The 1844 Table & Mash

The 1844 Table & Mash

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+1 262-764-8940+ Add website
Hours
Sun
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Mon
4:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tue
4:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wed
4:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thu
4:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Fri
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Sat
11:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Improve this listing
Ratings and reviews
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles

RATINGS
Food
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
$7.00 – $45.00
CUISINES
American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
meals, features
Is this an American restaurant?
About
Escape the modern-day buzz and be transported to the simpler days of yesteryear. At the 1844 Table & Mash, we believe that a great experience stems from a great meal. That’s why our chefs only utilize the best of the season’s offerings and purchase products locally to create fresh, simple, and unique dishes. Not in the mood for a meal? Grab a seat at our vintage-inspired whiskey bar! Our bar has 30 different types of whiskey including single malt scotch whiskies, bourbons, and ryes.
PRICE RANGE
$7.00 – $45.00
CUISINES
American
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Non-smoking restaurants, Gift Cards Available
Top 3 reasons to eat here
Sponsored by: The 1844 Table & Mash
1. Historic & Inviting Atmosphere
"We were impressed with the beautiful decor and throwback atmosphere. "
5.0 of 5 bubblesTheresa S
2. Fantastic Food
"We just finished our dinner here for our 45th Anniversary! It was delicious!! "
5.0 of 5 bubblesSunshine20355354655
3. Large Selection of Whiskey
"The cocktails we ordered were delicious."
5.0 of 5 bubblesTheresa S
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles32 reviews
Excellent
12
Very good
3
Average
10
Poor
4
Terrible
3
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Wiginn
Kenosha175 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 family
We’ve dined at 1844 a few times now - the food has been consistently good. Good drinks too, and a decent selection of wines. Prices are a bit on the high side for what you get and compared to other Kenosha restaurants. One other thing that has been consistent in each of our times there is slow service. It doesn’t seem to be a fault of the waitstaff, but perhaps the kitchen and bar that are the bottlenecks? I’m hoping it’s still growing pains and that the service will get better because it’s a great venue! It isn’t a large menu but each time we’ve been there (both for lunch and for dinner) they have been out of something - usually the Reuben, but most recently the soup. Warm bread is served before dinner - it’s always delicious. The filet and prime rib are both excellent.
Written February 2, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JessicaMM56
Ginny, thank you for your review. We appreciate you sharing your feedback regarding our service and will share your review with our management team so we can get resolve this issue. We hope to see you in the future for Lunch, Dinner or Sunday Brunch!
Written February 3, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bill H
Kenosha98 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 couples
Arrived at 6:15 on a Friday night without reservations. We were greeted by a friendly hostess and promptly seated. Ordered drinks while we looked at the menu. My guest ordered scallops and a bowl of clam chowder. I ordered the fish fry and substituted potato pancake to replace the frys. The soup was served a good half hour later with a bread basket. The soup was watery for a chowder. The bread was fresh and welcome after such a long wait. The scallop entree was average but pricey. The fish fry was a large portion and the fish was lightly breaded and tasty. The coleslaw and potato pancake were quite good. The downside was very slow service. The waitress would disappear for long stretches and although we were in no hurry, getting a box and the check was painfully drawn out. While waiting we watched another waitress try to serve a party of six. It was like checkers with dinner plates. Being new they should adjust the heating system also. Runs very loudly then gets cold when it shuts off. We will definitely return and I hope management reads this and attempts to correct these issues.
Written January 10, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JessicaMM56
Thank you Bill for your review and feedback regarding your dining experience. We take all comments and reviews seriously and will share yours with our management team.
Written January 13, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Andrea B
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2023 couples
Christina our server deserves a 5 star review. She was amazing, gave great recommendations, she was funny and nice throughout the entire dinner. That being said the food was only ok. The brisket grilled cheese was completely soggy on one side. The french onion soup was well presented but bland. The pecan crusted pork chops were over cooked and dry. The best part of the meal was the disco fries appetizer. Overall a beautiful restaurant but I’m not sure we’ll go back for another try
Written March 2, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tiffany Larson
We always aim to deliver a great experience, and we are gutted when we don’t meet expectations. Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will use the feedback to make us better and to ensure this doesn’t happen again
Written April 20, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ProfessorOnzaga
Kenosha645 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2019 none
Haven spoken to several people who dined at 1844, I was apprehensive about even trying it as I heard essentially terrible reviews: bad, service, food, etc. Well, I should have trusted that which they said, as our experience was not pleasurable. I must begin by stating that I have no issue paying for quality: I patron many lovely establishment in Chicago, Highwood, etc., and never complain about the prices when I am satisfied. Yet when I saw that the prices at 1844 were comparable to those in Chicago, my expectation were set at a higher bar than that of a regular restaurants in Kenosha. Yet, our experience regarding food and drinks were below that of even averages places in Kenosha. The ambience is lovely... modern, cozy and clean. The wine selections were average, especially for the prices. The service was initially fine when the young man at the bar was working. But once he left, about 15 minutes later, it went downhill. The young women were inattentive and even seemed perturbed by our requests. The food was subpar by all mean. One would expect that the chef could organize a decent charcuterie board, yet it was laughable. Beef sticks as a meat? Beef stick, akin to those at the checkout counter of a discount store? The other "meat" was some kind of chopped chorizo, which was not bad, but nothing memorable. The cheese were ridiculous! We live in Wisconsin! I can go to Woodmans and purchase better cheeses! There was a decent blue cheese, but the others were a basic cheddar and Manchego. I was shocked by the substandard quality of that appetizer. We also ordered the bruschetta, which was so sweet, it was a dessert rather than an appetizer. We were so disappointed by our first course, that we left without ordering dinner. And to make matters worse, one of the servers decided to charge extra on my friend's credit card, which was rectified 3 weeks later, yet is further validation that this establishment is in need of significant change to be worthy of remaining in operation. I do not enjoy penning negative reviews, particularly for a local establishment that I feel is needed in Kenosha, but 1844 Mash & Table earned my rebuke. It was an expensive disappointment.
Written January 18, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JessicaMM56
On behalf of our entire team, I'd like to apologize for failing to provide you with a superior dining experience. Our General Manager would like to connect further with you regarding your experience. If you're inclined, please send us an email at info@stellahotel.com. We do hope that you'll consider visiting with us again so we can replace your negative experience with a positive one.
Written January 21, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jeff V
46 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
We finally went for dinner, had done drinks only. It was restaurant week and great choice. Generous portions. Salmon in a puff pastry was large and excellent. Salad, desert were both large and good. 3 types of bread brought out, 1 for each of us. Had a nice cab for 7 for a generous pour, have purchased wine in store for 13 per bottle so good value too. Pork was very nice also I felt they really offered great value and food for restaurant week, was 30 each but felt they did not cut back or reduce quality....which I love to say. Need to try another time, but for now, very pleased, nice atmosphere too.
Written February 4, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JessicaMM56
Thank you Jeff for your review- we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us and hope to see you again soon!
Written February 5, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

