We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 1/27
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
American, Steakhouse
Meals
Dinner
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Seating, Table Service
View all details
features, about
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
18
4
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
18
4
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fondue steak salad unique experience outdoor dining oil byob chips
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed September 10, 2020 via mobile

After a long day of hiking in the Tetons and along the road to Casper we decided to stop here. Expectations were reasonably high as I’d discovered the establishment in a best of Wyoming food list, but exactly what was coming nearly blew my friend...and I’s head clean off. The food was beyond stellar. It is exactly the kind of hearty food that is meant to be eaten in the shadow of a majestic mountain range. We still cannot determine which was better, the food or the view. Either way it is an extraordinary experience and worth going out of your way for!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 7, 2020 via mobile

We loved this place - great food, wonderful outdoor location, very friendly staff; the owner in particular took time to explain this unique experience and get to know us better. And perfectly prepared and suited for this special Coronavirus summer. Certainly a place we would...come back to should we come in this region again!More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Mmdavid, Owner at Pitchfork Fondue Outdoor Western Cookout, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2020

Thank you for the kind words... we truly enjoy what we do!

Reviewed August 3, 2019

I love the location, I love the staff, and I love the food. The location is beautiful and I love seeing the Wind River Mountains. The owner made the experience personal and he took time to really get to know us. The food was delicious....It is a little expensive but it is worth every penny. I just wish it was closer to where I live. The servers were all very nice and did a great job. I loved eating here and I will come back. It is the best dining experience I have ever had. Worth the drive from Jackson.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 27, 2019

What a fun evening with great food and an even better environment. There are lawn games for the kids and big family style tables outside and under awnings. The food is great and a fun experience - you first grab freshly made chips with different...sauces, as well as fruit, salad and bread. The bison brats were tasty and the steak was perfect. Highly recommend coming with friends and hanging out through sunset for a nice night. BYOB.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 27, 2019

A really different way to cook food. They actually cook your food in fondue oil. Very tasty. It is outdoor dining so you have to be prepared wind, weather and bugs. We enjoyed or dinner, but this is not fine dining.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed July 10, 2019 via mobile

Pitchfork Fondue was such a unique experience. Dinner was great and the view is beautiful. The owners were incredibly kind and made sure we had everything we needed. Steaks are cooked to order and the available sauces are a nice addition to the meal. Do...not leave this place without devouring your fair share of kettle chips! Yum!More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed February 2, 2018

Matt David was supposed to be helping us plan our wedding along with catering it. We met him in October, and it took him forever to respond to emails, and get in contact with us. We gave the benefit of the doubt of holidays and...such but we could never get on the same page. I told him what we would pay him to handle certain things for the wedding and he put that money into terms that we thought sounded great. From the get go he said he was all about keeping the "5 star rating" for his company which I understand, I mean who wouldn't want that for their company? But here is the thing, when you say that you're going to help plan someone's big day, take forever to respond and can't ever get on the same page as them there is an issue. Then when you call the bride (Me) and tell her that this needs to get "locked down, because you have other options that you don't want to turn down" you have to assume the bride is going to be pissed. I thought we had it locked down and I was waiting on food options, and a CONTRACT. If Matt honestly thought that he was going to get 5,000 dollars without a contract that is absolutely insane to me. Then tell's me that him and my venue are a "packaged deal" and that he has other people he is going to go with. I would consider that, not only rude but insanely un-professional. It's a real shame that I didn't get to try his food but on the other hand it's almost a blessing in disguise. Now to find out that he was showing two of us the same venue and waiting to see who would pay the most, now that was just the icing on top of the cake!More

Date of visit: October 2017
Helpful?
Matt D, Owner at Pitchfork Fondue Outdoor Western Cookout, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

After four months and many changes in the requests for services we asked them to confirm what services we would be providing and to get it in an contract. With other groups interested in the dates we needed a deposit and written agreement to move...More

Reviewed February 2, 2018

After 4 months of going back and forth planning for him to cater a wedding reception and asking repeatedly to put something on paper and asking what was needed for a deposit he called to say that he had other people interested and would be...withdrawing from helping. We live out of town and made every effort possible to get on the same page with very little response from him. $250 has already been spent on invitations that have already gone out and now there is only 6 months until the wedding to find a new venue and figure out catering.More

Date of visit: February 2018
Helpful?3  
Matt D, Owner at Pitchfork Fondue Outdoor Western Cookout, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2018

After four months and many changes in the requests for services we asked them to confirm what services we would be providing and to get it in an contract. With other groups interested in the dates we needed a deposit and written agreement to move...More

Reviewed September 7, 2017

This is an interesting dinner option and we enjoyed our visit. Tips for others - bring your own alcohol if you want a beer or wine with dinner. They do not have a liquor license. This is all you can eat for the price. The...chicken was awesome and the steak was a little tough but still good. You eat outside on picnic tables so bring a jacket as it might get cold.More

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed September 6, 2017

This place is only open Thursday, Friday and Saturday for dinner during the Summer and it is outdoors so you need to choose a time with good weather. If the conditions are right though, this is someplace you at least need to try once.

Date of visit: August 2017
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Lodge at Pinedale
68 reviews
1.25 miles away
High Country Suites
30 reviews
1.38 miles away
Baymont by Wyndham Pinedale
442 reviews
1.61 miles away
Big Piney Motel
4 reviews
25.93 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Wind River Brewing Co.
579 reviews
.88 miles away
Los Cabos
168 reviews
.75 miles away
China Gourmet
97 reviews
.73 miles away
Heart & Soul Bakery
134 reviews
.68 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Museum of the Mountain Man
238 reviews
.60 miles away
Skyline Scenic Drive
78 reviews
1.99 miles away
Sublette County Library
20 reviews
.62 miles away
Sublette County Visitor Center
17 reviews
.70 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
emnye
June 6, 2018|
Answer
Response from MattD4167 | Property representative |
yes, kid friendly. we are an outdoor restaurant, yard games and lots of open space to play and explore.
0
Votes
hoopsnflies
June 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from AndyRLowe | Reviewed this property |
No reservations needed. Only need to remember they are open Thursday Friday and Saturday between frost dates (mid June-mid September)
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing