We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$15 - $50
CUISINES
Seafood, American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveler rating
172
72
49
35
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
172
72
49
35
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salmon salad steak geneva inn grand view overlooking lake geneva window table fine dining sunday evening the wait staff cooked perfectly terri fork anniversary wisconsin
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This restaurant is a joke. A bad joke. Staying in the hotel, which is fine. Last night we had dinner at the restaurant. Apart from the peripatetic bartender (??) the food was mediocre but the prices were astonishing. I could write much more, including them...closing the bar at 5:30pm on Thanksgiving night. Won’t be back.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 9, 2022 via mobile

The ambience and view are lovely, and the service was very good. The sea bass and crème brûlée were well prepared. But my cioppino was disappointing. It tasted of canned tomatoes and lacked any discernible seasoning. For the amount of money charged, there is really...no excuse for this.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Krysta H, General Manager at The Grandview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2022

We're sorry o hear that we did not meet your expectations. We will take your feedback on board, so that we can continue to learn and grow

Reviewed August 6, 2022

After reading other reviews we were excited to dine here for the first time. The food was mediocre and came so fast we had multiple courses at once (appetizer, salads, entrees). There was hair in the appetizer but no one came back to check or...ask why we did not eat it. The salad came without dressing and we waited for that to be resolved. The steaks were difficult to cut with a steak knife. More importantly, the bathrooms were dirty and the beautiful windows overlooking the lake were covered in cobwebs. When the guest facing areas are not clean, it makes you wonder what the kitchen looks like.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Krysta H, General Manager at The Grandview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2022

We are sincerely sorry that your visit did not meet your expectations. We always strive to provide the best food, best service and best ambiance for our guests, and it sounds like we missed the mark. We will certainly look into the points you have...More

Reviewed August 1, 2022

WOW! Such a nice find! Exceptional service (Wonderful Server, Nikesha), Exceptional Steak & Seafood entrees with Exceptional water views of Lake Geneva! Next visit we will actually stay here at the Grandview Inn!

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Krysta H, General Manager at The Grandview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2022

Thank you for your kind words! We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us!

Reviewed April 19, 2022

WARNING - This hotel is very nice, but don't go to the GRANDVIEW RESTAURANT! We've been to the Geneva Inn numerous times and have always enjoyed it, but this time we came solely for the Grandview Restaurant Easter Brunch. Our day was to be perfect...- we were flying into Chicago from Florida, picking up my husband's 105 year old mother just NW of Chicago, and taking her on a beautiful country drive for a lovely Easter Brunch on Lake Geneva. Due to mom's age and the traveling we needed to do, we called a month early to make our reservation. At that time, we explained to the hostess on the phone that we were driving in from Chicago with our elderly mother and asked to reserve a window table. She explained they couldn't guarantee a window seat but that the dining area was tiered, and therefore, everyone would have a beautiful lake view. Having been here before, we knew this to be true and understood it was a holiday, so we made the reservation without the guarantee of a window table. On Easter day we arrived early but had to wait awhile to be seated. When the hostess walked us to the back of the restaurant into a small conference room with two windows facing the parking lot, we immediately went to the desk to explain that there was a mistake. She replied that it was the best they could do. We again explained that this was not what they had guaranteed and now because of our seating, my 105 year old mother would have difficulty walking to the front area and waiting in a long line to get her food. This is where I received the message loud and clear that they didn't care - take it or leave. At this moment, we knew we couldn't drive mom around Lake Geneva looking for someplace else to eat on Easter Sunday so we decided we had no choice but to stay. As we waited for our waitress, we had the opportunity to speak with other's who were placed in the back room who also didn't get the lake view they were promised. It was now apparent that management clearly decided to take more than they had space for, and threw the overflow into the back conference room. To make matters even worse, once we were finally told we could go to the buffet and helped our mom get there, we found that the food looked horrible! After we picked through our plates, my husband excused himself to once again try to talk with the manager. He asked that they at least make some type of compensation for their error but as before, she said she would do nothing and then looked him straight in the face and said that this was our fault. She continued with a lie claiming she left multiple messages on our phone in regards to the seating arrangements. She stated that we didn't call back and that's why we got put in the back room. This was unbelievable to hear! After all the measures we took to make sure our travels from Florida to spend Easter with our mom went smoothly - how could she blame us? Of course we would've returned a message especially when, as she claims, left multiple ones! This was an outright lie and honestly the worst customer service we have ever had from an upscale venue like the Geneva Inn. From a promised lake view, to being put in a back room looking at a parking lot, less than par food, callous customer service, and the manager lying about leaving multiple messages (side note - everyone else in the back room never got a message either) - We Were Mad! This was completely unacceptable and now want to send our message loud and clear - DO NOT SUPPORT THE GRANDVIEW RESTAURANT! The management staff just doesn't care...More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 26, 2022

We went later in the evening in early March and it was not terribly crowded. Our waitress was attentive and funny. The wine list was improved over what it was when I was there last June. We were able to split a meal (it was...late and too much food can be overwhelming). We had the salmon and the dish was great except for too much risotto. I had a Brandy Alexander for dessert, which was pretty good but lacked the required nutmeg. We were off in a corner so you could carry on a conversation without having to write notes or yell. The food has improved over a couple of years ago, which is to The Grandview's credit. I have recommended this restaurant to friends.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 7, 2022

The food here is excellent: amazing ribeyes; moist, flavorful fish; nice lamb shank, but the side dishes and accompaniments need help. The bread is lovely, but they serve it with unsalted butter, so you need to add salt, but the only salt they give is...in a grinder and it comes out in big chunks. The beer is cool -- not cold -- and honestly there's no excuse for that when its 5 degrees outside. The coffee is lukewarm at best. I sent it back and asked them to heat it up in the microwave. The sides are also a bit of a let down. The mini potatoes tasted most unpleasant -- more like dirt than potatoes and although the asparagus was perfectly cooked it lacked salt. The chef obviously knows what he's doing, but a little more attention to detail would go a long way.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Krysta Holden, Marketing at The Grandview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2022

Thank you for your candid feedback. We will keep this in mind moving forward, as we aim to make every detail satisfactory.

Reviewed January 27, 2022

Was there for our anniversary. Wife's lamb was cooked perfectly. My ratitorie with short rib was wonderful. Seth, new at bartending, did a great job. Amber, the waitress was professional and was a pleasure to be around. Great view of Lake Geneva.

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Krysta Holden, Marketing at The Grandview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2022

We are so pleased that you had an excellent evening with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed January 10, 2022

My boyfriend and I went on a Sunday in January (out of season for Lake Geneva) and had such a lovely evening. The view is wonderful and the food was spectacular. They are great at accommodating food allergies and the staff was lovely. We will...definitely be going back.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Krysta Holden, Marketing at The Grandview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2022

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us. The view is always spectacular, no matter the season, and we love hearing when our guests can enjoy the beauty of Geneva Lake with us.

Reviewed November 16, 2021

was there on a sunday night for my anniversary. didnt stay there but went there for dinner. had the mahi mahi and it was so fishy tasting it was nasty!! also had the chicken marsala and it was just ok . spent a lot of...money for the place not the food. the hummus plate was great thats one good thing. i definitley would not recommend going here.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Krysta Holden, Marketing at The Grandview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2022

I'm sorry to hear that we missed the mark. We often get a lot of praise for our entrees, so it's disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Reviewed November 8, 2021

Grandview Restaurant in the Geneva Inn in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, is a refined hotel restaurant featuring traditional Wisconsin favorites and high-end surf 'n turf dishes and a grand view of Lake Geneva through floor-to-ceiling windows. Located at N2009 State Road 120, in one of this...resort town's most luxurious hotels, it is open from 3 to 9 Sunday through Thursday and 3 to 10 on Friday and Saturday. If you're in a mood for fine dining in a romantic atmosphere, this is the place. My wife and I started with a seafood cocktail with Pacific crag claws and jumbo shrimp and cocktail sauce, Wisconsin white cheddar cheese curds with beer batter and bacon jam and Southwest ranch, chicken and wild rice soup and Caesar Wedge salad with halved hearts of romaine, parmesan cheese, crumbled croutons and house Caesar dressing. For an entree, my wife chose Queen filet mignon, an eight-ounce prime tenderloin with marbled roasted potatoes and jumbo asparagus. I opted for a 12-ounce prime New York Strip steak with marbled roasted potatoes and jumbo asparagus. For dessert, we shared large portions of key lime pie and strawberry shortcake. We have discovered that there are several first-class restaurants in the Lake Geneva area, most affiliated with luxury hotels, and the Grandview Restaurant certainly is one of them.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 29, 2021

I thought I had made a reservation on open table but apparently did not complete. In spite of my blunder they were very accommodating and understanding. We enjoyed a delicious dinner of Sea bass and halibut! Both wonderful! Amber, our server was delightful in every...way! Turned out to be a very special evening!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 19, 2021 via mobile

We drove up for a day and wanted a restaurant with a view. The Grandview Restaurant located inside of the Geneva Inn didn’t disappoint. The dining area has plenty of seating with views of Lake Geneva. The staff were cheerful and helpful. The food was...well prepared and appetizing.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 12, 2021

The Grandview Restaurant is a part of the Geneva Inn. A luxury hotel atop a bluff on the Southeast corner of Lake Geneva very near Blackhawk State Park. The views of the lake are stunning, to say the least. It immediately sets the mood for...a memorable evening of fine dining. We have been there multiple times for our wedding anniversary. We have never been disappointed The wait staff is superb. All elements of the 3 course evening were absolutely delicious. Pricey? Yes, but worth it for your special occasion.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Krysta Holden, Marketing at The Grandview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2021

We are delighted to read your kind words, and we are so pleased that you appreciate the service and quality we offer. Thank you for all of your return visits, we look forward to having you join us again soon!

Reviewed July 1, 2021

I remember coming here in the 90’s when they first opened….not much has changed….when you walk in it’s like it was 30 years ago….same old dark tables and chairs that are so soft you can’t get out of them. We started with the cheese plate….emphasis...on plate….huge blocks of cheese served on a huge white plate….I mean it was enough cheese for like 4-5 people…I know they probably want you to think you are getting your money’s worth, but if you ate it all you would not have room for the entree. I had the filet which was actually pretty good, but the sides were horrible, these weird long mushrooms and fried onions…..ok….my husband had the pork chop which was pretty good and a decent portion but the side, I don’t even know what it was….pitiful. Very stingy wine pours by the glass, a serving should be at least 6oz. mine could not have been more than 4. And it cost $14. We also had an old fashioned which had no alcohol in it. Prices are very expensive, but I guess at a place like this you are paying for the view. Service was super slow and the person never really checked on us much. I also felt very young as we were the youngest people by like 30 years. I will not be coming backMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Krysta Holden, Marketing at The Grandview Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2021

Thank you for your review. Your feedback is helpful in creating better experiences for our guests. We are always looking for ways to renovate and upgrade our restaurant, including a full floor-to-ceiling remodel that took place in 2017, and have replaced furniture every few years....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Geneva Inn
1,107 reviews
.01 miles away
Geneva Wells Motel
105 reviews
1.33 miles away
Lake Geneva Lodge
74 reviews
1.59 miles away
Bella Vista Suites
359 reviews
1.68 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Kilwins Lake Geneva
288 reviews
1.88 miles away
Joni's Diner
375 reviews
1.88 miles away
Oakfire
515 reviews
1.83 miles away
Barrique Bistro & Wine Bar
221 reviews
1.83 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Geneva Lake
476 reviews
1.70 miles away
Riviera Beach
180 reviews
1.76 miles away
Lake Geneva - Visitor Center
48 reviews
1.77 miles away
Galerie Matisse & Matisse Too
21 reviews
1.87 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kmac017
November 1, 2016|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Connie G | Reviewed this property |
All the rooms are spectacular. The cruise around lake Geneva would be a great option in the fall & of course the downtown section has much to offer in dining & great gift shops.
0
Votes
Julie B
December 2, 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Charlene H | Reviewed this property |
Hello, I am not an employee of the restaurant, I just dined there, you will have to reach out to them directly.
0
Votes
Hannah G
October 24, 2015|
Answer
Response from TheGenevaInn | Property representative |
Dining Room Hours Breakfast Monday-Saturday 7:30am-11:00am Sunday 7:30am-10:00am Sunday Brunch 10:30am-2:00pm Lunch Monday-Saturday 11:30am-2:30pm Appetizers and Small Plates Served Daily from 2:30pm Dinner Monday... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE GRANDVIEW RESTAURANT, Lake Geneva - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Grandview Restaurant

The Grandview Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5