We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Twisted Laurel Downtown

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Get food delivered
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 08/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Twisted Laurel Downtown
Updated 08/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$9 - $26
CUISINES
American, Bar, Contemporary, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
770 results
Traveler rating
515
167
51
16
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
515
167
51
16
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews greek salad spinach lasagna pizza bison burger trout fries wings sandwiches potatoes bread dog menu asheville restaurant sit outside awesome food sat at the bar great dinner outdoor seating
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Got a table on a chilly Tuesday evening. Warm confines and great service. We had the Seared Tuna and Steak Diane - both incredible. Parking right outside makes this a great choice for visitors to Asheville.

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
TLDowntownAVL, Marketing at Twisted Laurel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Why, thank you so much, Scott. We aprpeciate you coming in and leaving this kind review. Please come back and dine with us again next time you're in town. Hopefully during warmer weather you can enjoy our beautiful patio as well!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice atmosphere with great service. The meal was prepared perfectly and presented well. The brussell sprout appetizer is delicious. The blue cheese crumbles pairs nicely with the vinaigrette. The steak was cooked exactly as ordered covered in a tasty mushroom sauce. Definitely would go...back.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
TLDowntownAVL, Marketing at Twisted Laurel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks so much, Bobby. We are so glad to hear of your great meal and experience with us and look forward to having you back.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited Asheville for my husband's 50th. We were planning on Pack's Tavern, but a ❄️ event and Covid left us waiting outside for an extended time in the frigid artic. Found Twisted Laurel and they seated us immediately. What a treat! They were busy, but...we weren't in a hurry. We were served by the bartender and a delightful server with emerald hair. We had Sardinian Lamb Fregola and Chicken Scampierelli. So good my husband spoke to the mgr on our way out to compliment. Nice atmosphere, lots of personalities, and fun people watching.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
TLDowntownAVL, Marketing at Twisted Laurel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Cindy, this is what we love to hear! Thank you so much for this thoughtful review. And although you didn't have the night you originally had planned for, we are so glad you unexpectedly found us and enjoyed your experience. We hope you will add...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Food was on point, service was awesome (so sorry we don’t remember his name). We will definitely be back!

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
TLDowntownAVL, Marketing at Twisted Laurel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much, ginamarie92! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us this kind review and we look forward to having you back.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Average food and service. Service was slow, meals/food was brought out at different times up to 30 mins difference in receiving food.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
TLDowntownAVL, Marketing at Twisted Laurel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Robertwyoungiii, we are of course sorry to hear of your average experience with us. We work hard to make sure all our guests have a delicious and enjoyable experience, but mistakes can and do happen, and all we can do is try to continuously improve...More

Reviewed January 19, 2021 via mobile

A night out with the girls turned comical after an evening at Twisted Laurel. Asheville restaurant week is from January 19th-25th so we decided to try one of the participants. Two girls ordered the prefix menu which offered a lovely focaccia board with whipped ricotta,...arrabiata sauce & orange fennel marmalade (the server said it was “like jam” when we asked what the marmalade was). Second course was a pasta choice which both chose the ravioli. Dinner was a chose of Trout or 5oz Ribeye. Ordering the ribeye medium rare it came out over medium well. When the very attentive server came to check we laughed that the ravioli was undercooked and steak over cooked. The reaction was not very warm. On another hand I pointed to & ordered the lamb stew Fregola; I received the beans pasta Fagioli. Not bad just not what I ordered. Desserts menu was stated as “orange marmalade cinnamon roll, tiramisu or baklava”. We ordered the tiramisu and cinnamon roll. An employee dropped off the tiramisu and “bread pudding”. We stated we ordered cinnamon roll and were told the bread pudding was the “cinnamon roll bread pudding”... ok. All in all the flavor and ambiance were fantastic! Staff may need some training on what they are actually selling. We will go back for appetizers and drinks.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
TLDowntownAVL, Marketing at Twisted Laurel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2021

Jax4pen, although we love hearing that you enjoyed our restaurant's atmosphere and most of your meal, we are sorry to hear about the unfortunate shortcomings that you experienced. Mistakes can and do happen especially during the challenging times we all find ourselves in, so we...More

Reviewed January 18, 2021 via mobile

Was cool to find this place for a cold Saturday night. Both of us enjoyed the "Italian hero" pie, which was a ton of food and likely could be split! Prices were okay but service was good. They did a good job with managing covid...restrictions as well. Overall very pleased with the experience. Good choice for downtown Asheville!More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
TLDowntownAVL, Marketing at Twisted Laurel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2021

Thank you, Patrick. We appreciate your kind review and look forward to having you back.

Reviewed January 11, 2021 via mobile

Visited with a small group to celebrate my 40th birthday! Reservations were originally made for outside, but it was (literally) freezing outside, so the hostess was able to seat us inside after a short(ish) wait of 28 minutes. I wasn’t upset though...they accommodated us. STARTERS:...Crispy brussel sprouts were amazing! My hubby loved the Mozzarella Carozza (it almost tasted like a dessert!). Two couples had the chicken wings. They both preferred the dry lemon pepper over the mango chili, but liked both. Meatballs were big and tasty. MAIN MEALS: Everyone loved their food. The dishes were so flavorful! Between the group, we had the: Market Seafood, Philly Cheesesteak, Pizza, Southern Fried Chicken Sandwich, Pub Burger, and Pork Belly. The only complaint was the spice of the Pork Belly dish. Overall, I’d highly recommend a visit here. The staff was kind, friendly, and attentive. All staff wore masks, and there was at least 6 feet of distance between each party. I would definitely visit again!More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
TLDowntownAVL, Marketing at Twisted Laurel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2021

We are so honored that you celebrated your 40th with us! And thanks for such a thorough and thoughful review. We work so hard to provide excellent food, service, and overall atmosphere and we appreciate your feedback so that we can continually improve. Please do...More

Reviewed January 6, 2021

The Brussels Sprout appetizer was fantastic, really done well. The bison burger was a bit overdone (lots of char) but still delicious and the menu options are above average for an upscale pub. I would come back and try a different main dish, but still...get the appetizer as it was really good. This place works for both lunch or dinner, and is worth checking out.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?1  
TLDowntownAVL, Marketing at Twisted Laurel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2021

Thanks so much for the kind review and recommendations, Mike. We are so glad to hear you loved our famous Brussels Sprouts starter dish and of course are sorry that the burger was a bit overdone. We look forward to having you back - for...More

Reviewed January 3, 2021

After looking over reviews, we booked our reservation through Open Table for a Saturday afternoon. Upon arrival we were seated immediately upstairs. Throughout the 2 hour lunch our server continued to focus on the other large groups. Draft beers were warm, our pizza and Gyro...was room temperature. After our meal we couldnt find the server for our bill and had to run down the street to put in more change in the parking meter. That afternoon, we receive a email from Open Table saying our reservation was cancelled by the restaurant because we were a no show. So just went on to the Open Table website to provide them our meal receipt as proof.More

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
TLDowntownAVL, Marketing at Twisted Laurel Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2021

Jason, we are very sorry for your unfortunate and uncommon experience with us. Of course mistakes can and do happen and we are very glad that we were able to resolve the misunderstanding with Open Table to your satisfaction, and hope that you will give...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
AC Hotel Asheville Downtown
316 reviews
.09 miles away
The Windsor Boutique Hotel
474 reviews
.11 miles away
Renaissance Asheville Hotel
1,756 reviews
.13 miles away
Kimpton Hotel Arras
250 reviews
.13 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Old Europe Pastries
557 reviews
.10 miles away
Posana
1,108 reviews
.12 miles away
Salsa's Mexican Caribbean Restaurant
1,172 reviews
.13 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Asheville Community Theatre
228 reviews
.08 miles away
Thomas Wolfe Memorial
510 reviews
.12 miles away
Pack Square
236 reviews
.10 miles away
Urban Trail
210 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Tour184534
September 8, 2020|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from twistedlaurelDTAVL | Property representative |
We most certainly do! Both Twisted Laurel restaurants have dog-friendly patios with ample, spaced out seating.
0
Votes
LaurenHillFoReal
November 8, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from markgarver | Reviewed this property |
Yes, at their downtown and New Leicester Hwy location as well.
0
Votes
CascoBayVegan
May 24, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Vince C | Property representative |
Yes, we do have vegan options.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing