We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
319 Spring St, Suite 203, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
+1 304-535-2198
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

83 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 83: English reviews
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stopped in Harpers ferry while visiting family back east...wanted a quick bite and was craving something sweet. Well, this was the place! Love that they change food menu all the time in order to keep food fresh and cost effective....sounds great to me! My sweet tooth couldn't be more happy too.....this was the best ice cream sundae I ever had...not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael W
Rincon, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We very patiently waited for 45 minutes for our food on a very busy Saturday. There were only 3 of us. As our meal of club sandwiches and fries finally arrived, we heard the manager screaming at walk up customer. Our waitress seemed embarrassed and apologized. As we got our check we noticed gratuity was added. We were unaware that... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank disco98
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a blast, ice cream was very rich and tasty, girls scooping ice cream very friendly! Great for all ages!

Helpful?
Thank z_man_and_the_girls
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The 20 minutes we were waiting for ice cream the owner was very rude, including raising her voice at one of her other customers because he was questioning the automatic gratuity they added on to his bill. They were only a party of 3 and no where in the restaurant did it say gratuity was automatically added. I would avoid... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Webby25
Williamsport, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile

My daughter and her friend ordered ice cream at the outside window and we as a family thought why not go on in and have lunch...upon sitting down a very rude blonde older lady says this is full service and a gratuity will be added..to which I said ok there are 7 of us my girls ordered at the window... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura G
Stanley333, Owner at Swiss Miss, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. The manager fully recalls your visit, as she does with all visits that could potentially warrant a one sided story. BUT yes, she said she was a little snarky because the entire weekend, people were getting items to go, and then trying to eat it inside, as it was a hot day/weekend. Additionally, there were 2... More 

Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

stopped here because there was seating outside. SOft serve was pretty good but the funnel cake fries were terribly greasy. Novel idea but dont mess with the original. Good "fair food" all made fresh so you may wait. Walk up window is convenient. Service pretty slow but they were pleasant enough.

Helpful?
Thank worldtravlr2014
Bluemont, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

Horrible food, horrible service. The girl working up front was nice, but the blonde woman SCREAMING behind her was not! She held up the line simply by standing there yelling at the other girl about incompetence and wasting time. I wouldn't have eaten there if I hadn't already paid, giving people like that my money just doesn't sit right with... More 

Helpful?
Thank ritahm402
Stanley333, Owner at Swiss Miss, responded to this review

I've adopted a generic reply of (if even warranted), 'we try to - but can't please everyone', but periodically I will make an exception. You must have been hanging around quite awhile to witness 'all of that', and that you also knew we were chasing off employees ?? The employees that are chased off, can neither show up on time,... More 

Baltimore County, Maryland
Level Contributor
125 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016 via mobile

I have been coming to and recommending this Swiss Miss Ice Cream Shop for years. Today I was very disappointed. They did not have any raspberry swirl soft ice cream. They no longer have the doggie serving of vanilla ice cream. In fact I was told they never served it which was a totally untrue statement. The servers were not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marty1357
Grasonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2016

ice cream is hand dipped although they do have other kinds of ways of making a sweet treat. I did find that the bread for my hotdog was hard. the order of fries are large, so good for sharing. the people working are so very nice.

Helpful?
Thank Kara D
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2016

Food was just average, but our serrver was very friendly and shared a lot about the town. We would try again during peak season when the menu is expanded.

Helpful?
Thank SpecialDJ

Travelers who viewed Swiss Miss also viewed

 

Been to Swiss Miss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
American
Meals
Lunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 319 Spring St, Suite 203, Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
  • Location: United States  >  West Virginia (WV)  >  Harpers Ferry
  • Phone Number: +1 304-535-2198

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Swiss Miss staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?