We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gan Shan Station

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2019 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Chinese, Japanese, Asian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
170
60
28
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
170
60
28
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drunken noodles ramen black bean chicken squash soup meat dumplings dan dan imperial rolls wraps sorbet brussels sprouts okra wings asian food converted gas station charlotte street chefs table open kitchen
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 282 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2019

We went with friends for dinner, our first visit in some time since we weren't pleased with our last visit. Big changes in the menu and really much better with much more variety and breadth in the menu. We had dumpling soup, chicken wings and...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank GPBurdell67
Reviewed July 6, 2019 via mobile

Really thoroughly enjoyed this place. It’s not for feint of heart. Dishes are intensely flavored. Mapo dofu has deep and evolving flavor that lingers on your tongue. It’s a shechuan dish that’s supposed to be ‘hot’ so no surprise there. But this is different. More...More

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank highwoodkevin
Reviewed July 5, 2019 via mobile

First time here. A different type restaurant for me. We did the pork dumplings to start and they were outstanding. I then had the pork ramen for my meal and they were also very good. This is a must try restaurant when visiting Asheville.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank RockyTopGolfer
Reviewed June 19, 2019

Gan Shan recently changed it's menu. They opened the West Asheville location and the one on Charlotte Street is only serving dinner now. We decided to go give it a try. We were SO disappointed!!! We ordered the black bean chicken thinking it would be...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank heartfire9
GanShanTeam, Owner at Gan Shan Station, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2019

I'm disappointed to hear that you didn't like our menu changes. Certainly, we will take your feedback into account and have a good look at the portion size of our dishes. The Som Tam (green papaya salad) with black bean chicken dish that you had...More

Reviewed June 14, 2019

Gan Shan is artistic, inventive, attentive, and just plain awesome! The menu is chockful' of adventure, and there are plenty of dishes for omnivores and vegetarians alike. I highly recommend the OKONOMIYAKI (Osaka-style), the cucumber appetizer, and the Imperial Rolls.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Brad B
Reviewed June 11, 2019

Sunday evening we had the new menu at Gan Shan Station. It was amazing. We have always enjoyed our meals here, but now with the new menu Chef Patrick has turned it up many notches. The Imperial Rolls and Mackerel Fried rice were standouts. The...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Vikki W
Reviewed June 6, 2019

We love the Charlotte St location of Gan Shan. Friendly, wonderful casual atmosphere, delicious and creative food. Most of all: our friends and we come early on "whole fish" evenings, and dive into wonderful fresh and deliciously prepared fish, with one order taking care of...More

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank M4893RDdianem
Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

Family from D.C. area have eaten at many top-ranked restaurants. They said the food at Gan Shan Station is excellent. It’s our go-to place when we are entertaining out of town guests.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank VCBENL
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

very li tied menu. food did not live up to expectations. had wraps of shrimp the rice mixture outstanding very messy to eat. ice tea in small glasses. my daughter said thai ice tea terrible. see what dinner has to offer. ashame that waitress explanation...More

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Norma C
GanShanTeam, Manager at Gan Shan Station, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

Norma, so sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations. Yes, the thai wraps can be messy to eat, but that's in the nature of the dish. That said, we'll definitely take into consideration your feedback and see if we can't find another way...More

Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

Gan Shan is really tasty. The menu is small but they are good at what they make. We got the vegetarian dumplings which ended up being mushrooms and corn. Interesting and tasty. I got a coconut shrimp dish wish was so tasty and just the...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Ashliesue
GanShanTeam, Manager at Gan Shan Station, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2019

Ashlie, thank you for the feedback! We are going to expand our menu offerings soon so you'll have even more choices moving forward. Sounds like you ordered very well. We hope you'll be back soon!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 73 nearby hotels
Princess Anne Hotel
882 reviews
.17 miles away
Four Points by Sheraton Asheville Downtown
972 reviews
.45 miles away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
1,690 reviews
.51 miles away
Hilton Garden Inn Asheville Downtown
612 reviews
.54 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 904 nearby restaurants
Plant Vegan Restaurant
739 reviews
.36 miles away
Rosetta's Kitchen
293 reviews
.57 miles away
Bone and Broth
142 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 532 nearby attractions
Asheville Community Theatre
221 reviews
.56 miles away
Thomas Wolfe Memorial
492 reviews
.54 miles away
Center for Craft
28 reviews
.60 miles away
Craven Gap Trail
12 reviews
.35 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Gan Shan Station staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing