We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Mentioned in

  • 6 Savannah Restaurants Worth the Splurgevisitsavannah.com

Details

PRICE RANGE
$15 - $25
CUISINES
Seafood, Sushi, French, European

Location and contact

Yamacraw Village
0.2 miles from Savannah Historic District
Improve this listing
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveler rating
177
78
25
22
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
177
78
25
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mussels sushi bouillabaisse rabbit bread brie soup chicken potatoes embassy suites cordon bleu white wine all you can eat wine list a great evening saturday night great drinks
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed February 27, 2020

Dined on the all you can eat mussels night. We didn't do the all you can eat, but tried 4 of the amazing flavors available. Food was delicious and perfect to have at the hotel during a recent meeting conference. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
HolyCityHospitality, General Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2020

Thank you for your review! We hope to see you again soon, Holy City Hospitality & Events by Good Food

Reviewed February 14, 2020

Twenty years ago I took my wife and 13-year-old son to Paris on a weeklong business trip. They saw Paris during the day while I worked.Our last night was on my birthday and they wanted to take me to dinner at any restaurant I chose....We stopped at Notre Dame, walked along the Seine, then into a little neighborhood with restaurants and shops. I saw a delightful little Old World style Italian restaurant and we had a delicious dinner. And it's become a family joke about how Dad picked an Italian restaurant in Paris over a French one. Last night my wife and I went to 39 Rue de Jean in Savannah and had the meal she'd expected to share in Paris. The menu was breathtaking. The calamari with Napa Cabbage and Creamy Cider Vinaigrette was the most tantalizing we've ever had. Our entrees - bone In pork chop with caramelized onion and bleu cheese, haricot verts, potato purée, and seared sea scallops on the house rigatoni pasta, roasted mushrooms, stewed tomatoes, arugula, parmesan cream and candied lemon - elevated the dining experience to a level of seduction we've rarely experienced anywhere in the world. The service was genuine and impeccable from the manager who seated us to the waitress and servers who congratulated us on our anniversary. My wife had checked "anniversary" when the reservation was made online, so easy even a caveperson could do it. It gave us a chance to explain it was the anniversary of our engagement 36 years previous. The ambience was functional, but friendly, well designed but not distracting. Surprisingly, the restaurant is on a major street corner and incorporated into the Embassy Suites, but that doesn't detract and the dining experience would overpower it is it did. The original 39 Rude de Jean (John Street) is located in Charleston. Additional locations frequently don't attain the distinction of the original. If that's true of the Savannah location, then the Charleston restaurant has to be 5-star plus. Bon appetite. Vous ne serez pas déçu.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
HolyCityHospitality, General Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2020

Nick, Wow thank you for such an amazing review! We are beyond thrilled you chose to spend your anniversary with us! We cant wait to see you again soon, Holy City Hospitality & Events by Good Food

Reviewed February 13, 2020

The restaurant is located in the Embassy Suites where we were staying. I had the Bouillabaisse and my wife had Salmon Our server was very good returning with water and bread as needed. The meal was served promptly and hot. My meal was good and...a nice sized portion. My wife was pleased with hers. We both felt that there were probably better choices however. If back in town I may try this place again.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 9, 2020

Great sauce on my pasta that came with seared scallops. Maybe best French onion soup ever! Waitress staff quite nice.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
HolyCityHospitality, General Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2020

Thank you for your review! The French Onion soup is a personal favorite as well. Hope to see you again soon, Holy City Hospitality & Events by Good Food

Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

I came to the restaurant for three nights in a raw and I was extremely satisfied with the service and the quality of the food. The rabbit and stake are great and the fried goat cheese salad with unique flavor. I will come back over...and over!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
HolyCityHospitality, General Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2020

Aisha, Wow thank you so much for such a great review especially returning three nights in a row! We are thankful for your experience and kind words. We hope to see you again soon, Holy City Hospitality & Events by Good Food

Reviewed December 28, 2019 via mobile

Generally disappointing. Mussels and escargot came out cold - and I do not mean “not hot” I am talking from the fridge cold. My husbands NY Strip, while flavorful was a poor cut and half the meet went to the trash. My duck confit was...okay, but not particularly special. Add to all it was my husbands 50th birthday (notes in the reservation) and not so much as a happy birthday. Food in Savannah has been awesome, skip this place.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
HolyCityHospitality, General Manager at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2020

