We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 8/10
8:00 PM
About
Experience genuine Savannah flavor while dining in an 1820's King Cotton Warehouse watching the merchant ships float by. Enjoy local favorites such as crispy scored flounder, shrimp & grits, filet mignon and fresh lobster. Save room for our signature desserts including praline cheesecake, pecan pie and bananas foster.
PRICE RANGE
$15 - $35
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Cajun & Creole, American, Seafood
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
Reviews (1,730)
Filter reviews
1,699 results
Traveler rating
812
475
249
91
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
812
475
249
91
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews paella crab cakes grouper oscar parmesan grits shrimp bisque blue crab caesar salad bread pecan pie fresh seafood filet fries collard greens blue cheese spread artillery punch the river walk
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago

Although we didn't order them the Alaskan King Crab legs at the table next to us were HUGE and the couple said delicious. As for our food... Gumbo was great. Salads fresh and shrimp plump and tasty. French onion soup was average and the burger...More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
KatlynRSRG, Marketing at River House Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for the fantastic review! We have passed along your comments along to our Head Chef about the soup and burger. We are always looking for ways to improve . We appreciate your business and hope to see you guys again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I visited this place at the suggestion of a friend, and we were NOT disappointed!! I started off with an orange blossom martini, which was DELICIOUS. My friend ordered the fried green tomatoes. They were perfectly done with two delicious and interesting...More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
KatlynRSRG, Marketing at River House Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the fantastic review! Our Chef will love to hear how much you enjoyed her Shrimp & Grits. We appreciate your business and hope to see you guys again soon !

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

First and foremost the service was absolutely terrible! The host barely greeted us. The waiter was extremely rude and we felt rushed. He brought out our deserts (which had ice cream) when we were just served our entrees. He never checked on us. You could...More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
KatlynRSRG, Marketing at River House Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aerica, we are so sorry you left feeling this way! If you have a moment please reach out to us so that we can address your concerns . This is not the kind of experience we strive to provide . I have informed our Guest...More

Reviewed June 30, 2020 via mobile

This was one of the worst experiences at a resturant we have had in a long time. One would think a business would really want your business and be happy you are supporting during the pandemic. Our waiter acted like he didnot want to be...More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
KatlynRSRG, Marketing at River House Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Teresa, we are so very sorry that you had an unsatisfactory visit with us. That is not the kind of experience we strive to provide. We have passed this information along to our Guest Experience Coordinator, Katlyn Lamont , and she would like to connect...More

Reviewed June 20, 2020 via mobile

We came in for lunch. We checked the menu before coming in. They have a wide variety of local options and drinks. We each ordered a Salmon BLT. The waitress said it was a great choice, and we were not disappointed. We also ordered a...More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
KatlynRSRG, Marketing at River House Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2020

Thank you for the great review Melissa ! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed June 17, 2020

The waitress was nice! The appetizers were good (calamari and crab cakes)! The food, that was another story! My son-in-law ordered the 3-course meal. He had to wait forever for his two other courses. The rest of us seemed to wait forever also. My daughter...More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
KatlynRSRG, Marketing at River House Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2020

Marjorie, We're very sorry that you left feeling this way! If you have a moment, please reach out to us so we can address your concerns. This is not the kind of experience we strive to provide. I have informed our Guest Experience Coordinator, Katlyn...More

Reviewed June 15, 2020

River house seafood has everything a seafood lover would adore--fresh seafood dishes cooked to perfection, delicious cocktails such as the peach martini, gorgeous views and rustic southern atmosphere and hospitality.

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
KatlynRSRG, Marketing at River House Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2020

Thanks Jennifer! We appreciate the review and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed June 15, 2020 via mobile

We didn’t have a reservation, so we couldn’t have dinner, but we’re able to have a late lunch the next day. The food was really delicious and quite large portions! I had the Crab Stuffed Flounder and my husband had the Shrimp & Grits. Nice...More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
KatlynRSRG, Marketing at River House Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2020

Thank you for the awesome review Cynthia! We hope to see you guys again soon!

Reviewed June 15, 2020

My wife and I spent a long weekend on the Savannah River for a little getaway. Although it was difficult to choose a place for dining, we chose the River House because of its close proximity to our hotel. Needless to say we were not...More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
KatlynRSRG, Marketing at River House Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2020

Thank you for the fantastic review Jonathan! We appreciate your business and hope to see you and your wife again the next time you visit Savannah !

Reviewed June 14, 2020 via mobile

Had a great dinner! Tried to get in for dinner last night (Saturday night) but they were fully booked so got a reservation for tonight. Food was great & service was as well. We had the calamari and fried green tomatoes for apps (definitely recommend),...More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
KatlynRSRG, Marketing at River House Seafood, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2020

Thank you for the fantastic review Kelly! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Cotton Sail Hotel Savannah, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
1,447 reviews
.03 miles away
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
1,401 reviews
.04 miles away
Hotel Indigo Savannah Historic District
1,151 reviews
.08 miles away
Hyatt Regency Savannah
4,417 reviews
.09 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Your Pie
471 reviews
.11 miles away
22 Square Restaurant
357 reviews
.11 miles away
Churchill's
1,081 reviews
.10 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Moon River Brewing Company
335 reviews
.08 miles away
African-American Monument
23 reviews
.13 miles away
Tiffani Taylor Gallery
21 reviews
.08 miles away
Savannah City Hall
26 reviews
.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
caughpc
July 2, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Brotherdickdca1981 | Reviewed this property |
It's a question that's asked about any of the restaurants by the river in Savanna. We must have made some friends at the restaurant because they advised us that "next time" park in the lot in back of the restaurant and take... More
2
Votes
jlad3
October 17, 2016|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from Michelle B | Reviewed this property |
it is right on the side of the river but on the ground level so you can't see much of it but you are right on the street that runs along the river
2
Votes
Tom M
December 17, 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from ColeRSS | Property representative |
I apologize for the delay in this reply - casual to casual dress is the norm. We often have formal parties book with us as well and have separate areas for more formal dining.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing