We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$8 - $30
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Seafood, American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
133
91
32
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
133
91
32
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prime rib steak salad bread baked potato salmon deviled eggs shrimp cocktail soups fries nice restaurant call ahead restaurant week seated right away dining experience friday night server
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed August 18, 2022 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a nice meal in the outside patio. The setting was beautiful and our server(Chuck) was very attentive. The cocktails were also delicious.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Hinds, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2022

Thank you so much for the review. We look forward to your next visit!

Reviewed August 11, 2022

Everything about our dining experience on 8-11-2022 was wonderful. We ordered Collosel Onion Rings, the House salad, 16 ounces of Prime Rib medium rare, and loaded baked potatoes. Everything was served at the proper temperature and everything was the standard by which other restaurants should...be measured. Our server, Chuck, had perfect timing in serving and checking on us while we ate. (I wanted to take a photo when the main course was delivered But I remembered to take it after I was half done eating it. Too yummy!)More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Hinds, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2022

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your steak. Thanks for the review, and thank you for dining with us!

Reviewed July 31, 2022 via mobile

We had reservations for a party of 3. The hostess seated us and we waited for 15 minutes without so much as a greeting from any of the staff. Meanwhile, the waitress for several other tables continued serving. Then they seated someone in the table...next to us and another waitress came and promptly took their order. No one had acknowledged us. We got up to leave and the hostess stated, “oh we knew there was no one assigned to your table. We were trying to work on getting someone there.” How about you seat us where there are servers or don’t sit someone next to us when we still haven’t had our orders taken. There are plenty of other steakhouses in the area. We took our business across the street and had a wonderful meal. You will not be seeing us in this establishment anymore. Unacceptable.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Hinds, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2022

Thank you for this feedback. One of our foundational beliefs is excellent customer service. If we did not provide this our management and owners want to know about it. Please send your comments directly to us so we can learn more about what we could...More

Reviewed July 21, 2022

Staying next door at Holiday Inn, free delivery to your door. Shrimp cocktail was supreme, big fat perfectly cooked shrimp. Nice basic salad and an incredible prime rib sandwich. Well worth it. Any questions please message me, live in Chicago.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Hinds, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2022

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your prime rib sandwich and look forward to serving you again the next time you visit our Dayton location!

Reviewed July 17, 2022 via mobile

Food was delicious, service was great! Traveling for work, this was a great decision to stop here! Prime Rib was great! Would love to have the chicken tortilla soup recipe!

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Hinds, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2022

Thank you for your recommendation. We appreciate the feedback!

Reviewed April 1, 2022

We wanted to try something new and different, so as a family we decided on THE CHOP HOUSE here in dayton ohio. We should have known by our quick seating (no wait) time on a Friday night that this would probably be a bad experience...but from the decor and food price looked like this would be a wonderful dinner experience. Well we were wrong. First we ordered appetizers. I ordered the calamari and shrimp while my girlfriend ordered mozzarella wedges. They both looked delicious however my calamari and shrimp came out with melted cheese,, I'm allergic to dairy and there's no mention of melted cheese on the menu. So as I sit and watch my girlfriend enjoy her appetizer I patiently wait for our waitress (Emma) to show her face again,,,,, after 10 mins I take my appetizer the majority of the way into the kitchen and eventually stop another waitress and tell her of my issue. Meanwhile my salad comes out to our table and a few moments later here comes the calamari. As I thought I was going to enjoy my appetizer I noticed the plate has less than the previous plate and as I dig deeper into my appetizer I notice there's cheese on some of the pieces. Mind you after I returned it to the kitchen the cook came to the table to make sure that only the melted cheese was the only issue. Looked to me as they just removed any calamari and shrimp that was covered in cheese. Remember the name of the appetizer I ordered it's called calamari and shrimp. Once again I was let down by my ONE piece of shrimp amongst my half serving of calamari. Secondly, when my girlfriend ordered her meal, she ordered chilli as a side. Oh I forgot to mention the free bread and butter that is complimentary for dinner guest, more about the bread later. Well in poor service fashion after we remind our server (Emma) about the bread she told us she was bringing out 20 minutes ago when we placed our order shows up,, along with her chilli and our main entrees. Now onto the food. My girlfriend ordered the sirloin medium and I the ribeye medium as well. My steak was very disappointing for $28. It was overcooked and thin as those bulk box steaks that are sold in empty parking lots my girlfriends sirloin was twice as thick but cook just as she ordered. By forewarned the service was horrible we saw our waitress (Emma) a total of 3 times during our experience, the manager a total of 6 as he visited other tables I'm sure those conversations were about the horrible service. We had a better experience at Outback for less. Hope this helps any and everyone considering The Chop House as great place for dinner and a night out. TRUST ME and just drive by.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Hinds, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2022

We appreciate the constructive feedback and will use it to better serve our future guests.

Reviewed January 29, 2022

Ok so here's the deal. I'm from FL and a true foodie as my career is running a catering company. me and my family, decided to eat here because I wanted to know how the steak houses out here in Tenn. Break it down. I...searched so many different restaurants and "The chop house" was highly rated. I called before arriving to ask about the time the kitchen closed and if they had a kids menu. We arrived with ample time and put in our orders. Everything was good, until we received our food. I saw all the amazing add ONS for the steaks, so best believe I went into town ordering. I had a 10 oz. Sirloin medium well with sauteed onions, brandy mushrooms, a skewer of shrimp and blue cheese butter. Once I received my order I was disappointed, immediately I noticed that my steak was over cooked, the "skewer of shrimp" was on a bed of pasta which was random as f$*k because why wouldn't you share with the guest that the skewer of shrimp would be on a bed of pasta 🤷, the brandied mushrooms tasted as if they we sauteed and drenched with alcohol without cooking it down (so it was bitter) which I left on the table to the side hoping my server would inquire as to why it wasn't touched, but of course no follow-up was made. My sauteed onions were burnt, my shrimp and steak were beyond over cooked but at least the baked potato was on point and thank God for the 9 oz. Glass of Riesling that helped me wash this horrible experience down. I'm all the way good at returning.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Hinds, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2022

We are so sorry to have let you down.

Reviewed January 28, 2022

We went to The Chop House to try it out and to also take advantage of the Dayton Restaurant Week specials. We were very pleased with the entire experience. The service was great and the food was perfect, Bread was served warm and with softened...butter which was a plus. Manager was visible and stopping by the tables also a plus. .We will definitely be returning, so happy we found them.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Hinds, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2022

Thank you!

Reviewed January 27, 2022

We stopped for the Restaurant Week Entrees Prime Rib and Salmon for $20.22. She had the Prime Rib with a loaded baked potato and a chopped salad was an extra $1. The Prime Rib was done to order, tender and did not have much fat....I had the Salmon with flavored rice and broccoli with a house salad. The Salmon portion was good sized and delicious. The rice was very flavorful, and the broccoli had been dipped in butter, yum! We each had a slice of cheesecake for dessert. Great meals for the price. Aubre was very attentive.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Hinds, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2022

Thank you for the kind feedback.

Reviewed January 24, 2022

I happen to eat mostly vegetarian, but always order their Chicken Tortilla Soup, regardless of time of year. They have a great lunch deal of either sandwiches, soups, salads, or sides, which is what I take advantage of. When I was a meat eater, their...food was fabulous then too. Their bread and butter is like no other I've had at other places, and they always provide some even when I pick an order up.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Hinds, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2022

Thank you for dining with us. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your meal at The Chop House.

Reviewed December 11, 2021

58 Dollars for prime steak that was 75% fat and the owner-manager said it was a prime cut . He is in the wrong business because he doesn’t know what a quality steak looks like. We have dining there since they opened but now I...won’t go back.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Hinds, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2022

We are sorry you were not satisfied with the cut of beef and hope you'll give us another chance to earn your 5-star review.

Reviewed November 4, 2021

Ordered the prime rib sandwich to go. This was an excellent sandwich. The meat was cooked to perfection and the horse radish sauce took it over the top. Had the deviled eggs for a side and a cold beer and my crummy day melted away.

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Hinds, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2021

Thank you! We are appreciative of your decision to dine with us and hope to serve you again.

Reviewed November 4, 2021

Wondering around the area looking at housing and decided to try for Lunch. I had reviewed menu online and looked very good. Greeted and seated right away and Host was very nice. My wife ordered salad, sirloin and fries. Me the Salad, prime rib and...onion rings. The food was great, but my wife thought steak too char broiled, but that is personal preference. The reason for 3 stars was food delivery. My wife’s salad came out and then 10-12 minutes later my salad. My dinner came as I was two bites into salad, but my wife’s steak arrived 5-10 minutes after my food. Not sure what happened to sequencing. Waitress was super pleasant, but appeared overworked as most are. I would give it another try as I assume the food delivery issue was a one time thing.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Hinds, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2021

Thank you for dining at The Chop House. We will use this feedback to enhance the dining experience for future guests. Please let us know if there is ever anything that does not exceed your expectations so we can make it right.

Reviewed May 22, 2021 via mobile

Went here to catch up with friends. Have not been to many restaurants in the last year and when they said "where to" my husband and I answered in unison Chop House! Have missed their onion rings so much. Best ever. We were there at...630 and when we ordered we found out that they were out of onion rings. Oh no! We have been coming here for 20 years and only once did that happen. I understand that they must marinate in buttermilk for 24 hours. But needless to say we were all SO disappointed. But beyond that our food was delicious and the service was very good. I will be back but maybe I'll call ahead and check on inventory.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Hinds, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2021

We will be sure to have onion rings for you the next time you visit. Thank you so much for the review.

Reviewed March 2, 2021 via mobile

I was in the mood for crabcakes ... jay Alexander's crabcakes are amazing but we called and not currently on the menu. So came here and would never reorder the crabcakes.. they aren't lumps of crab and there were shell and other mysterious grossness in...them. Disappointing. Creamed spinach and complimentary bread only good part of meal. Tried the corn creme brulee.. took a bite .. not great. Since the spinach was the only good part had room to share icecream cookie dessert. My husband's steak was tiny but he was ok with it. He tried my crabcakes and didnt care for them either.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Elizabeth Hinds, Guest Relations Manager at The Chop House, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2021

We appreciate the honest feedback and hope you'll give us another try to deliver on our promise of a 5-star dining experience. If there's ever anything we can do to ensure your complete satisfaction, please let a team member know.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dayton South - I-675, an IHG hotel
380 reviews
.05 miles away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Dayton South
157 reviews
.35 miles away
Best Western Plus Dayton South
416 reviews
.41 miles away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Dayton South, OH
490 reviews
.54 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
El Rancho Grande
41 reviews
.50 miles away
Chappys Social House
101 reviews
.10 miles away
Five Guys
25 reviews
.40 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Wright Party Bus & Limousine
25 reviews
.90 miles away
Breakout Games - Dayton
628 reviews
.38 miles away
Leap Frogs Party & Play Center
6 reviews
.94 miles away
Antiques Village
48 reviews
.22 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
jimha1962
May 17, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from fosterm2021 | Reviewed this property |
When I was there, there was all manner of attire from jeans to suit jackets. I would recommend business casual to feel comfortable if you are dining in the evening.
1
Vote
Cheryl H
May 2, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from need2trvl | Reviewed this property |
They Will most likely fit you in, and you will still wait around for your table. Try open table for restaurants nnn in the area.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE CHOP HOUSE, Dayton - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Chop House

Yes, The Chop House offers takeout services.

The Chop House is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4