We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Benihana

$$
Neighborhood:
Midtown
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Get directions
47 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019-3902 (Between 5th and 6th Ave)
(212) 581-0930
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Thu 5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Mon - Fri 11:30 am - 3:30 pm
Fri 5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Sat 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

470 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 241: English reviews
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I went with three other coworkers for a midday lunch. The place was pretty empty when we got there. I got the steak and lobster tail and a margarita. The margarita was actually fantastic and had quite the kick to it. The whole experience was pretty hilarious and was a lot of fun. I thought the lobster tasted excellent but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Seferina B
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Benihana was chosen by a New Yorker friend of mine who uses it regularly with his family. A group of us met and we had a fun night and great food. There is a bar to meet up first as well as the restaurant. The Teppanyaki show was entertaining. We shared a big table with a few others so if... More 

Helpful?
Thank Moyra E
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fun time had by entire family! Steak and shrimp is all we ordered and it was delicious. It was our best meal in New York, we were surprised!

Helpful?
Thank Shelean F
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice atmosphere very clean establishment. waitress and chef where great. This establishment A/C worked well only problem food was instantly getting cold. The Hostess customer service was not acceptable at all she needs not be a hostesses. But over all great place

Helpful?
Thank Iam12travel
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food was bland and terrible. The biggest flavor of the meal was "burnt". Yeah, I'm not kidding. The waiter was non-existent for most of the time. The cook was distracted by everything else that was going on. When we were sent upstairs to be seated, the hostess asked us to wait while other patrons not in our party arrived,... More 

Helpful?
Thank krisgils33
BrandCommunication, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this review

On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your negative visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience, and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. More 

Bradenton, Florida
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The only reason I'm giving one star is because the food was edible. We had a reservation for 8:30. We were seated at a table promptly but then had to wait ALMOST 45 minutes for someone to come greet us and get our DRINK order. Apparently they had to travel to the other side of the city to get our... More 

Helpful?
Thank jbgiella
New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

This location is on the second floor, where there are too many tables in TOO SMALL a space. It made for a very sweaty dining experience! I would not go back here, even though I LOVE Benihana. It was like eating in a sauna. The food tastes the same as any other Benihana, but the dining experience left too much... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TeriLovesNJ
BrandCommunication, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this review

On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your negative visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience, and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. More 

Naarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

We weren't sure what to expect, we were placed in a sort of private room with another party of 4 girls (we were a family of 4) but it turned out this was one of those Japanese place where you sit at the hot plate and they prepare the food right in front of you. we were impressed with the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lou2204
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

I have been a loyal customer of Benihana for over two decades, enjoying, food, service, ambiance and quality all over the country: California, Florida, Nevada, New York, Pensilvania, Connecticut, always coming back for more. That is till I stopped traveling and turn to location closest to me on 47 West 56 Street in NYC. What a drastic difference. It is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank elfein
BrandCommunication, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this review

we apologize for this disappointing experience. If you have not done so already, please complete our contact form: http://www.benihana.com/contact/. Be sure to select Guest Relations as your category. Our team would love to follow up with you. You're welcome to copy/paste your review in the comments to save time. Your feedback helps us to make improvements. Thank you for taking... More 

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
469 reviews
396 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

Great place for family or groups. Food is decent performance is better. Flipping and flopping 1st row seating

Helpful?
Thank LAFAMILLEG11231

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$15 - $30
Cuisine
Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Private Dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Large groups, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:30 am - 3:30 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:30 am - 3:30 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:30 am - 3:30 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:30 am - 3:30 pm
5:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:30 am - 3:30 pm
5:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 47 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019-3902
    (Between 5th and 6th Ave)
  • Public Transportation: F Train ( 57 street stop)
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  New York City>  > Midtown
  • Neighborhood: Midtown
  • Phone Number: (212) 581-0930

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Benihana and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Benihana staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?

Staying in Midtown

Neighborhood Profile
Midtown
This is the iconic New York that so many visitors imagine before they visit - spectacular skyscrapers like the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building, iconic public buildings like Grand Central Terminal and the New York Public Library, and the non-stop hustle and bustle of the city streets. Fifth Avenue is a shopper's paradise where you can find every kind of store imaginable, with fashion brands ranging from the affordable to the ultra-fancy. Visit Rockefeller Center to experience towering Art Deco grandeur, and foodies will love the busy restaurants that stay open late in Koreatown. After dark, Midtown calms down a bit, but at any time of day or night it still feels 100% New York.
Explore this neighborhood