We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelin Lobster- MOVED

864 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7238
+1 207-460-8028
Call
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent85%
  • Very good11%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Aug 26, 2017
“Cute lobster shack, super fresh, excellent food”
Aug 13, 2017
“Side of the Road, very busy.”
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
864 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7238
All Details
Reviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 286 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2017

We arrived here shortly after it opened and there was already a line! We were excited to try some freshly caught lobster. Being it was July, there were only soft shells available. I had a 1 1/4lb steamed lobster and my wife had the cold...More

Thank sgruver1
Reviewed August 13, 2017

Found this place through Trip Adviser and we decided to try it. No frills, just seafood on paper and fast. I had lobster,mussels,and corn bucket. Which came hot and good. Nice place if you don't want to wait at a conventional restaurant, and a lot...More

Thank Jan&Dean
Reviewed July 26, 2017

Went to this place based on recommendations here. We were not disappointed. My wife and I had mussels and lobster combo. It was hard shell lobster. The place is very organized. Everything is like clockwork. The lobsters were big and tasty. Mussels were good too....More

Thank chakp2017
Reviewed July 10, 2017

The first day we drove by the Travelin Lobster, it was before they opened for the day. However, based on the reviews, we were definitely gonna try again. Boy, we were not disappointed. In fact, we ended up stopping each of the next two days....More

Thank thevalentines
Reviewed April 22, 2016 via mobile

We ate at the last location many times. We can't wait to try out the new one. Such a nice family owned and operated unique restaurant.

1  Thank Travel101102
David P, Owner at Travelin Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2016

Thank you for the great comments. We have not moved, just changed the name to Rose Eden Lobster. It is at the same place with the same family atmosphere and the lobsters are still provided from the same local fisherman.

Reviewed January 1, 2016

We found this restaurant through Trip Advisor. It isn't your typical restaurant and whilst there are picnic tables outside, it's more of a take out. We visited during our week long trip to Bar Harbor in June and bought one of the exceptionally good value...More

3  Thank Betti2016
Reviewed December 6, 2015

THE BEST food we had on our trip to Bar Harbor! It was recommended to us that we try some real Maine lobster from a lobster pound versus a restaurant - SO happy we followed that advice and found this little place just 15 mins...More

2  Thank Mike F
travelinlobster, Owner at Travelin Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2015

Thank you so much for yiur kind words. We loved that your experience was the best. Please visit us again! Hank

Reviewed November 11, 2015

Great place to go for fresh lobster. You place your order inside and they show you the live lobsters which will be cooked outside. You can eat outside at the picnic tables or take your lobsters back to your hotel or cottage. Everything is packed...More

2  Thank tenntrvl
David P, Owner at Travelin Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. It is gratifying to know that your experience was so positive.

Reviewed November 8, 2015

Read the reviews, knew what to expect and wasn’t disappointed, loved the whole experience, the food was amazing, so fresh; no better way to enjoy lobster, the sweet corn was even the best we’ve tasted. Really friendly people.

2  Thank marnie1310
David P, Owner at Travelin Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2015

Thank you for the input. Good to hear that we were what you expected us to be.

Reviewed November 3, 2015

We had a great meal here, but prepared for something unique! It's a few picnic tables, and he cooks everything outside. Very limited menu, but the food was delicious! We actually went next door to the winery and bought a bottle of wine and brought...More

1  Thank JACoppo
David P, Owner at Travelin Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2015

Unique we are. Many thanks for the review. Glad you also had the opportunity to take advantage of the great winery which is only a couple of hundred yards from the Travelin Lobster.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
C-Ray Lobster
422 reviews
.13 miles away
Rose Eden Lobster
183 reviews
.05 miles away
Sweet Pea's Cafe
191 reviews
.06 miles away
Peppers Pizza & Subs
123 reviews
.47 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lamoine State Park
23 reviews
1.44 miles away
Mount Desert Island
2,404 reviews
2.76 miles away
Scenic Flights of Acadia
252 reviews
2.91 miles away
Acadia Information Center - Bar Harbor Chamber of Commerce
19 reviews
2.81 miles away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
$18 - $38
Good for
Families with children, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Monday
3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Friday
3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
3:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 864 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7238
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  DownEast and Acadia Maine  >  Mount Desert Island  >  Bar Harbor
  • Phone Number: +1 207-460-8028
Description
We will open for the season on 26 May. Rose Eden Lobster is the former Travelin' Lobster. We are continuing to serve fresh Maine lobster, at the same location, at an affordable price cooked the way it has always been cooked. We are still primarily a takeout restaurant but as always we have limited outdoor seating for those who choose to eat under the apple trees.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing