We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Spanish, American, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
Meals
Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Table Service, Wheelchair Accessible

Location and contact

0.3 miles from Wisconsin State Capitol
Improve this listing
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
27
26
19
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
27
26
19
11
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed January 4, 2020

The service was good; the food was mediocre. Garlic grilled bread was skimpily supplied, but that was okay because it was boring bread and where was the garlic? If you can’t do something so basic well, there is no hope for the rest of your...food. Everything we ate was drowned in boring tomato sauces that were not better than what you’d get out of a bottle. The wine tasted grape-y. Skip.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 3, 2020

Treated my partner on Boxing Day before a comedy club show as he is a paella lover. While tasty and edible, what we were served was only loosely related to paella - not authentic at all. More of a rice dish with bbq-sauce flavored meat...added. Appetizers were nice but unenthusiastically cooked and presented. The wine was lovely and the servers were friendly and accommodating, but don't expect the food to be anything but average. Okay, but I can't recommend especially if you're looking for authentic paella.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed May 26, 2019

i was here with a group of six people on a saturday night, so busy. we had kind of a mix of experienced tapas eaters and inexperienced people so we wound up with kind of a mishmosh. one person took off on their own to...eat the grilled chicken salad (i think they enjoyed it) but the rest of us shared tapas. i would say that overall, i liked some of the dishes that i haven't had at other tapas places better than their versions of familiar items, but nothing was bad. biggest complaint is that most tapas places give you a basket of little rounds of bread to sop up sauces and handle dishes where accompanying bread (usually garlic bread) runs out, but this place did not. things i think we particularly liked: grilled asparagus, roasted brussels sprouts, crabcakes. baked goat cheese seemed sparse on the cheese, though tasty. ahi tuna tartare was not at all what i was expecting but it tasted good. the wait staff was stretched a little thin (i think there was a bachelor party competing for their attention) but they were all nice and helpful. the theme is hollywood and they had a movie running which was a tad distracting for the people facing the movie but the atmosphere is fun.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

My family of 5 arrived on a Saturday at 1:15pm. There was wait staff at the far end of the bar, but no one noticed us. We sat ourselves, and after about 10 min, had to go to the end of the bar where 3...servers were standing around. I asked if they were still serving lunch, they said yes. We got our own menus. They served us drinks, we placed our order. 30 min later, we received our first set of meals - only 2 lunches were delivered. We had to ask for silverware. We were told they had run out of ketchup (didn't think this was possible in any restaurant). Another 15 minutes, and another 2 arrived. The first 2 lunches were delivered and consumed before the next 2 arrived. The waitress then noticed a 5th meal was missing.... she had to ask again what he wanted (she didn't write down our orders when she took them). She apologized and said there was a "mix up" in the kitchen. In the end, 2 of the orders were wrong, the waitress' focus was more than lacking, and the food was only so-so. Not worth the time or the money.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed April 15, 2019

We had Marguerita Pasta with chicken for our order. It was very good and tasty but a slice of bread would have been nice to dilute all the tomato taste in the end. Tables are almost next to each other so you could see what...everyone else ordered and if you wanted to listen to their conversations, you were that close. It is not a place to have a good conversation with your table partner - very very loud. I would not be inclined to dine there again.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed March 1, 2019 via mobile

Used to really like this place before overture events and for tapas Tuesday, but had a very disappointing experience with the new menu. Some old favorites (like the bleu cheese grilled bread) are no longer available, others (like the bruschetta) have shrunken in size, and...others (like the Mediterranean cous cous salad) have seriously declined in quality and flavor. The new crab cakes are pretty good, but all of the food used to make up for the slow and disorganized service, and this is sadly no longer the case.More

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
LiLouWan, Manager at the icon, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear 347brianah, We are sorry to hear that your visit with us was not as expected. We have a new chef and he is working hard to bring great quality along with great flavors to each menu item. We are still the place to go...More

Reviewed December 22, 2018

We had heard that they had a great brunch, but the brunch we had was was bad. At least it was edible, but nothing special at all.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?
LiLouWan, Manager at the icon, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear Ourroadlesstraveled, We are sorry that your visit with us was less than spectacular. We strive to make food and service above and beyond. Our servers should be checking in with our guests to see if they are enjoying each bite. Please give us a...More

Reviewed December 11, 2018

We went there on a Saturday for lunch. The ambient is not really for families, but we had a good time with our 3 and 5 years old. The breakfast burrito and the omelette jardin de eapana were really good, but the ICON’S BREAKFAST SLAM...was OUTSTANDING.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Helpful?2  
Reviewed November 4, 2018

We went there for desert and wine after a show at the local theater. We were seated at the bar, order was taken quickly. Two identical glasses of 9 dollar Pino Noir, one pour 1/3 full one 2/3 full. WE balanced the amount for each...glass ourselves. Next, the wine must have been from an open bottle that was at least days old if not longer. Stale, not drinkable and unacceptable for a 9 dollar glass of wine. Staff did not come around for any option for us to send it back. We ordered desert; skimpy mouse servings, and a slice of Tres Leches; was dry dry dry. To serve garbage and not know it is simply not paying attention. To do it on purpose is unthinkable. I cannot tell which case this was.More

Date of visit: November 2018
Helpful?1  
Reviewed October 21, 2018

Three of us went for dinner at The Icon at 8pm on a Friday night. It was busy but not full. The front people allowed diners to alternate tables so they did not have to sit next to another group but this resulted in only...seating available for 2 people. As a result of the poor management in seating people, we ended up eating at the bar. Sitting on a bar stool was tough on the back since there was no seat back! During dinner, I ordered a couple of martinis. The first one was served in a small martini glass. It was maybe 1 1/2 shots of vodka for $9. The 2nd martini was served in a large martini glass and only filled half the glass! It looked bad. If they are going to give a short pour, they should not put it in a large glass. We ordered tapas for dinner. The garden salad and bacon wrapped dates were good. The charcuterie plate was good but they did not have prosciutto which was supposed to be included. They comped me the 2nd drink to make up for it. We ordered a duck empanada & were told they had no duck. They ended up finding one last duck empanada so we got what we wanted but it is poor management to run out of items relatively early on a Friday night. We've eaten here before & enjoyed it but management was poor on this night.More

Date of visit: October 2018
Helpful?
LiLouWan, Manager at the icon, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2019

Dear Chibearbob, We are sorry to hear about your evening with us. We have since hired a new manager and things are going well. While we try very hard to plan ahead as best we can, sometimes we do run out of a few items....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Madison Concourse Hotel and Governor's Club
1,795 reviews
.09 miles away
Hyatt Place Madison
998 reviews
.23 miles away
Best Western Premier Park Hotel
1,000 reviews
.23 miles away
The Edgewater
1,220 reviews
.30 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Ian's Pizza on State
349 reviews
.07 miles away
Short Stack Eatery
182 reviews
.09 miles away
Cento
307 reviews
.06 miles away
The Coopers Tavern
417 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Dane County Farmers' Market
459 reviews
.11 miles away
Capitol Square
646 reviews
.27 miles away
Wisconsin Veterans Museum
239 reviews
.10 miles away
Madison Children's Museum
309 reviews
.23 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from the icon staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about the icon

the icon is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5