We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meals
Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
CUISINES
Spanish, American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service, Wheelchair Accessible
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
27
26
19
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
27
26
19
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tapas baked goats cheese crab cakes saturday night the wait staff
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed January 4, 2020

The service was good; the food was mediocre. Garlic grilled bread was skimpily supplied, but that was okay because it was boring bread and where was the garlic? If you can’t do something so basic well, there is no hope for the rest of your...More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 3, 2020

Treated my partner on Boxing Day before a comedy club show as he is a paella lover. While tasty and edible, what we were served was only loosely related to paella - not authentic at all. More of a rice dish with bbq-sauce flavored meat...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 26, 2019

i was here with a group of six people on a saturday night, so busy. we had kind of a mix of experienced tapas eaters and inexperienced people so we wound up with kind of a mishmosh. one person took off on their own to...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

My family of 5 arrived on a Saturday at 1:15pm. There was wait staff at the far end of the bar, but no one noticed us. We sat ourselves, and after about 10 min, had to go to the end of the bar where 3...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 15, 2019

We had Marguerita Pasta with chicken for our order. It was very good and tasty but a slice of bread would have been nice to dilute all the tomato taste in the end. Tables are almost next to each other so you could see what...More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 1, 2019 via mobile

Used to really like this place before overture events and for tapas Tuesday, but had a very disappointing experience with the new menu. Some old favorites (like the bleu cheese grilled bread) are no longer available, others (like the bruschetta) have shrunken in size, and...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
LiLouWan, Manager at the icon, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear 347brianah, We are sorry to hear that your visit with us was not as expected. We have a new chef and he is working hard to bring great quality along with great flavors to each menu item. We are still the place to go...More

Reviewed December 22, 2018

We had heard that they had a great brunch, but the brunch we had was was bad. At least it was edible, but nothing special at all.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
LiLouWan, Manager at the icon, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear Ourroadlesstraveled, We are sorry that your visit with us was less than spectacular. We strive to make food and service above and beyond. Our servers should be checking in with our guests to see if they are enjoying each bite. Please give us a...More

Reviewed December 11, 2018

We went there on a Saturday for lunch. The ambient is not really for families, but we had a good time with our 3 and 5 years old. The breakfast burrito and the omelette jardin de eapana were really good, but the ICON’S BREAKFAST SLAM...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed November 4, 2018

We went there for desert and wine after a show at the local theater. We were seated at the bar, order was taken quickly. Two identical glasses of 9 dollar Pino Noir, one pour 1/3 full one 2/3 full. WE balanced the amount for each...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed October 21, 2018

Three of us went for dinner at The Icon at 8pm on a Friday night. It was busy but not full. The front people allowed diners to alternate tables so they did not have to sit next to another group but this resulted in only...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
LiLouWan, Manager at the icon, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear Chibearbob, We are sorry to hear about your evening with us. We have since hired a new manager and things are going well. While we try very hard to plan ahead as best we can, sometimes we do run out of a few items....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
1,727 reviews
.09 miles away
Hyatt Place Madison
958 reviews
.23 miles away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
977 reviews
.23 miles away
The Edgewater
1,123 reviews
.30 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ian's Pizza on State
347 reviews
.07 miles away
Short Stack Eatery
174 reviews
.09 miles away
Cento
301 reviews
.06 miles away
The Coopers Tavern
413 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Madison Farmer's Market
456 reviews
.18 miles away
Capitol Square
646 reviews
.27 miles away
Wisconsin Veterans Museum
239 reviews
.10 miles away
Madison Children's Museum
308 reviews
.23 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from the icon staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing