We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose Eden Lobster

864 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7238
+1 207-610-3060
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent89%
  • Very good8%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“clams” (36 reviews)
“steamers” (16 reviews)
“fresh lobster” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Seafood, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
LOCATION
864 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7238
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Nothing fancy, and that's a great way to have a lobster dinner!!! My 2.2 lb lobster was perfectly cooked, corn was nicely done, staff brought my food and then left me alone to enjoy it, thanks staff! So I went back next day for a...More

3  Thank julakr54
David P, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded today

So glad you enjoyed the lobster enough to come back for another lobster experience. Many thanks for doing a great review for us.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped by after reading the reviews and we were not disappointed. The staff was super friendly. They took the lobsters out of the tank and talked to the kids about them. They let the kids all hold them up so we could get pictures....More

1  Thank Fourkinntheroad
David P, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Many thanks for the great review. It is great to hear that you had such a positive experience with us. We work hard to have a simple, no frills, traditional, lobster shack with affordable prices and it is good to hear that we are meeting...More

Reviewed December 4, 2017

We ate picnic style among other "hungry for lobster" folks. Three adults dined on two dinners with an extra lobster for $60. Everything was excellent, but a lost point for the side of clams. We're used to the small cherrystone clams, and their's were large...More

2  Thank Mary R
David P, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Many thanks for taking the time to do a review. God to hear that you were pleased enough to remember and do a review so long after visiting us. Please come back to see us again.

Reviewed November 9, 2017

We went to Rose Eden for my wife's birthday from Dallas, Texas to Bah-habah for this meal, and the traditionally prepared lobster with sand crab and all the fixin's did not disappoint. The key, I was told is that Rose Eden "Steams their freshly harvested...More

6  Thank kl3930
David P, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2017

Thank you for coming all the way from Texas to eat our fresh seafood and for doing such a nice review for our little lobster shack. It was a pleasure having you folks visit us. Come back again!

Reviewed November 2, 2017

My husband and I were lucky enough to eat at Rose Eden Lobster a couple of weeks ago while on vacation in Bar Harbor before they closed down for the season. We had read many rave reviews about them, BUT TASTING was BELIEVING!!! The lobster,...More

3  Thank Bethany B
David P, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Many thanks for the great review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the food even if the Fall temps were a bit chilly. Hope you can come back to see us again someday.

Reviewed October 23, 2017

THIS IS THE PLACE !!!!!!!!!!!! Best lobster we had on a 25 day trip through the Atlantic provinces, returning to the states through Bar Harbor, Maine....and, although we did not eat lobster daily, we did whenever we were in an area where it was available.....NO...More

3  Thank gold-vintner
David P, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2017

Thanks for the great review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the lobster enough to come back again. Hopefully you will visit Bar Harbor next year and come to see us for more lobster.

Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

Best Lobster I’ve ever had. Fresh, cooked perfectly with all the right sides- corn, mussels, butter. Could not have been better. Dave was running the restaurant on that day. We had to Change our schedule for 30 women due to weather and they were very...More

1  Thank Robin L
David P, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2017

Many thanks for the review. We enjoyed having all you folks visit us. Hope you can do it again next year.

Reviewed October 19, 2017

Called and ordered the 2 lobster special, which also included clams and corn. It was delivered to our motel, it was hot and delicious very fresh. Great prices.

2  Thank Vicki L
David P, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Great to hear that you enjoyed your lobster dinner. Thanks for taking the time to do a review for us.

Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

We had their lobster dinner and it was great. Very friendly and helpful people. Very reasonable priced.

1  Thank sturgis
David P, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2017

Many thanks for the review. Enjoyed talking with you. Hope you can come back some day.

Reviewed October 14, 2017

We had the lobster meal which included corn and mussels. The corn was fine, the lobster was fine too, but the mussels were inedible! Way too salty! There are better place to enjoy a lobster on the island, and we won't stop here again.More

1  Thank runningknitter
David P, Owner at Rose Eden Lobster, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. There is nothing we can do about the mussels being salty. They are naturally salty because they come from the salt water. We do not add salt. We would have gladly refunded the cost...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 50 hotels in Mount Desert Island
Belle Isle Motel
384 reviews
.20 miles away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
585 reviews
.54 miles away
Edgewater Motel & Cottages
307 reviews
1.30 miles away
Bar Harbor Cottages and Suites
174 reviews
1.33 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
C-Ray Lobster
432 reviews
.09 miles away
Sweet Pea's Cafe
195 reviews
.04 miles away
Peppers Pizza & Subs
123 reviews
.49 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lamoine State Park
23 reviews
1.49 miles away
Mount Desert Island
2,463 reviews
2.71 miles away
Scenic Flights of Acadia
256 reviews
2.89 miles away
Acadia National Park
370 reviews
4.96 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Isabelle W
May 23, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David P | Property representative |
yes we open Friday 25 May from 3-8PM
1
Vote
Stu K
May 12, 2018|
Answer
Response from David P | Property representative |
We are actually 7 miles from the harbor and we don't have a restaurant. We are primarily a take out lobster shack with a couple of picnic tables. Great lobster at great prices.
0
Votes
judi p
April 27, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David P | Property representative |
we are 7 miles from the port.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
Average prices
$10 - $40
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Seating, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
3:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Monday
3:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
4:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
3:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
3:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Friday
3:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Saturday
3:00 PM - 8:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 864 State Highway 3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-7238
  • Location: United States  >  Maine (ME)  >  DownEast and Acadia Maine  >  Mount Desert Island  >  Bar Harbor
  • Phone Number: +1 207-610-3060
  • E-mail
Description
Rose Eden Lobster is the former Travelin' Lobster. We are continuing to serve fresh Maine lobster, at the same location, at an affordable price cooked the way it has always been cooked. We are still primarily a takeout restaurant but as always we have limited outdoor seating for those who choose to eat under the apples trees. We are a seasonal business open from 26 May to 1 November. The business was started to provide fresh seafood for the people staying at Rose Eden Cottages. It evolved into much more than that when people who weren't staying at the cottages discovered they could also buy fresh seafood at a reasonable price. That led to a much improved lobster shack that is now in operation from 25 May to 1 November. Dylan, who is a teacher in the off season, has been involved in all phases of the Rose Eden Lobster (former Travelin' Lobster) since its inception.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;