D B
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2022 couples
We went out for an early evening New Years Eve dinner and were so disappointed we will not return. The vegetables on the vegetables tray were dry looking and wilted. The salad was wilted. The primer rib was tough as shoe leather, dry and both of us pulled butchers string out of the meat. The twice baked potatoes were so dry the tops and were crusted over. One dessert was soft and cake liked the other hard as a rock. The main course arrived about 1 minute after our soup and salad, or about 10 minutes into the entire meal. It was obvious the food was not cranky cooked but had been sitting in warmers for so long it dried out. Disappointing first experience, which will be our last. Service was decent, the waiter seemed inexperienced which is fine, we were all there once and you can’t blame the waiter for the food quality.
Written December 31, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tiffany L
We always aim to deliver a great experience, and we are gutted when we don’t meet expectations. Thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We will use the feedback to make us better and to ensure this doesn’t happen again
Written January 25, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

lmdoane55
Kenosha24 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2023 none
This is only my 2nd visit to this wonderful hotel restaurant and each time the ambience, service and food have been beyond reproach. My friends and I came for happy hour because drinks & appetizers are all supposed to be half price; we all love a bargain. Everything was perfect. This morning however when I took a look at the receipt I noticed that one appetizer (the Autumn Bruschetta was charged at the full $12.00! I’m sure it was a simple human error; overall our experience was lovely
Written January 7, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tiffany L
Thank you for your review and for choosing The 1844 Table & Mash. I'm happy that you enjoyed your visit and I'm looking forward to your visit again in The 1844 Table & Mash.
Written January 25, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

CONNIE S
Salem1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 couples
We would not try this venue again. Came for brunch - very misrepresented according to the website! No waffle station ( had pre made pancakes in a chafing dish... ) the decadent desserts & pastries were muffins, a small selection of cranberry and banana. The staff person said that they have a new executive chef so things have changed! I predict a span of less than 6 months and this business will be history!
Written February 11, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tiffany Larson
I hope this notes finds well. We have sent your feedback to the personnel concerned. I apologize for this bad experience. This is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance to make it up to you. Please let me know if you want to discuss this personally.
Written March 20, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Carrie B
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2024 family
My family of 7 ( 6A/ 1C) decided on 1844 to celebrate my son's marriage to his fiance . They knew they wanted somewhere "special" yet close to home. It was a wonderful choice! We arrived sporadically and all ordered a drink in the lounge first. When our reservation time our table already had the ice water poured, wonderful!! Complimentary veggie tray and hummus and bread were brought to the table. VERY NICE! We started out with 4 different appetizers : Vegan fritti / WI smoked fish dip/ Door Co. cheese curds and Swedish meatballs which we shared amongst us all. Every one was delicious and the winner was absolutely the Cheese curds. They melted in your mouth! Between us we ordered a NY strip, Lobster raviolli, Chicken picatta x 2, Prime rib sandwich, Duck, and a Fire grilled skewer( an appetizer) All of our meals were very good. My grandson was offered a child's menu and chose a Grilled cheese sandwich. I think he could have ate an entire order of cheese curds and been very happy! Somewhere in all the mix we had an order of fries too. Out server was Gabrielle and she was on top of everything!!! I didn't catch the bartender's name but she was great too! It was a wonderful time and I'd be happy to go back for another special dinner! ** our dinner was on a Tues / it was not busy
Written July 10, 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Brewercraig13
Kenosha49 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 friends
Service was extremely poor. Communication nonexistent. Prime rib was over done for medium rare. Burgers were ok. Fries were way over salted. For the prices and the expectation for an upscale restaurant it was disappointing.
Written December 2, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tiffany Larson
I hope this notes finds well. We have sent your feedback to the personnel concerned. I apologize for this bad experience. This is very disappointing to hear, but we hope you give us another chance to make it up to you. Please let me know if you want to discuss this personally.
Written March 20, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ricardo L
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 family
This is a great lunch spot to enjoy great service, food, and ambiance. WiFi is strong and so are the drinks ; ) Gus served us beautifully the delicious food of Chef Jose and sous chef Nathan!
Written December 7, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tiffany Larson
Thank you for your kind review! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff. It's definitely a boost for us every time we hear positive reviews such as this. We will be sure to let Gus, Jose and Nate know that they made an impact during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to the 1844 soon!
Written March 20, 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sunshine20355354655
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 couples
We just finished our dinner here for our 45th Anniversary! It was delicious!! My husband and I both had the beef tenderloin filet...it was butter tender and very flavorful! The French onion soup was flavorful (my husband thought it was a tad salty, but I thought it was ok) and had just the right amount of cheese on top! My salad was dressed to perfection with just the right amount of flavorful ranch dressing to let the lettuce shine! The garlic mashed potatoes were silky and yummy! I had the Bouchard Pinot Noir...delicious!! The featured creme brûlée was pistachio tonight. I am not usually a pistachio fan but decided to try it...I was not disappointed! It was wonderful! We loved the maple cinnamon butter served with the dinner rolls, too!! Georgey was our server...she was prompt, attentive without being pesty, and very pleasant! Thank you, Georgey, for making tonight a great experience! Thank you to the hostess, too! We were greeted with a friendly smile and prompt attention! I was a bit concerned after reading some of the reviews, thinking I made a mistake booking a reservation here, however, we had a very enjoyable dinner! Thank you, again...we will be back!!
Written June 17, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tiffany Larson
Happy 45th anniversary to you and your spouse!! I am so delighted that you chose to celebrate such a special occasion with us. We hope to have you back in the near future and take part in more of your life's celebrations and milestones.
Written June 18, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Meander40020932197
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023 friends
I especially loved the waffle station and Connor’s great service! Everything in the buffet was fresh and delicious! I will definitely be back!
Written March 26, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tiffany Larson
Thank you for your review and for choosing The 1844 Table & Mash. I'm happy that you enjoyed your visit and I'm looking forward to your visit again in The 1844 Table & Mash.
Written April 20, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BadgerChica
Milwaukee25 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2022 family
When entering for dinner the door was locked and we had to enter by the hotel lobby and walked through the breakfast areas. Not a big deal but not welcoming. Then I noticed a large cart of half eaten food and dirty dishes which was from one of the smaller event spaces. Again not horrible, but not appetizing. The bar was nice, but the eating space was nothing special and it felt like a hotel. Plus the entire time we were eating people from the wedding upstairs or small party kept coming in and then leaving. There was also no music playing, everyone could hear our conversation. Drinks were small, expensive and unremarkable. We had a bloody mary, maple old fashioned and strawberry refresher. Dinner was also expensive, for such lack luster food. Everything is a la cart. Thats fine but if you do that I expect amazing sides. That us not the case here. We all had a wedge salad. The dressing choices were ranch or vinaigrette. Not sure who serves wedge salads without blue cheese especially in Wisconsin. We did enjoy the crispy onions on top. The salmon that arrived was overcooked and had a thick skin on it. The sauce was all over the plate, horrible presentation. The smashed potatoes were gritty and we were unable to eat. The vegetable of the day was asparagus and all off the woody part of the asparagus was used didn’t eat. Lasagna and Bucatini were unremarkable and bland. Service like the food was below par. Our water glasses were not filled until two minutes before we left. I left a full plate of my bucatini and was not asked why. We sat with empty plates for 15 minutes, I think we were checked on once. My mother commented oh I thought he left. I felt horrible that I suggested this place to my family and it was horrible. Plus the prices are outrageous for the quality of food, drinks, and level of service. At the end of the meal I was go to talk to the hostess, but none was present at the desk. I think they should stick to catering vs restaurant service, hopefully that is good. I would hate to be a bride paying those prices for bland overcooked food.
Written August 21, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela C
Hello, I am sorry to hear that you had such a poor experience while dining with us recently, and apologize for the issues you encountered. We have discussed the issues that you have mentioned with our team, so they can be addressed. Thank you, for bringing this to our attention, so these issues can be corrected and not experienced by others going forward. We would like for you to come back so we can make this right for you. If you are interested please contact me at 262-764-9822. Sincerely, Angela Cleland General Manager
Written September 2, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

jean44harrison
Chicago18 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
Enjoyed a delicious pot roast sandwich during Kenosha's restaurant week. Great atmosphere, wonderful service, and excellent food. Can't wait to go back for dinner.
Written February 9, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JessicaMM56
Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again!
Written February 14, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 32
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
La Fogata Mexican Grill
$$ - $$$ · Mexican
Sazzy B
$$ - $$$ · American, Bar, International, Contemporary
House of Gerhard
$$ - $$$ · German
The Garage
$$ - $$$ · American, Bar, Pub
The Coffee Pot
$$ - $$$ · American, Cafe, Diner
Waterfront Warehouse
$$ - $$$ · American, Brew Pub, Bar, Pub
Brat Stop
$$ - $$$ · American, Bar, Pub
Wine Knot Bar & Bistro
$$ - $$$ · American, Wine Bar
Boat House Pub & Eatery
$$ - $$$ · Seafood, Gastropub
Kaiser's Pizza & Pub
$$ - $$$ · American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE 1844 TABLE & MASH, Kenosha - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

All Kenosha HotelsKenosha Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kenosha
Things to DoFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars