We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Horseshoes

Dean Street, East Farleigh, Maidstone ME15 0PR, England
+44 1622 741683
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good21%
  • Average18%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible6%
Travelers talk about
“wagyu burger” (7 reviews)
“mini desserts” (7 reviews)
“sunday roast” (20 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Dean Street, East Farleigh, Maidstone ME15 0PR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 645 reviews

Reviewed today

Interesting to find a Vegetarian-specific menu here, even if I'm not a veggie myself. Good choice of mains, well prepared and presented. On the downside, we arrived late afternoon / early evening when the lads were on their way home from work, so the language...More

Thank Accrington155
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Chloe and the rest of the team where fantastic from the outset... food was worth every penny and the cocktails where amazing the lobster and crab pot was amazing and the pork belly and scallops where amazing can not recommend enough

Thank Danielle S
Reviewed 5 days ago

We have visited this place a few times over the past year. We have always found the service to be pretty good and overall it is reasonable value for money.

Thank kazMaidstone
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Kazmaidstone, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Horseshoes! We hope to see you soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Restaurant was full so ate at the bar where the barman was polite and helpful. We both had the linguine which was very poor. Over cooked pasta swimming in wet sauce dumped in a bowl. We ate here a few months ago, the fish cakes...More

Thank josportsmad
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thankyou for taking the time to leave us a review. We do apologise that your food wasnt satisfactory. We encourage our guests to inform us during their visit so that we can rectify any issues or arrange replacement meals. We do hope you will give...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped off for a snack and a drink. We only wanted a little snack. We ordered 2 starters: Brie and chicken bites. Both were tiny portions, could have done with doubling the size! We weren’t overly hungry but for the price we paid I would...More

Thank kelseywatts123
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kelseywatts123, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. We appreciate you bringing this experience to our attention. If you are willing, please contact us...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have eaten here several times before so decided to take a lady who was recently bereaved .Entered had not booked but was given a table no fuss.Chose drinks no lemonade fore a shandy so settled for coke.Orders taken well over the hour offered some olives...More

Thank Kenneth S
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

If you are willing to give us another chance, please reach out to us at 01622 741683 to speak to our manager directly.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited a few weeks ago, and were so impressed with the choice available. It was Sunday lunch, my wife wanted a Sunday roast, my daughter is vegan, and I love fish and seafood. The Horseshoes catered brilliantly for all of us. WE all has...More

Thank GeeCBee
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day! We hope to be of service to you again in the future. Best wishes, The Horseshoes

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I visited here on a Wednesday lunch time with two others. The restaurant was averagely busy but still professionally and attentively managed by the young waitress and another gentleman who I assumed as a manager. Our drinks order was taken not long after being seated...More

Thank SamanthaC1996
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Samantha, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Horseshoes!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went for Sunday roast as a group of nine adults and two children. Our waiter could not have been better but unfortunately that is where the positives end. Never a good start when you are read a list of ten or more items that they...More

Thank Lisa K
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Falling short of meeting your expectations is not to the standards we strive to achieve, and we humbly ask for the opportunity to make this right. Thank you providing this information so we can improve upon our services. We hope to hear from you soon....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had another good Sunday lunch today. Being vegetarian I appreciate that there is a good option for a Sunday Roast but today I had another choice from the separate vegan menu giving me a good variety of meals. The aubergine burger was very nice...More

Thank traveloz
General Manager A, Manager at The Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Traveloz, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at The Horseshoes!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all East Farleigh Hotels
Grange Moor Hotel
391 reviews
2.05 miles away
Oakwood House Hotel
369 reviews
2.10 miles away
Premier Inn Maidstone Town Centre Hotel
769 reviews
2.36 miles away
Travelodge Maidstone Central
537 reviews
2.46 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Bull Inn East Farleigh
136 reviews
.80 miles away
The Walnut Tree Inn
18 reviews
.70 miles away
Spice Lounge
113 reviews
.70 miles away
Nearby Attractions
All Saints The Parish Church of Maidstone
36 reviews
2.50 miles away
Teston Bridge Country Park
110 reviews
2.10 miles away
Whatman Park
42 reviews
2.47 miles away
Tyrwhitt-Drake Museum
18 reviews
2.50 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
sales650
February 4, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Kevin S | Reviewed this property |
Indeed , I got as equally a pathetic answer to my recent review , so I did email Kelly back direct , but no surprise , no response ! But quick to respond to a bit of praise ! Sadly the Horseshoes has got right downhill... More
1
Vote
Anonomus_45
September 26, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from maxwellhubbard | Reviewed this property |
Nothing creepy about this
1
Vote
wookent
November 27, 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Kelly R | Property representative |
Good afternoon, We do add a 10% optional service charge to tables above 8. This is completely optional though and can be removed at the guests request and can not be added if preferred or again requested. Kind... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$14 - $36
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Television, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:30 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Dean Street, East Farleigh, Maidstone ME15 0PR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Maidstone  >  East Farleigh
  • Phone Number: +44 1622 741683
  • E-mail
Description
A Country pub set in the beautiful village of East Farleigh. Offering a relaxed dining experience with fresh pub food. Ales, beers, and cocktails all available, along with a wide selection of soft drinks. Outside dining in the summer months, real open fires in the winter. All welcome; including dogs.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing