We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Moby Dick's

3225 State Hwy Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7054
+1 508-349-9795
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good25%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“lobster” (239 reviews)
“steamers” (93 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
3225 State Hwy Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7054
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,219 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

First visit and had a great experience. Service was great and the food was awesome. Staff was so helpful and pleasant. Will go back

Thank gibbscrh3
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We decided to try Moby Dicks based on TripAdvisor reviews. It was ok. We had a seafood platter. The open air dining room was nice and the staff was friendly but the seafood platter we thought was lacking compared to others we had tried on...More

Thank ashep2
Todd B, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

It's great to hear you enjoyed our atmosphere and service. Our seafood combination is one our biggest selling items. It is a huge combination of fresh Atlantic cod, local landed scallops, wild caught Gulf of Mexico shrimp, and Cape frying clams. Until then, Todd B,...More

Reviewed 5 days ago

Remember to bring beer or wine if you want alcohol with your meal. I had a lobster roll and thought the dressing was too bland. A friend had the scallop roll with cheese and bacon and raved about it.

Thank RobertK676
Todd B, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Robert, Thank you for sharing your comments. Regarding our lobster rolls we just add a touch of mayo to our chopped lobster meat. Glad your friend loved our scallop sandwich! All the best, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 6 days ago

Came here for dinner with my wife while in Provincetown Shared a great iceberg wedge I had a great fried clam belly platter. She had the fried shrimp platter Since they allow BYOB we brought a bottle of white wine Really good food, great service...More

Thank John B
Todd B, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

John, thanks for stopping by. It's a pleasure knowing you and your wife enjoyed dinner with us, from the fried clam belly and fried shrimp platters to the friendly service and environment. We hope you'll be back to see us next time you're in the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Decided to eat at Moby Dick’s on a recent trip to the Cape with my daughter. My daughter had been there before and had only good things to say about the place. Unfortunately, my experience wasn’t so positive. It started with extra charge for swapping...More

Thank Taxidemeni
Todd B, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

I'm upset to learn we didn't meet your expectations this time. We're sorry if you were surprised by the substitution charge -- although this is a common practice at many restaurants, we'll do a better job of making things clear. It's disappointing your salmon wasn't...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We took a ride to P town at the Cape and drove by this place on the way there, we decided to give it a try on our trip back after looking it up on tripadvisor and seen the reviews. You order when you first...More

Thank JOHNNYB17
Todd B, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for the high marks for our fresh plates and the friendly faces serving them up, Johnny! People come from all over the world to work in the Cape during the summer, and we're proud of the diverse cultures that come together to make up...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had seen many outstanding reviews of Moby Dick's on TripAdvisor, so we just had to check it out. We were not disappointed! We drove out for a nice family lunch, where we were greeted warmly by the owner, Todd, and we enjoyed chatting with...More

Thank charliespr
Todd B, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Charlies, we're glad you had a chance to check us out! It was a pleasure meeting you, and 'm pleased to know how much you enjoyed everything, especially our lobster rolls and Key lime pie! Thank you for the great review. We look forward to...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We didn’t expect to be ordering at the front counter, but it was a fast and efficient way to process all the customers. Their summer staff seem to all be from South Africa and they are pleasant and eager to please. We ordered a pound...More

1  Thank Katie8460
Todd B, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Katie, We appreciate the great review and hope you'll be back to see us again soon! Until then, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really good seafood here, the tuna steak sandwich was done perfectly rare and very tasty. Great service from a varied international group of wait staff.

Thank Ted P
Todd B, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Ted, it's wonderful knowing how much you enjoyed our seafood and service! Thank you for the kind words. I hope you'll be back to dine with us again soon. Until then, Todd B, Owner

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We are not entirely sure how this place has received such a high rating. The food was not that good - soggy fish and chips, over-processed crab cake sandwiches, no lobster in the lobster bisque. Some of our drinks were forgotten. One of our kiddos...More

Thank Tasha H
Todd B, Owner at Moby Dick's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Tasha, I am sorry you did not have a good experience with us. I wish you would have said something to me at the time and I would have fixed your issues and made sure you left very satisfied. I hope you will give us...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Wellfleet
Mainstay Motor Inn
52 reviews
2.13 miles away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
190 reviews
4.35 miles away
Wellfleet Motel
244 reviews
5.10 miles away
Blue Dolphin Inn
270 reviews
5.48 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Mac's Shack
555 reviews
.89 miles away
Winslow's Tavern
479 reviews
.63 miles away
The Wicked Oyster
427 reviews
.84 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Wellfleet Bay Wildlife Sanctuary
325 reviews
.73 miles away
Wellfleet Public Library
47 reviews
.61 miles away
Duck Harbor Beach
35 reviews
.77 miles away
Wellfleet Historical Society Museum
11 reviews
.64 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jbieber4
July 22, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from jowburston | Reviewed this property |
At lunchtime no. Don't know about dinner, but I guess yes.
0
Votes
Charliesgirl1963
September 11, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Abigail M | Reviewed this property |
Dress code is casual
0
Votes
VFRowe
November 1, 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from revmeister62 | Reviewed this property |
I have only been there June - August. They are probably seasonal. Sorry you missed a great lobster.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 3225 State Hwy Rte 6, Across from Gull Pond Road, Wellfleet, MA 02667-7054
  • Location: United States  >  Massachusetts (MA)  >  Cape Cod  >  Wellfleet
  • Phone Number: +1 508-349-9795
  • E-mail
Description
Closed for the winter. See you May 2017 When we first opened Moby Dick’s in ‘83, we had no idea we’d become an establishment on Cape Cod. We simply wanted to start a BYOB restaurant that had fresh seafood, a relaxed environment, and a friendly staff that would make people feel at home. Well, three decades later, we’re still doing exactly that, opening every season in May to the delight of locals and visitors alike. Some people stop in for our lobster rolls while others come for an old-fashioned bucket of steamers. But everyone knows they can come to us for fresh family fun and a dining experience in Wellfleet they'll never forget.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;