Thank you for your review! We do apologize for your less then exceptional experience especially during a birthday celebration. We will relay these comments along to our staff and chef. We truly hope to see you again soon, Holy City Hospitality & Events by Good...More

Reviewed December 9, 2019

We had a fabulous meal with excellent service. The wine list was extensive and the waitress was knowledgeable about the wines and dishes. The mussels were great. i had the Sea Bass and my husband had the lamb shank. Both dishes were delicious and good...portion sizes.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
HolyCityHospitality, Marketing at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2019

Paige, so glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us. Thanks for rating your experience. We hope to host you again soon. Happy Holidays, Holy City Hospitality

Reviewed December 8, 2019 via mobile

Went to this restaurant to celebrate a friends birthday. Her husband made reservations even though I did not think was necessary other than the fact we were a party of six. Four of us arrive on time and were seated immediately without wait. And probably...here is where the positives end. Our waitress name was Cristy and after she introduced herself she basically disappeared. Two people on our party were still missing so I guess she did not want to take care of our table until those people arrived. I saw that other tables had bread on them so I asked our waitress if the bread was free or we had to pay for it (was free). She said she will bring some. But why did we have to ask for it instead of her bring it. We also had to ask for drinks because we were basically ignored. The food was nothing but ordinary. I ordered the Chicken Cordon-Bleu and I swear that when I cut the chicken it almost jump out of my plate because it was not well done. The flavor was simple and the complete food was just forgettable. Since it was our friends birthday, we mention this to the waitress. Later the manager came to our table and brought a mousse on a small glass. The waitress came from the kitchen with four spoons and she apologized because they were of different sizes. What kind of restaurant does not have enough spoons of the same size. She proceeded to place them directly on the table (that at this point was dirty). To close this review, it was probably the worst restaurant experience of my life. And I have been to really bad places, but this really got it all and it was overpriced.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
HolyCityHospitality, Marketing at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2019

We truly appreciate you sharing. We strive for better than this and will review this in our line ups and managers meeting this week. We apologize for your less than excellent experience with us. Happy Holidays, Holy City Hospitality

Reviewed November 26, 2019 via mobile

Eclectic food, but we are foodies, and this menu was not off-the-wall for us. Ordered the Mesculine salad to split (just superb), a crock of onion gratinee soup for each of us and a bowl of mussels with a curry sauce (OUTSTANDING) and over 2...dozen!! Our waitress in the bar area was Vanessa. So nice and personable. Would eat there again in a heartbeat!! Wonderful ambiance as well!More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
HolyCityHospitality, Marketing at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2019

Susan, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the cuisine! We hope to host you again soon. Happy Holidays, Holy City Hospitality

Reviewed November 18, 2019

This restaurant is connected to the hotel and had excellent food. The early bird dinner are great. They are only open for dinner but several local places exist for lunch.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
HolyCityHospitality, Marketing at 39 Rue de Jean, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2019

Jon, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us at Rue. We are so glad you enjoyed your cuisine. Hope to host you again in the future. Best, Whittney

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Embassy Suites by Hilton Savannah
2,313 reviews
.02 miles away
Aloft Savannah Downtown Historic District
10 reviews
.04 miles away
Hampton Inn & Suites Savannah Historic District
1,832 reviews
.06 miles away
The Thunderbird Inn
2,423 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Joe's At The Jepson
911 reviews
.27 miles away
Lulu's Chocolate Bar
1,131 reviews
.21 miles away
Le Cafe Gourmet
156 reviews
.23 miles away
Chocolat by Adam Turoni
153 reviews
.23 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Savannah Historic District
13,902 reviews
.17 miles away
Savannah College of Art and Design
115 reviews
.11 miles away
Savannah Visitors Center
733 reviews
.18 miles away
SCAD Museum of Art
330 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Jackie W
June 11, 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jackie W |
Already tried that and only got a voicemail saying to leave a message about a reservation. No return call.
0
Votes
csr944
March 24, 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from MRG1024 | Reviewed this property |
Not really. This is a tourist town.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing