We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Moby Dick's

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
3225 State Hwy Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7054
+1 508-349-9795
Website
Today
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,033 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,004: English reviews
Moon Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Chatting with a couple on the beach, they told us this was their go-to place to eat, so we stopped for lunch on our way to P-town. What a cool place! Looks like a sea shanty, very casual, but with food that rivals the best seafood places. The owner stopped by to check on our meals and gave us a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynn O
Eastford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We've been going to Moby Dick's for 12 years now, on our annual trek to the "Outer" Cape. Moby's serves absolutely the BEST fish anywhere! Always moist, fresh and served just right. The prices are very reasonable, the atmosphere casual, the staff always attentive and making you feel like family. When we come out for a week, we usually eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank blindemann06
Connecticut
Level Contributor
215 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a busy restaurant but the service is very efficient. We called ahead for takeout and it only took 10 minutes. A large coach bus arrived as we did and they handled the crowd along with a full parking lot of customers. The whole clam bellies were excellent. This is a very good fry shack for fresh fish. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank fishingchic
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

It's been a few years since we have been to Moby Dick's. We had noticed a few other places on The Cape haven't had the best quality over the last few years so we decided to give them a shot again since the first time we went we had good luck. Still good food & a very friendly staff. This... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meighan W
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The fried shrimp were really good not too much batter Did not like the texture of the lobster roll The clam chowder was fine Semi self serve

Helpful?
Thank Susandeer
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just happened on Moby Dick's one summer while visiting the cape. Fun casual dining with some great sea food. I know you can't judge all sea food restaurants by their serf and turf but I do anyway. Great Place..........Next time I am in the area I, definitively, will stop in

Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaChrome
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We are so happy we stopped here today after traveling back from Provincetown! You might not tell from the outside, but what a quaint place it is. Order food at the counter and then you are seated. Waiters will bring order to you. Who doesn't like a place where you can BYOB?! We started with the onion which was delicious,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beth C
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I ordered the lobster bisque and fish & chips, which was good...but not great. I would've liked to have crispier fish, and the fries weren't great but the coleslaw was good. My husband got the crab cakes, which were good...but also not great. The worse part was the fact that we paid just over $50 for 2 people for lunch.... More 

Helpful?
Thank deliak217
Reading, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Perfectly cooked cod tacos and cod fish sandwich. Fresh and plentiful. Pleasant nautical atmosphere .

Helpful?
Thank langtchr
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review

Langtchr, Thank you! More 

Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have NO IDEA why this place has high ratings, unless it's all locals. This was recommended to us by another couple and we were disappointed to say the least. The worst meal we had on our trip. I got the broiled scallops, which came with an ear of corn and a baked potato. There were a lot of scallops,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cabrill
I979DXtoddb, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this review

Cabrill, It seems to me that we were not what you were looking for. Perhaps the next time you are in Wellfleet you should try our other restaurant - Winslow's Tavern. Winslow's is a full service restaurant, with a full liquor license, and a wonderful patio out front. Give it a try. I am sure you will not be disappointed.... More 

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick's also viewed

 

Been to Moby Dick's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$20
Cuisine
American, Seafood, Soups
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3225 State Hwy Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7054
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Cape Cod  >  Wellfleet
  • Phone Number: +1 508-349-9795
Description
Closed for the winter. See you May 2016

It’s vacation time on Cape Cod! You and your family want to have lots of fun and eat some fresh seafood. Family owned and operated since 1983, Moby Dick’s is THE Cape Cod seafood restaurant for friends and families to meet, eat and just have a good time. Taking the New England clam shack to a new level, we will offer you and your family a great experience. We may not be full service, but we deliver great service. The freshest seafood, the best lobsters, Wellfleet littlenecks, Wellfleet oysters, Chatham Cod, fried clams and clam chowder are just a few of the local items we serve up daily. We aim to be the best. Kid-friendly is our middle name. We have a large Kid’s menu not to mention some fun coloring sheets as well. We welcome guests needing a gluten-free menu. We love large groups, small groups, any group. We would be delighted to host your special Cape Cod event. We are a BYOB establishment so grab your favorite beer or wine and head right over. We look forward to meeting you! Open at 11:30 am everyday for lunch and dinner from the first Friday in May to Columbus Day.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Moby Dick's and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Marlborough, Massachusetts
The Netherlands
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Moby Dick's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?