We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Joe's Homemade Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
5515 Waters Ave, 70th Street, Savannah, GA 31404-6243
+1 912-349-0251
Website
Today
10:30 am - 5:30 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:30 am - 5:30 pm
Sat 11:00 am - 4:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

560 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 553: English reviews
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

As a native Savannahian, I'm embarrassed to confess this was my first visit to this local lunch spot with the stellar reputation. We were impressed and then some. From our initial warm and personal greeting, it was obvious the owners and workers have a love for their business and the quality of food and service they provide. The place may... More 

Helpful?
Thank lakelark
Joe5515, Public Relations Manager at Joe's Homemade Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for those great comments! It is always a treat when our locals discover us. Once they do, they tend to become repeat guests! We do pride ourselves in presenting exceptional food and service. We realize we are a small location, however, it is that size that allows us to focus on the needs of each and every guest.... More 

Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

fast with simple food fixed well. variety was good and staff treated everyone well. best is the drinks homeh=made

Helpful?
Thank jim e
Joe5515, Public Relations Manager at Joe's Homemade Cafe, responded to this review

Hey Jim: Thanks for the review! We make an effort to treat each and every guest with the utmost courtesy and consideration. As to the drinks, well there are made in house and always fresh and refreshing! Thanks, Don Holland Marketing and Community Relations Joe's Homemade Cafe, Catering and Bakery More 

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The food was outstanding and the service impeccable! Definitely don't leave without trying a desert. The lemon cheesecake is so good.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Joe5515, Public Relations Manager at Joe's Homemade Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you! We appreciate your kind words on our service and food. We look at each guests as a unique opportunity to provide individualized service. Chef Ted's Lemon Cheese Cake is his first award winning dessert! Often, people order it before their entrees! Regards, Don Holland Marketing and Community Relations More 

Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were traveling with another couple and wanted an easy, low key, healthy spot for lunch. Joe's didn't disappoint. There is free parking available right in front. We were greeted immediately with a big smile. My chicken salad was fabulous - full of flavorful chicken and very low on mayonnaise. Others said they enjoyed their dishes too. The highlight was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank ScubaLynch
Joe5515, Public Relations Manager at Joe's Homemade Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our Cafe!! We are always pleased to hear when our guests have such a good experience. The reason you were greeted so warmly was because we are grateful for our guests. We always try to create a unique experience for each person. We also, keep in mind that you could have gone elsewhere,... More 

Fayetteville, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I wish we lived closer because after eating the hugh sandwich, that I just couldn't stop eating. I didn't have room for dessert!! The bakery items just made your mouth water. Also the serving is large enough to share. Highly recommend!!

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth V
Joe5515, Public Relations Manager at Joe's Homemade Cafe, responded to this review

So glad you enjoyed your experience at Joe's Homemade Cafe, Catering and Bakery! Our panini feature homemade pesto and pimento cheese. Also, the Boar's Head meats and cheeses and Freshly Baked Breads help make the perfect sandwich. Next time, save room for one of our desserts! If you think your panini was great then you would flip out over dessert!... More 

Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was having a miserable day so I said to my husband let's go to Savannah for lunch and it certainly was no mistake! This is our first time at Joe's homemade Cafe but it certainly will not be our last. It's a tiny place with four tables inside and two outside, but it was cozy and sort of intimate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan L
Joe5515, Public Relations Manager at Joe's Homemade Cafe, responded to this review

Wow!! Thanks for that wonderful review! So glad we could change your "miserable" day with our offerings and service. It is not uncommon for people to visit up to get a feel good fix. The Ellis (our pulled pork) is one of my favorites. Normally, we don't serve the slaw when we do a combination, BUT thanks to your comments,... More 

Benton, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Joe's Homemade Cafe is located in a very small strip mall with only a few shops. Limited parking, but there is available parking streetside as well. We arrived and within seconds were treated so well. Seating is limited, only four tables but since it was beyond normal lunch hours, we were able to get a seat. The menu was quite... More 

Helpful?
Thank carolgutt
Joe5515, Public Relations Manager at Joe's Homemade Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks! It was a pleasure having you in the cafe. As you mentioned, we are a small cafe, but we are BIG on service and food quality. You are also correct in the fact it is hard to decide on an entree. But, as I tell my guests, you simply will not make a bad decision. Regards, Don Holland Marketing... More 

Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You won't be sorry you had lunch here! The service is great and so is the food. I recomend the Sillygoose sandwich.

Helpful?
Thank Annie S
Joe5515, Public Relations Manager at Joe's Homemade Cafe, responded to this review

Thanks for the recommendation! That Silly Goose Panini features our homemade pimento cheese, Boar's Head Bacon and Turkey. I tell people it is "crazy wonderful" (they tend to agree!) Overseeing the service aspect of our cafe, i personally thank you for those nice words. Regards, Don Holland Marketing and Community Relations More 

Chicago Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A small lunch menu in a small setting. The food tastes so fresh, and the founder is an amazing pastry chef, too. You are warmly welcomed and the chef/staff will spend time chatting, telling you about their backgrounds, etc.

Helpful?
Thank Susan T
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Joe's is a tiny little spot with excellent food. There is no atmosphere, just smiling servers and excellent food. Don't forget to try the yummy desserts.

Helpful?
Thank Harriet S
Joe5515, Public Relations Manager at Joe's Homemade Cafe, responded to this review

Hey There! Thanks for joining us for lunch. The smiles come naturally because we truly enjoy our work and our guests. The desserts really are difficult to resist! Regards, Don Holland Marketing and Community Relations More 

Travelers who viewed Joe's Homemade Cafe also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Joe's Homemade Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$6 - $9
Cuisine
American, Cafe, Soups, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Open Hours
Monday
10:30 am - 5:30 pm
Tuesday
10:30 am - 5:30 pm
Wednesday
10:30 am - 5:30 pm
Thursday
10:30 am - 5:30 pm
Friday
10:30 am - 5:30 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 4:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 5515 Waters Ave, 70th Street, Savannah, GA 31404-6243
  • Location: United States  >  Georgia (GA)  >  Georgia Coast  >  Savannah
  • Phone Number: +1 912-349-0251
Description
Come into Joe's Homemade Cafe & Bakery and treat yourself to a gourmet lunch or breakfast! Choose from a gourmet selection of sandwiches with the finest quality meats to our fresh from scratch baked goods. Ask about our catering services and specialty cakes for your next event or celebration! So, do yourself a favor - eat in, carry out or place your delivery order And give your taste buds a treat! We offer a 10% discount (excluding specialty cakes & catering) to all uniformed personnel, college student & faculty and - of course - to all of our Joe's Homemade Facebook friends. And now, every first Sunday of the month we will be offering Joe's Brunch with an exclusive menu of homemade, gourmet brunch foods!
"It's that good, we promise!"

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Joe's Homemade Cafe and other visitors
10 questions
Ask a question
Detroit
11 months ago
1 month ago
Charlotte
over a year ago
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Merritt Island, Florida

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Joe's Homemade Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?