We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Smoky Mountain Trout House

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Smoky Mountain Trout House prides itself on offering absolutely the freshest trout in Gatlinburg. Our trout are ice packed directly to the restaurant. Once it has arrived we take great care in our preparing your selection exactly as you like. All of the trout served in this restaurant are Rainbow Trout, grown in the sparkling clear waters of the Smokies. The purity and flavor of mountain trout offered great pleasure to the original settlers of the Smokies. So... have a seat, rest a spell and you, too, can enjoy a special treat... real Smoky Mountain trout! Thank you for visiting us and remember to treat yourself to trout... It's as good as all outdoors!
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
CUISINES
Barbecue, American, Seafood
FEATURES
Takeout, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
766 results
Traveler rating
384
232
84
31
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
384
232
84
31
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trout hush puppies salad baked potato fresh fish coconut pie bacon butty fritters clam chowder cole slaw prime rib steak seafood chicken free parking across the street miss mary small restaurant
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 766 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped here for a date while visiting Gatlinburg. The trout was good, and there were lots of choices on how to have it prepared. Hushpuppies and slaw were good. Small restaurant with homey feel (not fancy, but good) Free parking across street.More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Marty C
311beckya, Owner at Smoky Mountain Trout House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for eating with us Marty C. We truly appreciate you taking the time to give us a great review. We like to think of ourselves, as a small place with a big flare. We sure hope you come see us again. Happy New...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were staying next door to the Trout House and thought we'd give it a try one night since we had read the reviews and most all the reviews were good. It was clean and the atmosphere was good but they were not what I'd...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank ACsmartone
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Everyone in my group loves trout and these people don’t know what they are doing, if you are going to spend 21 bucks on trout go to the Peddler! The Eisenhower Trout and smoked trout along with the cold sweet potato and sorry trout fritters...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank lenfoy
311beckya, Manager at Smoky Mountain Trout House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Sorry for your disappointment lenfoy. Our cooks have been with the trout house for many years, and sorry to hear you did not enjoy your meal. Thank you for taking the time to give a review, as we always strive for improvement.

Reviewed December 16, 2018

This local restaurant recently changed owners. We have eaten there since it opened years ago. It has always been a favorite. In my opinion, they served the best trout in town. Or at least they used too. We immediately noticed there was a new menu....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Elizabeth M
311beckya, Owner at Smoky Mountain Trout House, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2018

Sorry to hear of your disappointment Elizabeth M. Although we are the new owners for the past 2 years, we estenially are not new, as we have been working very closely with the previous owner (who is part of our family) since it was established...More

Reviewed December 7, 2018

Best Waitress ever! The food is great!!! She always is so nice although we missed her de-boning of the trout she was amazing....the new already de-boned had more bones than when she did them herself!More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Shannon J
311beckya, Owner at Smoky Mountain Trout House, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2018

Sorry to hear your fish had more than usual bones in it. Although! We pay extra for the deboning, we cannot always gaurentee that will be the case. Very happy that you had great service, from our wonderful staff, and hope you come and visit...More

Reviewed November 27, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I have been here several times over the last few years and invited her parents to eat at the Smoky Mountain Trout House for our last meal over Thanksgiving Holiday. It did not disappoint. Their cole-slaw is sweet and tasty and their...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank RonnieMackin
311beckya, Owner at Smoky Mountain Trout House, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2018

That is fantastic news to our ears. We love hearing of repeat customers and bringing along family members. So happy to hear everyone enjoyed their meals. We sure do appreciate you and your family eating with us. Please let us know when you are visiting...More

Reviewed November 25, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely loved our dinner here!! I ordered the Dilly Trout and my boyfriend ordered the Smoked Trout and both were FANTASTIC!! Mary was our waitress and she took great care of us and made sure she kept our drinks refilled. Couldn’t have asked for better...More

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank Scenic11210214563
311beckya, Owner at Smoky Mountain Trout House, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2018

Thank You so much Scenic 11210214563. Very happy to hear you enjoyed your dinner. Miss Mary and Lisa are the best, and we are blessed to have them work with us. We appreciate you taking your time to give a great review. Can’t wait till...More

Reviewed November 19, 2018 via mobile

We had the smoked trout and the Eisenhower! Smoked was great! Eisenhower needed a little salt and lemon but was also tasty! GET THE SLAW! Sweet little old lady makes it by hand and it’s great!More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank pookie1088
311beckya, Owner at Smoky Mountain Trout House, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2018

Thank You pookie1088 for eating with us and giving a great review. Our lovey Miss Mary who has worked for the Trout House for 27 years and still going strong, makes the absolute best slaw. We sure hope you come and eat with us again....More

Reviewed November 18, 2018

The dinner and the service were excellent it was very prompt service there was no waith and the food was great and this was on a Saturday night as well I will dine here again when I visit againMore

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Cruiser813903
311beckya, Owner at Smoky Mountain Trout House, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

Thank you Cruiser813903, for eating with us and your great review. We appreciate you taking your time to give us a review. Very happy to hear your dinner was great, as well as the service. We are always striving for improvements and love to give...More

Reviewed November 15, 2018

We come to Gatlinburg from florida every year. We’ve loved the Trout House for over 25 years, and always visited for the Trout Eisenhower...We’ve loved Mary, the best waitress in the business.. This year, we were informed there are new owners again, which would have...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Jerry S
311beckya, Owner at Smoky Mountain Trout House, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2018

Sorry to hear of your disappointment. Yes! We purchased the restaurant almost 2 years ago. We now purchase our fish deboned, so no longer have to debone at the table, as most have requested this. Thank you for visiting us and your review.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lisa R
December 21, 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from RonnieMackin | Reviewed this property |
I agree with posts down below. There were 6 of us and I think our bill was around 125 or so. Most dishes are around 20-25 dollars, but that is not out of line with every other place in the area, unless you get fast food. The... More
1
Vote
jenday812
October 4, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from 311beckya | Property representative |
I am sorry. We will be closed on Thanksgiving. We will however, be open the following day. We hope you are able to come dine with us.
0
Votes
SandraA4915
May 21, 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from SMTroutHouse | Property representative |
We do not
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing