We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pier Market Seafood Restaurant

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 10/01/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Pier Market Seafood Restaurant
Updated 10/01/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Now open for heated outdoor patio dining! Make a reservation now! Voted Best Seafood in San Francisco by KRON 4 TV Best of the Bay, Pier Market is an authentic sustainable seafood restaurant where the locals go for the freshest local seafood in the city. Pier Market is family-owned and operated and one of the most popular dining destinations on Fisherman's Wharf. Pier Market has been selling San Francisco's freshest seafood since 1983. We feature Fresh, Mesquite-Grilled Fish and Meat, Dungeness Crab, Pastas, Steaming bowls of our Award-Winning Clam Chowder in Authentic Fresh Sourdough Bread Bowls. Enjoy watching our chefs at work in full view of our bustling open kitchen overlooking the San
PRICE RANGE
$10 - $20
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
American, Seafood
FEATURES
Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Waterfront, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (2,734)
Filter reviews
1,927 results
Traveler rating
902
690
229
68
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
902
690
229
68
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews clam chowder seafood fisherman's platter salmon bread coleslaw mixed grill cioppino sandwich sea lions great food and service fast service sat at the bar bowl bay alcatraz garlic
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 days ago

Stopped by the Pier Market Seafood restaurant for a bite to eat while I was walking Fisherman's Wharf. Ordered the Fish 'n Chips with fries meal. The food was delicious and great service from the staff.

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great food. Excellent service. Any time a member of our party of four asked a question we got a very well rounded answer that was understandable and thorough. Nice variety for picky eaters and tride-and-true seafood fans alike. I got the clam chowder in a...bread bowl and it didn't disappoint. Next time I'm adding crab or bacon too! Can't wait to ask for Iulian next time. He was awesome (and we are all servers too so that's a mutual decision)More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
inesrodriguezadams, Agency / Consultant at Pier Market Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I'm pleased to hear you had a nice experience with us. We work hard to provide you the best experience when visiting us. Thanks again for coming in. I hope you come to see us again soon ❤️ Stay safe!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We’re in town on a girls weekend. We stopped here to eat for our last night hoping to get done great seafood. The clam chowder came out first, delicious. Then my crab cakes came out, took one bite and the crab cakes were spooked. I...told the waitress and she seemed annoyed that MY crab cakes were spoiled. Was very dismissive and almost angry, lol!! Never again!! Couldn’t even eat my fries that came out, I didn’t want anything from this restaurant after that..More

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
inesrodriguezadams, Owner at Pier Market Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We take it seriously and use it to improve. I'm very sorry to hear about your experience. We strive for excellent service and we have missed on your visit. That is not a typical occurrence and we will review your...More

Reviewed October 23, 2020 via mobile

We ate at this restaurant twice during the pandemic. We just love supporting local businesses. Our first experience on this place wasn’t so great because of the long wait-time to be seated (30mins) and to get your food (45mins). We understood this since we came...in on a very crowded weekend. It became an excuse for my friends and I to chit-chat more while we wait for the food - even when we’re already starving; no one really complained. All the food were great so we decided to come back on a weekday. The second time we went was on a weekday, Tuesday - it was a lot less crowded. We were able to get a table in 2 mins. Staffs are more attentive. It’s just an overall better experience. We suggest to go on weekdays and enjoy the lesser crowd.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?1  
inesrodriguezadams, Owner at Pier Market Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I'm pleased to hear you had a nice experience with us. We work hard to provide you the best experience when visiting us. Thanks again for coming in. I hope you come see us again soon ❤️ Stay safe!

Reviewed September 29, 2020

My wife and I ate here twice within two months and both times it was delicious. The first time there was no one there on the wharf so we were seated very quickly and got our service almost immediately enjoyed the crab-cakes and the calamari...along with the Moscow mule. Second time the wharf was a little bit more crowded so we had to wait for a table of course it was one of the warmest weekends in San Francisco. Once we were seated we were served rather quickly enjoyed some garlic fries, crab-cakes, and calamari all were excellent again. I think next time I go I'll try something different but it's hard when these were your favorites. You may have to wait a bit to get a table if it's during the weekend, I recommend coming during the week which we did for our first time. Food and service were both excellent if you're on the wharf I definitely recommend it.More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
inesrodriguezadams, Owner at Pier Market Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2020

I'm pleased to hear you had a nice experience with us. We work hard to provide you the best experience when visiting us. Thanks again for coming in. I hope you come see us again soon ❤️ Stay safe!

Reviewed September 2, 2020

It took about an hour for the food to come out and the place wasn’t even packed. The waitress never refilled any of our drinks. We spent $180, and the crab isn’t worth it. It was cheaper and seemed more fresh on Fisherman’s Wharf. Could...just be my expectations, but being on Pier 39, I thought it was hot spot for sure. Sorry... 1 ⭐️ for these guys!More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
inesrodriguezadams, Owner at Pier Market Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We take it seriously and use it to improve. I'm very sorry to hear about your experience. We strive for excellent service and we have missed on your visit. That is not a typical occurrence and we will review your...More

Reviewed September 1, 2020

Was expecting a lot more for what I had to pay. The server was distant and not personable. Service wasn’t great except for the nice guy dropping the food off. The food was ok but just “meh” for what it cost. It was over 100$...for a few apps and drinks and then I was charged twice. I gave my card to be charged and it was returned saying it was declined, so I gave another card to be used. That card was charged, but come to find out, after looking at my bank statement, so was the first card that “didn’t work”. Highly disappointed and we won’t be returning.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?1  
inesrodriguezadams, Marketing at Pier Market Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback. We take it seriously and use it to improve. I'm very sorry to hear about your experience. We strive for excellent service and we have missed on your visit. That is not a typical occurrence and we will review your...More

Reviewed August 30, 2020

Came here for lunch I was advised to try the dungeoness crab we started off at the bar as it was very busy then we got seated didn’t take too long we ordered cocktails and plenty of food our waitress was wonderful she dressed me...in my bib ready for the feast we ordered the cocktails were Alcatraz slammer and San Francisco Bay breeze both amazing make them quite regular now at home can’t wait to hopefully come back we will be there for sureMore

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?1  
inesrodriguezadams, Marketing at Pier Market Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm pleased to hear you had a nice experience with us. We work hard to provide you the best experience when visiting us. Thanks again for coming in. I hope you come to see us again soon ❤️ Stay safe!

Reviewed July 4, 2020 via mobile

Ordered shrimp combo plate. Price reasonable. Service ok. Food-rolls, cold and hard. Shrimp-well, ALL bland, fried were overcooked. Potatoes bland as well. Sad when coleslaw the best part. $40 with 2 cokes, meal, fair tip. Save your money and go elsewhere.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
inesrodriguezadams, Marketing at Pier Market Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2020

Thank you for your feedback. We take it seriously and use it to improve. I'm very sorry to hear about your experience. We strive for excellent service and we have missed on your visit. That is not a typical occurrence and we will review your...More

Reviewed March 23, 2020

We were very hungry and our appetites were more than satisfied here. Clean, nice atmosphere despite the Covid-19 scare going on. Staff were very helpful too. Large portions- fab

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?1  
inesrodriguezadams, Agency / Consultant at Pier Market Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2020

Thank you for your review. We strive to exceed expectations and love hearing about it when we do. I hope you come to see us again when in the area. Stay safe <3

View more reviews
Best nearby
Fisherman’s Wharf
Packed with family-friendly entertainment, quality
hotels, and good food, there's something for everyone
at Fisherman's Wharf. From street performers and
historic cable cars to art galleries and museums, a
postcard-worthy photo is available on every corner.
Bring your appetite: seafood lovers will be rewarded
with Dungeness crab and sourdough bread bowls, while
Ghirardelli Square will satiate anyone's sweet tooth
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Riu Plaza Fisherman’s Wharf
74 reviews
.25 miles away
The Wharf Inn
1,042 reviews
.26 miles away
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
1,709 reviews
.33 miles away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
3,026 reviews
.40 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Fog Harbor Fish House
5,397 reviews
.10 miles away
Trish's Mini Donuts
191 reviews
.05 miles away
Wipeout Bar & Grill
2,222 reviews
.10 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Pier 39
22,506 reviews
.10 miles away
Angel Island State Park
976 reviews
.12 miles away
Aquarium of the Bay
1,645 reviews
.13 miles away
San Francisco Water Taxi
11 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
terrylj2018
July 20, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from inesrodriguezadams | Property representative |
We do allow dogs on our patio.
1
Vote
Carolyn2261
May 27, 2018|
Answer
Response from anil r | Reviewed this property |
They have many dishes on their menu which are gluten free and they serve these dishes on request. If you take a closer look at the menu, you can find these dishes marked GF against them. Some of them which I can name are... More
1
Vote
kcoupons101
February 22, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from inesrodriguezadams | Property representative |
We can definitely serve you our 100% sustainable Dungeness Crab without butter. Hope to see you soon!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing