We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Sat, 6/19
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Location and contact

Downtown
0.5 miles from Cathedral of St. John the Baptist
Improve this listing
About
Churchill’s is a lively British-inspired restaurant & bar centrally located in the heart of Savannah’s historic district. We offer a range of dining experiences over three stories: Enjoy our newly updated open-air rooftop terrace, historic wine cellar and iconic street-level main bar.
PRICE RANGE
$6 - $35
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
American, Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (1,132)
Filter reviews
1,119 results
Traveler rating
519
362
149
49
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
519
362
149
49
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips meatloaf yorkshire pudding bangers and mash scotch egg pretzels pimento cheese pie potatoes english pub small plates bay street rooftop bar beers draft
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday

On our walk in the historic district we came across Churchills. The menu looked interesting so we stopped. What a stroke of luck. The service and food were exceptional. The staff (especially our waiter "Shorty") were very friendly and actually thanked us just for stopping....The chef is exceptional. the cottage pie and steak and ale pie were very tasty. best of all was the "she crab" soup. they did not have the mixed drink I wanted but did not hesitate to make it for me anyway. it was the best restaurant we've been to in Savannah.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Read the reviews which were mixed. Since we ate there before we decided to give it a try. MISTAKE. Service was good. Food was terrible and over priced.. Gave it 4 stars previously.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed yesterday

Our first visit to Savannah and our hotel concierge at the Hampton Inn recommended Churchill’s for dinner. The hostess (red hair) was not very friendly and seated us at large corner booth as we did not want to sit in bar area. We sat at...our table several minutes and could hear a lengthy conversation a waitress was having with the table next to ours about her career choice and not sure if this is what she wants to do etc etc. Finally I leaned over and asked if she was our waitress and she said yes. She was a heavy set blond woman as I cannot remember her name. She brought us water and then order our drinks and food. The crab cakes came and we finished them and still no drinks. We inquired about drinks and waitress said only one bartender and back up due to roof top. All we had was glass of wine and a beer. The main meal took forever. We were not offered bread and when the meal came, I did not have a salad. I had the pot pie and waitress said she would get salad and it looked like it was thrown on the plate. Food was just ok and not worth the money. The hostess was wiping tables with same dirty dishcloth on every table and back of booth very dusty. It was so disappointing to have such a negative experience on our first night in Savannah.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We were out walking about searching for a place to enjoy some cocktails & a bite to eat when we saw the sign for their rooftop area and decided to try it. We had a blast! Great cocktails, good food and super staff despite the...server shortage affecting all of Savanna. Our server, “Shorty” was not only spot on, but a blast! We felt like we had dinner and a show as Shorty definitely knows how to keep a group engaged & in stitches! We would definitely return just to have some cocktails with Shorty!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Katlyn, Marketing at Churchill's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for the fantastic review! Shorty is a great member of our team and we will be sure that he gets the recognition he deserves!

Reviewed 1 week ago

The bar is a quaint English style pub. Shorty, the waiter, is superb (we were glad we got to meet him). However, we sat at the bar. Ordered Happy Hour well drinks only to find our bill was $3.00 well plus 50 cents per drink...for the soda. Now, I am not complaining about the nominal $3.00 extra (we had 6 drinks)— it’s the principle. A well drink is house liquor plus a mixer of your choice. So, I guess if you drink a lot you wouldn’t notice the up charge. The Happy Hour onion rings were amazing. However, an experience that could have earned a repeat customer ruined. With all the choices in Savannah we will not return.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Katlyn, Marketing at Churchill's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We have passed this information along to our Director of Operations to take a further look into the happy hour prices! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We hope that this will not detour you from choosing our...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Just swung by with some friends for a couple drinks. It was OK. Bartender was OK, drinks were OK. Not much else to say.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Katlyn, Marketing at Churchill's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We would love to know more details about your visit and how we can improve moving forward. If you have a moment, please reach out to our Guest Experience Coordinator, Katlyn Lamont, at klamont@eatontheriver.com with additional information.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We went to Churchill's pub for an afternoon drink because our hotel room wasn't ready and had a couple of drinks at the bar. Bar service is excellent with a wide selection of spirits & cocktails. We went back for dinner and sat on the...rooftop bar for diner. A great place for people watching. The food was exceptional, meatloaf & fish & chips. We have been going to Churchill's on our visits for years and it has never disappointed or not lived up to expectations. However, this visit was made exceptional because of our server, Jennie. So if you want a truly great experience of food and SERVICE, go to Churchill's and hope you can get Jennie as your server and I do not say this to take anything away from the abilities of other servers there because we have never had bad service but Jennie adds entertainment to the experience.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Katlyn, Marketing at Churchill's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the fantastic review David! Jennie will be happy to hear that she was mentioned for excellent service. We greatly appreciate your business and hope to see you guys again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hubby and I wanted to visit a new place in Savannah. We ducked into Churchills, and went to the rooftop bar. Not what we were expecting. It was HOT, an evening visit would have been better. The bartender was personable. We had a drink,.the bloody...mary is made with Habenaro Vodka, too spicy for hubby (we didn't realize the vodka was spicy...our fault), we WILL go again and sit at the inside bar, or the basement (if its open). Great atmosphere.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Katlyn, Marketing at Churchill's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review! We appreciate your business and hope to see you guys again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

When I reflect on my recent visit with the family, the words that come to mind is historic building, decent food, decent service and pricey. Located on Bay street in downtown Savanah, you have to find a parking garage and pay to park before dining....The building is an old historic building with tremendous architecture throughout. The wait staff was nice but certainly not the best service from an establishment of this nature. The roast beef was very tasty while the Yorkshire pudding was very bland and left a lot to be desired. The Fried Chicken breast, Mac n Cheese and French Fries were all very tasty. The ambiance was nice for an early evening meal. I highly suggest you make reservations before going to the restaurant. The average plate with drink will run $25 to $30 per person plus tip and the cost to park in a nearby garage. There are many other places I will plan to visit before returning to this location.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Katlyn, Marketing at Churchill's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review and feedback

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When we arrived at Churchill's we were promptly seated. Our waitress was immediately taking our drink orders. It took over 45 minutes for our food to arrive and when it did it was inedible. While we were waiting we overheard the waitress explain to a...family that the kitchen was "temporarily closed". Another family left their meal and the father told our waitress that it was the "worst effing meal he ever had". The only shining star was a gentleman called "Shorty". Always attentive and anticipating our wants and needs. Will NEVER return.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hyatt Regency Savannah
4,709 reviews
.05 miles away
The Bohemian Hotel Savannah Riverfront, Autograph Collection
1,515 reviews
.06 miles away
Andaz Savannah
4,139 reviews
.09 miles away
The Drayton Hotel
140 reviews
.10 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
River Street Sweets
172 reviews
.09 miles away
Market Street Sweets
628 reviews
.09 miles away
Little Duck Diner
506 reviews
.09 miles away
Vic's On the River
5,836 reviews
.09 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Moon River Brewing Company
340 reviews
.02 miles away
African-American Monument
23 reviews
.08 miles away
Tiffani Taylor Gallery
21 reviews
.04 miles away
Savannah City Hall
27 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Marilyn A
December 30, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from GregF910 | Reviewed this property |
Yes.
1
Vote
Eileenny
February 24, 2015|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from glenn i | Reviewed this property |
the salad is a side item
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Churchill's

Yes, Churchill's offers takeout services.

Yes, Churchill's offers delivery services.

Churchill's is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5