my bisque was $18.50. The waitress said “well that’s the price of...a bowl,” never mind that I never specified a cup or bowl, and when I ordered I wasn’t told “a bowl is $18, even though that isn’t listed on the menu” or anything that could have alleviated the issue before it happened. The food was okay, nothing outstanding, especially by NOLA standards (and certainly not $18 for a soup good). But the service was awful. In addition to the bisque issue, we waited outside at the front of the line for 20 minutes— there were dozens of tables open, so I understand it was a staffing issue, but with 2 toddler standing in plumes of smoke from people wandering up to see the menu, it would have been nice as the next in line to be seated even if a server wasn’t yet available. Once we got our food, we didn’t have enough plates or silverware (no spoons came out with the gumbo or bisque, and we were originally seated with 2 sets of silverware for a party of 4). No big deal, we ask the waitress for more. Several minutes later, she’s come back to nearby tables multiple times and we still can’t start our food without silverware. We go up to the bar ourselves and get the needed plates and spoons. By the time she circles back with plates in hand, we are halfway through our meal— she doesn’t stop to see if we need refills, she just keeps walking past. Check comes. We pay, she brings the card back, then she HOVERS over our shoulder between my husband and I reminding us that she needs our signature (and, of course, the tip) on the receipt. I still have quite a bit of food to finish, and no one wants to fill out that info being stared at (especially because this was the first time she showed any interest in our table all night). She got her tip because we wanted to give the benefit of the doubt, but then of course she disappeared again and couldn’t have been found for a box. Skip here and go elsewhere.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Irwin, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We so regret your service and experience with us went this way and so hoping you will give us another try

Reviewed February 15, 2024 via mobile

Good portions of food for the money. The server was fairly new, but wasn’t bad. Not a bad place for the money. We had an alligator po’boy and a chicken sandwich.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Irwin, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you Mark-Norma, for letting us know of your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed February 14, 2024 via mobile

Waited a long time for our food , wine served in a plastic cup🙄 The calamari was inedible just a crunchy ball of nothing , have never had such an awful meal, didn’t complain as couldn’t find anyone to complain too, everyone seemed too busy...( we probably could have walked without paying!) Just left a minimal tip more out of sympathy for the tired and p*****d looking server So disappointing ☹️More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Irwin, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We regret your visit with us was not favorable and are in hopes you will give us another try

Reviewed February 6, 2024

I AGREE WITH THE LAST REVIEWER, GOOD NOT GREAT. WE WERE LOOKING FOR CRAB LEGS SPECIFICALLY. THEY WERE THE BEST THINGS AT THE TABLE BUT NOT THE BEST IN THE CITY. THE REST OF OUR FOOD WAS JUST OK, THE ATMOSPHERE IS DINGY. THE LEAST...FAVORITE MEAL I HAD IN NOLA.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Irwin, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2024

Thank you, for letting us know of your visit and we hope you will come to visit again

Reviewed January 9, 2024 via mobile

Had a late dinner here on a Tuesday night. The restaurant was pretty empty, and the bartender said we could seat ourselves. They have a good amount of seating and the bar to the right side as soon as you enter. It took about 10...minutes until a server came over, but he was very nice and friendly. We placed our drink and food order. The raw oysters were decent. They were not as cold as I would have liked but still tasty. The calamari was chewy and a little under cooked. The gumbo was really good, and the shrimp po boy was decent. The bread on the po boy was soggy from too much grease from the fried shrimp. Wanted to try the corn and Crab bisque, but they were out of it. All in all, the restaurant was clean, the bathrooms weren't the cleanest but not too filthy, and the server was friendly. You can definitely hear all the Biurbon street noise, music, shouting, and hapoenings if they leave the doors open. The food was decent but not overly impressive. I would come back here again, but it wouldn't be my first choice over some of the other restaurants in the area.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Irwin, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2024

Thank you for letting us know of your visit and so hope to see you again

Reviewed December 30, 2023 via mobile

We visited on 12/29/2023 and I must say this restaurant really needs to step up. I received a chicken BLT po-boy with a piece of chicken that was not edible, and un-melted shredded cheese on a bun. My husband’s gumbo was barely warm, but his...main entree which was the catch of the day he enjoyed (which was the only thing on our bill that was ok). My child’s food was warm at best she ate the main entree but not the sides. Even though I was unable to eat my unacceptable sandwich it wasn’t taken off my bill, we were charged $108 for a meal that was very disappointing.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Irwin, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2024

We regret your visit was not favorable and we are in hopes you will give us another try

Reviewed December 8, 2023

My husband and I were very pleased with the dinner we had at Pier 424. We arrived shortly before the dinner crowd and were pleasantly greeted and seated immediately. The waitress was quick to bring menus, check on drink orders and kindly answered our questions...concerning the menu. Drinks and appetizers arrived quickly with our meals shortly afterward. We ordered dessert (key lime pie, which was delicious). We left the restaurant very pleased we had chosen to eat at this restaurant on the last night of our trip in New Orleans.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Irwin, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know of your visit and we hope we will see you again soon

Reviewed November 26, 2023

We were the only ones there at first then two other tables filled up. Our server was serving all tables. She did not know the menu or drink availability. We ordered drinks and appetizers and never came back to get our entres. We observed similar...actions happening at the other tables. We decided just to finish our appetizers and eat somewhere else. Food was mediocre and cold, not fresh, and over priced. All this took over an hour. Better food and service at Oceania’s and the French Market. Take your business elsewhere.More

Date of visit: November 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Irwin, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2023

We so regret your visit with us was not favorable and we are in hopes you will give us another try

Reviewed November 6, 2023

My first time having alligator and it was DELICIOUS!😋😋😋 Our waiter whose name I forgot was sooooooo pleasant! Think his name was AJ. Had the alligator po boy with fries. My lady had the seafood platter! Their food was sooooooooo fresh! The environment was great!...Its like dead smack in the middle of bourbon street. This place was clean with a great staff. This place is a must visit!🎯More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Irwin, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2023

We're so happy you enjoyed the alligator, Mister219. We so look forward to seeing you again soon

Reviewed October 29, 2023 via mobile

This would be a two-star review where it not for the excellent service. I ordered the fried shrimp platter. The shrimp tasted good, but the fries and onion rings were disgusting. The dinner salad was old Costco lettuce with bottled blue cheese salad dressing. Service...was excellent. The dining room is nice, however the only treble music from across the street isn't just loud, which I wouldn't mind, because I love a good party, but it's deafening.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Irwin, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2023

Thank you Scott for letting us know of your visit and we hope you will give us another try

Reviewed October 21, 2023

Save your time when trying to make a reservation, you’ll be met with an incredibly rude staff member yelling through the phone.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rob Irwin, General Manager at Pier 424 Seafood Market, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2023

phoenixm569 we regret your experience with us was not favorable and are in hopes you will give us another try

View more reviews
Best nearby
French Quarter
A small and teeming network of laissez-faire living
lounged out on the balmy banks of the Mighty
Mississippi, the French Quarter has long been a port
of call for folks in search of a good time and a great
story. Perpetually inebriated Bourbon Street runs
across its midriff like a strand of cheap ribbon tied
around an otherwise rather pretty and impressively
well-kept vintage dress. Throughout the rest of the
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Le Marais by J Collection Hotels
4,400 reviews
.05 miles away
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
1,474 reviews
.08 miles away
Prince Conti Hotel
2,336 reviews
.08 miles away
Dauphine Orleans Hotel by J Collection Hotels
4,653 reviews
.09 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Oceana
16,147 reviews
.04 miles away
Leah's Pralines
290 reviews
.04 miles away
Mambo's
1,521 reviews
.03 miles away
Le Bayou Restaurant & Oyster Bar
970 reviews
.04 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hermann-Grima House
605 reviews
.04 miles away
James H. Cohen and Sons
29 reviews
.05 miles away
Moss Antiques
9 reviews
.05 miles away
Fat Catz
170 reviews
.02 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
365megang
January 13, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from scott47863 | Reviewed this property |
We did not see the kids menu but yes, they do have one.
1
Vote
Jennifer D
April 22, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from TW H | Reviewed this property |
worth every bit, reasonable and great helpings. We would split a plate at lunch.
0
Votes
Saebr18
March 9, 2017|
AnswerShow all 13 answers
Response from dede48 | Reviewed this property |
casual attire.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

PIER 424 SEAFOOD MARKET, New Orleans - 424 Bourbon St, French Quarter - Menu & Prices - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Pier 424 Seafood Market

Yes, Pier 424 Seafood Market offers takeout services.

Pier 424 Seafood Market is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4