We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The 1844 Table & Mash

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$7 - $45
CUISINES
American
Meals
Dinner, Late Night, Drinks
View all details
features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 09/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 09/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveler rating
7
3
9
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
7
3
9
3
0
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed February 9, 2020

Enjoyed a delicious pot roast sandwich during Kenosha's restaurant week. Great atmosphere, wonderful service, and excellent food. Can't wait to go back for dinner.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JessicaMM56, Marketing at The 1844 Table & Mash, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2020

Thank you! We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed February 4, 2020

We finally went for dinner, had done drinks only. It was restaurant week and great choice. Generous portions. Salmon in a puff pastry was large and excellent. Salad, desert were both large and good. 3 types of bread brought out, 1 for each of us....Had a nice cab for 7 for a generous pour, have purchased wine in store for 13 per bottle so good value too. Pork was very nice also I felt they really offered great value and food for restaurant week, was 30 each but felt they did not cut back or reduce quality....which I love to say. Need to try another time, but for now, very pleased, nice atmosphere too.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JessicaMM56, Marketing at The 1844 Table & Mash, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2020

Thank you Jeff for your review- we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us and hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed February 2, 2020

We’ve dined at 1844 a few times now - the food has been consistently good. Good drinks too, and a decent selection of wines. Prices are a bit on the high side for what you get and compared to other Kenosha restaurants. One other thing...that has been consistent in each of our times there is slow service. It doesn’t seem to be a fault of the waitstaff, but perhaps the kitchen and bar that are the bottlenecks? I’m hoping it’s still growing pains and that the service will get better because it’s a great venue! It isn’t a large menu but each time we’ve been there (both for lunch and for dinner) they have been out of something - usually the Reuben, but most recently the soup. Warm bread is served before dinner - it’s always delicious. The filet and prime rib are both excellent.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JessicaMM56, Marketing at The 1844 Table & Mash, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2020

Ginny, thank you for your review. We appreciate you sharing your feedback regarding our service and will share your review with our management team so we can get resolve this issue. We hope to see you in the future for Lunch, Dinner or Sunday Brunch!

Reviewed January 18, 2020

Haven spoken to several people who dined at 1844, I was apprehensive about even trying it as I heard essentially terrible reviews: bad, service, food, etc. Well, I should have trusted that which they said, as our experience was not pleasurable. I must begin by...stating that I have no issue paying for quality: I patron many lovely establishment in Chicago, Highwood, etc., and never complain about the prices when I am satisfied. Yet when I saw that the prices at 1844 were comparable to those in Chicago, my expectation were set at a higher bar than that of a regular restaurants in Kenosha. Yet, our experience regarding food and drinks were below that of even averages places in Kenosha. The ambience is lovely... modern, cozy and clean. The wine selections were average, especially for the prices. The service was initially fine when the young man at the bar was working. But once he left, about 15 minutes later, it went downhill. The young women were inattentive and even seemed perturbed by our requests. The food was subpar by all mean. One would expect that the chef could organize a decent charcuterie board, yet it was laughable. Beef sticks as a meat? Beef stick, akin to those at the checkout counter of a discount store? The other "meat" was some kind of chopped chorizo, which was not bad, but nothing memorable. The cheese were ridiculous! We live in Wisconsin! I can go to Woodmans and purchase better cheeses! There was a decent blue cheese, but the others were a basic cheddar and Manchego. I was shocked by the substandard quality of that appetizer. We also ordered the bruschetta, which was so sweet, it was a dessert rather than an appetizer. We were so disappointed by our first course, that we left without ordering dinner. And to make matters worse, one of the servers decided to charge extra on my friend's credit card, which was rectified 3 weeks later, yet is further validation that this establishment is in need of significant change to be worthy of remaining in operation. I do not enjoy penning negative reviews, particularly for a local establishment that I feel is needed in Kenosha, but 1844 Mash & Table earned my rebuke. It was an expensive disappointment.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JessicaMM56, Marketing at The 1844 Table & Mash, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

On behalf of our entire team, I'd like to apologize for failing to provide you with a superior dining experience. Our General Manager would like to connect further with you regarding your experience. If you're inclined, please send us an email at info@stellahotel.com. We do...More

Reviewed January 10, 2020 via mobile

Arrived at 6:15 on a Friday night without reservations. We were greeted by a friendly hostess and promptly seated. Ordered drinks while we looked at the menu. My guest ordered scallops and a bowl of clam chowder. I ordered the fish fry and substituted potato...pancake to replace the frys. The soup was served a good half hour later with a bread basket. The soup was watery for a chowder. The bread was fresh and welcome after such a long wait. The scallop entree was average but pricey. The fish fry was a large portion and the fish was lightly breaded and tasty. The coleslaw and potato pancake were quite good. The downside was very slow service. The waitress would disappear for long stretches and although we were in no hurry, getting a box and the check was painfully drawn out. While waiting we watched another waitress try to serve a party of six. It was like checkers with dinner plates. Being new they should adjust the heating system also. Runs very loudly then gets cold when it shuts off. We will definitely return and I hope management reads this and attempts to correct these issues.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JessicaMM56, Owner at The 1844 Table & Mash, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Thank you Bill for your review and feedback regarding your dining experience. We take all comments and reviews seriously and will share yours with our management team.

