We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Benihana

47 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019-3902
+1 212-581-0930
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighborhoods
Neighborhoods
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good38%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible12%
Travelers talk about
“fried rice” (19 reviews)
“prawns” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
47 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019-3902
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Pricey but worth the experience... our host/cook/waiter, Devin has stand-up comedy potential... besides cooking up a good meal, Devin was engaging and entertaining... we were there as a family and all 5 of us enjoyed the experience... very rare to be able to say that...More

Thank DeeMan44
Reviewed 2 days ago

The chef was the best part about the experience. He was friendly, entertaining and did his best to get some fun going at our very overcrowded table. His tricks were skilful and entertaining to watch but the food itself was just average. Nothing specific to...More

Thank NEgan77
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We met at the restaurant. There were two floors of eating areas. Chef made a volcano from onions. It was great! We had shrimp, chicken, steak salad, soup n edamame. Was delicious! Service was excellent!

Thank rebecca c
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Rebecca, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great experience.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I would normally avoid this place (haven't even been to my local one yet) but knew my companions would enjoy it so went. The actual performance cooking was disappointing and our cook seemed to be phoning it in compared to surrounding tables. He didn't make...More

Thank Trupe R
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Trupe, thank you for sharing your review. We understand your disappointment as this shouldn’t have happened. Your feedback helps us to make improvements and we’re hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to serve you again. Arigato. If you would like to get...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Most of the cooks that prepare the food in front of you are not Japanese and the quality and flavor are mediocre. Used to be one of the best unexpensive well prepared Japanese restaurants and in the last few years is the opposite. The manager...More

Thank Jose A. D
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Jose, we understand your disappointment as this shouldn't have happened. From behalf of our team here at Benihana, we sincerely apologize for the negative experience. Please take a moment to reach out to our Guest Relations team directly via benihanalistens.smg.com/ so that we can make...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After visiting the Benihana in London, we were excited about trying out one of the NY restaurants, but unfortunately we were not very impressed. When we got to the restaurant, we saw a lot of children all over (it was a Saturday at 7.30 PM)....More

Thank Annedigre
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Anne, on behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to sincerely apologize for your negative visit with us. With your feedback, we look forward to improving the guest experience, and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It has been a long time since we have been to a Benihana. We tried to get a different reservation some place "hot" but to no avail. So we thought, why not Benihana? The food was fine, even borderline very good. We just were amazed...More

Thank drehery
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dre, Your feedback is appreciated. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team.

Reviewed April 19, 2018 via mobile

We had a family dinner here and it was fun! Food was good and service was decent. They did all the habachi tricks. It was a good time.

Thank WilsonLin
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

WIlson, Your feedback is appreciated. We will be sure to share your kind words with the team.

Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

Had an OK dinner here. Steaks were ok. Sushi was good. Crab mix is funky, they add mayo to it. Chef was entertaining.

Thank sushiguy79
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

On behalf of our team here at Benihana, we would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We will be sure to share it with our Guest Relations Team.

Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

We had a reservation for 10. Arrived there at 9. While we waited we saw that other consumers were being sitted while we waited. At 10h30 we talked to the staff who was rude and didn’t care. Then we left, The nice part was that...More

1  Thank Florbela M
Benihana M, Guest Relations Manager at Benihana, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Florbela, we certainly want to make this right for you. Please contact our Guest Relations team via benihanalistens.smg.com/

Nearby
Midtown
This is the iconic New York that so many visitors
imagine before they visit - spectacular skyscrapers
like the Chrysler Building and Empire State Building,
iconic public buildings like Grand Central Terminal
and the New York Public Library, and the non-stop
hustle and bustle of the city streets. Fifth Avenue is
a shopper's paradise where you can find every kind of
store imaginable, with fashion brands ranging from the
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 480 hotels in New York City
The Whitby Hotel
77 reviews
.04 miles away
Shoreham
1,975 reviews
.07 miles away
the Quin
3,183 reviews
.08 miles away
Chambers Hotel
679 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Beyond Sushi
122 reviews
.02 miles away
Bengal Tiger Indian Food
374 reviews
.01 miles away
Five Guys
1,664 reviews
.05 miles away
Uncle Jack's Steakhouse - Midtown
1,146 reviews
.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Love Sculpture
601 reviews
.08 miles away
Central Park Discovery
276 reviews
.09 miles away
Central Park Sightseeing
3,493 reviews
.01 miles away
Central Park Tours & Bike Rentals
186 reviews
.07 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
erica99123
March 31, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Jeff4707 | Reviewed this property |
I went with my wife and 2 children (8,4 yrs old). I had 3 sapporro's and my wife had 2 drinks also. With that, our total bill was $180 with tip. They do take reservations, but they don't care how long you wait. We waited... More
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$15 - $30
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Dining Style
Casual Dining
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
5:00 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 3:30 PM
5:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 47 W 56th St, New York City, NY 10019-3902
    (Between 5th and 6th Ave)
  • Public Transportation: F Train ( 57 street stop)
  • Location: United States  >  New York (NY)  >  New York City>  > Midtown
  • Neighborhood: Midtown
  • Phone Number: +1 212-581-0930
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;