We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Kabuto Japanese Steakhouse

$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1617 Stanley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27407
+1 336-852-5550
Website
Today
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
4:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Mon - Fri 11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Sat 4:30 pm - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great atmosphere, good food and wonderful service. It would have been more fun had the tepenyaki chef done some tricks as other locations do, but the food was still solid and allowed for our team to break bread and bond.

Helpful?
Thank 1Stark1
casey_kabuto, Manager at Kabuto Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this review

Thank you!! We love to have you here! However, I am taking it upon myself to discuss with the owner directly about the chefs. We have been working with them, but it seems as if not ALL of them are on the same page when it comes to doing tricks and being fun. This is not okay, and it is... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2016 via mobile

Portions are large here with lots of rice. Good flavors on the food. We had chicken, shrimp, and salmon. Two large salmon pieces too. The chef was boring with no personality. Restaurant was better than other Hibachi places in Greensboro. Floors and chairs were not sticky and the restaurant did not feel too smoky.

Helpful?
Thank sdevries88
casey_kabuto, Manager at Kabuto Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed the food and atmosphere! It is a problem that your chef was boring though, we have a couple of new chefs we are working to improve. Our head chef and managers are training them to perfect their tricks so they can put on a better show for our customers. Having a boring chef kind... More 

Liberty, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2016

We hadn't been to this restaurant in a couple of years. I had read the recent reviews (bad) and we were reluctant to go back. Our friends that we were going out to eat with were the ones that really wanted to go here. I'm so glad we did. Our service and our meal was excellent. It was a Saturday... More 

Helpful?
Thank seamonkey74
casey_kabuto, Manager at Kabuto Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this review

What a great review! Thank you for noting so many details and understanding the process here! We appreciate you taking the time to leave such a positive message and we would love for you to return. Send us a private message with your address and we will definitely get back to you with a promotional certificate for next time! More 

Oak Ridge, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2016

Took my wife for her 50th birthday. There was also a family with a 3 yr. old for her birthday same table. Shrimp was undercooked, table was never cleared of any bowls, glasses, etc. during meal. Chef had to reach over mess. NASTY! No Happy Birthday song. Then they charged everyone at table 15% gratuity. None of us came together.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank wquake
casey_kabuto, Manager at Kabuto Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this review

What a horrible experience, I am so sorry. Our servers are trained to pre-bus their tables which includes taking the soup and salad bowls away when you are done with them. They should know better than to add gratuity to a table's check when the table is not a party of six or more. They also should know how important... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Last night was the worst dining experience ever! We have been there many times but last night I waited 90 minutes for dinner that never arrived. The general manager, Mario, was rude and disrespectful. My husband called owner to talk about the horrible experience and Darla , the owner, could not have cared less. Not once did anyone apologize for... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Mary Lynn B
casey_kabuto, Manager at Kabuto Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this review

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your evening at Kabuto. I'm not really sure on what happened on this night and why it was so bad. All you have made clear is that a man named Mario was rude, and the owner did not seem to care. Maybe she was a little confused? We don't have anyone named... More 

Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2016

Monday evening we took our son and his best friend to their favorite Japanese spot to celebrate a birthday. No reservation so the staff told us it would be 30-35 mins. We grabbed a buzzer and went to the bar to sit. After 40 mins (should mention bar staff did not inquire if we wanted anything) we sent our son... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank GSOMDoyle
casey_kabuto, Manager at Kabuto Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this review

The most unfortunate thing about this "review" is the amount of untrue statements written in it. The words your husband said to that staff member are unforgivable. Luckily, you have left that out, so our guests will not have to read such disgusting, degrading words. Though, the reaction that staff member had after he said those words was uncalled for,... More 

Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2016 via mobile

So my hubby got the family together for a nice meal. I personally had never been to Kabuto. We waited even with a reservation. Our waitress was either new or not too bright. We were served soup before beverages. My daughter ordered a cocktail that was horrible and sent it back. The shrimp was rubbery, the rice was not soft,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie K
casey_kabuto, Manager at Kabuto Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Our restaurant is a bit different than others. Here, you are seated with other diners in a group setting, it is custom to bring out the soup first, then you order drinks, and then you get your very own chef who prepares the food right in front of you at your table. It is considered... More 

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2016

We ate here as we were staying in the Hyatt next door. Good service, reasonable prices and nice food. We shared a steak, which is a thing on the menu. Weirdly they chop it all up for you, so you don't have to use your knife! It tasted nice and the steak was good. We had a beer too, which... More 

Helpful?
Thank MiserableOldChef
casey_kabuto, Manager at Kabuto Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this review

I’m glad you enjoyed your evening here. Just so you know, when you order anything in our restaurant it is made hibachi style, which includes them cutting the meats and vegetables on the grill while it is cooked. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. If you would like, you can send us your address... More 

Jamestown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2016

I was not impressed with this restaurant even though there is really nothing wrong with it. I just think it cost a lot of money to watch a cook prepare a plate of chicken (or fish, shrimp or steak) fried rice. Ultimate you have a $7.99 meal that costs a whole bunch more. No need of this for me.

Helpful?
1 Thank VintageGibson
casey_kabuto, Manager at Kabuto Japanese Steakhouse, responded to this review

So sorry you were not impressed! Keep in mind though, it is not just a plate of chicken the chef is making. You are getting an entire entrée prepared right in front of you with a show! The entrées all come with a soup, salad with your choice of dressing, appetizer shrimp, your choice of meat, rice, grilled zucchini and... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2016 via mobile

I visited with my daughter and her Freind during an the tic event for an evening dinner with some entertainment. I have been to several of that's type of restaurants and this is the worst. The chef did not have many skills that were entertaining. The server spilled the soup in the table while serving and did not notice. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Zeromama

Travelers who viewed Kabuto Japanese Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Kabuto Japanese Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 am - 2:30 pm
4:30 pm - 9:30 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 2:00 pm
5:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Saturday
4:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1617 Stanley Rd, Greensboro, NC 27407
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  Greensboro
  • Phone Number: +1 336-852-5550

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Kabuto Japanese Steakhouse and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kabuto Japanese Steakhouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?