Reviewed December 10, 2019

A new take on standard fare. Very unexpected and delicious. The wait staff was superb. The wonderful cocktails are very easy to overdo if you're not careful. A bit pricey but definitely worth at least one meal.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JessicaMM56, Manager at The 1844 Table & Mash, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2019

Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experience and hope to see you again for lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch!

Reviewed August 18, 2019

This restaurant will make u wait for ur food 50 min in about empty restaurant!!! We came for dinner I counted 7 tables ,food took 55 min,manager took care of the check ,food was good,since we stayed in a hotel ,came back for lunch .Asked...waitress how long will take ,answer about 20 min.One table and us took still 50 min Omg Food is good ,ambiance as well Just unexplained wait timeMore

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JessicaMM56, Manager at The 1844 Table & Mash, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2019

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your dining experience. We will be sharing your review with our team and those who were on staff to discuss the long wait time you experienced while with us....More

Reviewed August 8, 2019

The restaurant is beautiful and trendy, modern but comfortable! The food, however, ehhhh. Unique options with combinations you don't find elsewhere in Kenosha. But pricing is ridiculous. For what we paid, would rather have gone to MKE or Chicago. Menu is actually quite small and...adding a side or salad is absurd. Drink menu is fine but would advise getting something specialty because you can go to any of the bars around there for much cheaper beer...and the server will remember to bring them!More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JessicaMM56, Manager at The 1844 Table & Mash, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2019

Chelsea, thank you for your review, we're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your overall dining experience with us. We appreciate your honest opinion regarding our menu. Since opening in April, our menu has slowly grown and plans to continue to grow to offer...More

Reviewed July 25, 2019

My four coworkers and I popped in after work for drinks and appetizers on a Wednesday. We tried the Carr Valley Curds, Charcuterie for Two, Chicken Pops and Tomato Bread. Everything was really good. I highly recommend the Stellatini made with Absolut pear vodka. The...staff was really friendly and attentive. I can't wait to come back for dinner some time soon.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JessicaMM56, Manager at The 1844 Table & Mash, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2019

Thank you Lindsey for your review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experience- the chicken pops are the bomb! We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed July 15, 2019

My husband and I dined here for lunch with another couple; we like to try new places. Our friends are vegans so this place really appealed to them with a choice of vegetarian dishes. We arrived at noon on a Sunday and were seated immediately....This venue is has been tastefully and eclectically transformed from its former life as an Elks Club. The layout of the dining room and the bar is cleverly separated. Our waitress, Kim, was prompt, and attentive throughout our visit. We did not order cocktails, but a large pitcher of ice water is offered and left at the table for refills. The lunch menu is limited, but what they offer is unique! My husband and I had the walleye sandwiches and they did not disappoint. Our friends had a mushroom burger and the cauliflower mash, which they also enjoyed. One also ordered the baked french onion soup, which would recommend next time. For dessert, I had the homemade tiramisu (yummy), my husband had the warm chocolate cookie with vanilla ice cream on top, that he also recommends, and our friends shared a cherry gelatin dessert in a wine flute that looked decadent! Not sure what it was, but they sure savored it. We were able to stay for over 2 hours to catch up, and our waitress was never intrusive. My husband and I would like to return for dinner soon :)More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JessicaMM56, Manager at The 1844 Table & Mash, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2019

Thank you so much for your review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed every part of your dining experience and look forward to seeing you again soon! Our chefs do a pretty amazing job in the kitchen and the Tiramisu is so delicious!

Reviewed June 30, 2019

Had been open quite recently when we two visited for a Friday Lunch in May. at 11:05 the door was locked so we had to enter through the Café (hotel) side. Felt like things in general were in the initial "shakedown cruise" but I accepted...this because, well Keno is changing as gentrification moves westward into deeper downtown. Quiet, unrushed mealtime with few patrons. No problem for me with the limited menu. Food was delivered timely, satisfactory. Ah, the server: I like chatting up and she was amenable to that, I learned that her previous experience was a Culvers. Ok, great, you're moving up. I asked for white wine, and she went to the "glass station" (several positioned throughout the venue- smart and classy) picked up the glass, held it to the light and then polished it. This I see very, very rarely. What a nice attention to detail. Bottom line - that touch, and the affability of service ingratiated me about this place initially. I'll be visiting again on the 16th for lunch. Let's see how things are 2 months out, and with farmer's market and other traffic potential for the lunch service. I'm not sure that 1844 is grounded yet in what it wants to be, but I do appreciate the effort, the ambience, the seeming desire of the staff to be cordial, inviting, engaging. Thoughts: yes, a slightly expanded menu.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JessicaMM56, Manager at The 1844 Table & Mash, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2019

Thank you for your review! We've slowly expanded our menu these past two months with plans to continue to add new and unique dishes as time goes on. We look forward to your visit with us on the 16th!

Reviewed June 2, 2019

I’ve been to The 1844 three times since it opened and each time I found the service to be very challenged. It seems like they are being managed by high schoolers and really do not have the skill sets to be in the hospitality business....I did appreciate the quality of the food but issues like wait 40 minutes for a drink order or being talked to like your stupid when trying to order food as a hotel guest is just intolerable. Management really needs to get on the ball and train their staff to function like they are working at a fine dining restaurant, not Burger King.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JessicaMM56, Manager at The 1844 Table & Mash, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to provide you with a positive dining experience. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your review to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for...More

Reviewed May 22, 2019

Nice combo of classic and trendy restaurant. Placesettings and extras all added to the mood. Great service, and from salad to dessert all were fresh and had great taste appeal. We enjoyed our entrees, fish and vegetarian. Americans need to slow down and enjoy their...meals, so unless service is major slow, no need to complain. We found the service had a nice attentive pace. Will return and try other menu items.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JessicaMM56, Manager at The 1844 Table & Mash, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2019

Thank you so much for your review and sharing your dining experience! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your meal and look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed May 15, 2019

Our group of 3 women loves to try new restaurants in the Racine & Kenosha area. The 1844 Table & Mash did not disappoint last night. The building has been beautifully renovated (rustic glam), the tables were all very nice sized - no over crowding....Peeked into the smaller private event room and would love to plan a party there - it's beautiful! Alexis our server was very polite and attentive and our food was fantastic. We will definitely want to make this a regular on our rotation!More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JessicaMM56, Manager at The 1844 Table & Mash, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2019

So happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experience! We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed May 13, 2019

I usually don't like to write a review on a restaurant, unless I visited 3 times. This review is based on 2.5 visits. The reason I say 2.5, is because on Thursday, we sat at the bar and had 3 appetizers we shared, as we...weren't very hungry. Friday dinner: The restaurant was very crowded, but they were able to sit us right away without a reservation. Noise level is bad. Very noisy restaurant. They were supposed to have a fish fry, but none was listed on the menu, nor did our server tell us about any. Only walleye and trout were listed. I ordered the walleye, but they were out of it, so I went with the trout, as did my girlfriend. We had the onion soup to start, and that was very good. I ordered a vodka martini and was very specific how I wanted it. No olives, just a lemon twist, extra dry, and cold. I think the bartender made a mistake by putting in olives, and then taking them out. When it arrived, it was yellow in color and tasted like olives mixed with the lemon. It was horrible. I told the waiter to take it back and have the bartender make it right. The next one he brought was warm, and had a slightly sweet taste. Either they used citrus vodka instead of the Kettle One I requested, or added too much vermouth. Either way, it wasn't very good, but I let it go. Plus they don't even fill the glass for the price they charge. They need some training for their bartenders. Anyway, the trout was good. Overall the meal portions were a bit small, but o.k. The next night we had reservations. I played it smart this time and asked for whiskey on the rocks. I knew they probably wouldn't screw that up. They advertise a huge whiskey selection, but don't have it. They had Crown Royal Black, so that was good enough for me. We ordered the seafood soup. It was excellent. My girlfriend just had a couple of appetizers. She had a shrimp cocktail and a charcuterie board. The shrimp cocktail was supposed to be 3 jumbo shrimp. Two were jumbo, but the third was somewhat smaller. Maybe they ran out of jumbo. She didn't finish everything on her charcuterie board, so she asked for it to go. They did a really nice job of wrapping everything separately in plastic wrap in the container. I had the prime rib. It was excellent, but I was told it only came medium. That was o.k. because I usually order it medium or medium rare. Very good flavor, a nice lean cut, and it was tender. Better than I've had at most places. I would return again for the prime rib, and maybe to try another selection. The service was good, considering how busy they were.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
JessicaMM56, Manager at The 1844 Table & Mash, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2019

We're sorry to hear that you were unhappy with parts of your dining experience! Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future....More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Stella Hotel & Ballroom
64 reviews
.02 miles away
Wyndham Garden Kenosha Harborside
696 reviews
.40 miles away
Beach Aire Motel
12 reviews
3.91 miles away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pleasant Prairie / Kenosha, an IHG Hotel
219 reviews
5.27 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Sazzy B
263 reviews
.15 miles away
Frank's Diner
435 reviews
.18 miles away
Wine Knot Bar & Bistro
147 reviews
.17 miles away
Kaiser's Pizza & Pub
191 reviews
.19 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Civil War Museum
268 reviews
.47 miles away
Kenosha Public Museum
203 reviews
.46 miles away
Downtown Kenosha Wisconsin
137 reviews
.19 miles away
Kenosha History Center
60 reviews
.48 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The 1844 Table & Mash staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The 1844 Table & Mash

Yes, The 1844 Table & Mash is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The 1844 Table & Mash is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5