We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
About
Pacific Grill is Tacoma's Premier Dining Destination. Housed at the Historic Waddell Building in the heart of Downtown Tacoma, Pacific Grill is the perfect location for a delicious dinner, business lunch, Boozy Weekend Brunch or Happy Hour. Past Food & Wine Magazine Best New Chef, Gordon Naccarato, brings Tacoma & the South Sound a creative mix of New American, Seafood, Steaks & more. Enjoy Western Washington's Best Happy Hour in our Bar & Lounge!
PRICE RANGE
$15 - $60
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood, Contemporary
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (942)
Filter reviews
932 results
Traveler rating
542
241
103
31
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
542
241
103
31
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch arancini scallops salad seafood steak happy hour convention center valet parking small plates anniversary dinner special occasion the wait staff pg appetizers museum
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Any information on what we can do about gift cards? I’ve got a few of them and was hoping to use in Oct.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant recently announced that they are closing down for good. See their website for confirmation.

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
gnaccarato, Owner at Pacific Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

PACIFIC GRILL HAS PERMANENTLY CLOSED. THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT FOR THE LAST FIFTEEN YEARS.

Reviewed March 8, 2020

My niece was familiar with this restaurant and suggested the 4 of us eat here. It was a Friday night and we had a 5:30 reservation and were seated promptly. The restaurant was already crowded. The tables were nicely spaced. Our server Gregory greeted us...right away and suggested drinks. As I like rum, he suggested a drink similar to a Mai Tai. I found it to be heavy on the rum and not a good balance with the other ingredients. I thought the wines were rather pricey compared to mixed drinks. Well we came for the food, so I ordered the scallops. You need to look at the menu closely to see all the ingredients, and there are many, but the description was very accurate. The dish was very good. The scallops cooked perfect. The rest of my party was very happy with their salmon, paella and the clams and linguine. As I said, look closely at the menu because the linguine dish also included potatoes, which my sister opted to leave out. Who knows if pasta and potatoes would have been a great dish? I don't usually eat at expensive places and I'm from out of town but I would consider this a high end restaurant. My entree was 39.95. I surely don't mind splurging once in a while for some great food!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
gordonn830, Owner at Pacific Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2020

Hello Valerie, Thank you for the great review! The Clam Linguine is based on my Italian father's recipe. Several famous pasta's from Italy combine 2 "starches" in one dish --like *Pasta e Fagioli* (pasta with white beans) and other pasta-potato dishes from the South of...More

Reviewed March 2, 2020

My husband & I have been to this restaurant for last 2 years on our anniversary and both times were quite similar. I made reservations on line a few weeks prior to going and I filled out the comments part of the reservation. We parked...in the free parking they provided both times and walked to the restaurant a block away. Both times we had to wait about 5 minutes before being seated even though we had reservations. When we were being seated we were greeted with happy 38th and 39th anniversary for each of the years we have been there. Food was excellent & service was excellent. We had different items to each both times we were here. My husband was a little disappointed they didn't have the same entree this year as he had last year, but he found something just as good this year. When the server came to our table she too greeted us with happy XX anniversary also. The server we had this year was the same exact one we had last year, which we thought was quite ironic. Yes they do charge a 20% service charge which I do not like but I was well aware of it before we went. We were also offered a free dessert for our anniversary which again when they brought it out we were greeted with happy xx anniversary. This is the first restaurant that I have been to that actually reads the "comments" you put in on your reservation. The only bad thing I can say about this is the restrooms. They only have 2 women's stalls and it was dark and dingy. It was also a little messy but that is due to the patrons. The stalls were also small. Some day we will have to try the brunch they offer. Tip: Buy the gift cards at Costco ahead of time saves you money.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 1, 2020 via mobile

Always love HH at PG. food always great! And bottomless brunch yasssss!! 💕💕💯💯🙋🏼‍♀️🙋🏼‍♀️ Highly recommend for date night or girlfriends brunch or happy hour. Go. Now.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
gordonn830, Owner at Pacific Grill, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2020

Thank you very much for the kind words! We appreciate it! -- Gordon Naccarato Owner/Chef

Reviewed February 28, 2020

Met friends here for dinner because they made the reservations. I recommended other places, but they wanted to go to Pacific Grill. We arrived a few minutes early and were seated promptly. Overall, the service was fine and the food is above average. No complaints...until the bill came with a mandatory 20% service gratuity. I asked to speak to the Manager and he reiterated the info that was on the bill/card. Since I found no glaring fault with the service and food, the 20% remained. I paid the bill with no additional tip. It is my last visit to Pacific Grill because I abhor mandatory service charges.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
gordonn830, Owner at Pacific Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2020

Hello Craig, Thank you for the feedback. I am glad that you found the food & service to your liking. I understand that some people do not like Service Charges. We went to this model so as to avoid constant menu price increases, and to...More

Reviewed February 17, 2020

Visited Pacific Grill on 15 February 2020. We arrived about 1/2 hour befor our reservation. One couple who came in after us and told the hostes they did not have a reservation were seated before us. We were seated about 15 min after our reservation...and I was OK with that. Service was slow, no really slow. We ordered a meat platter that came with grilled bread. I came burnt black. I brought this to the our waiter, she said it was supposed to be that way. Sorry, It was burnt! Not grilled. Ten minutes later it was replaces. Service is slow for a mandetory gratuity of 20%. I will say however that the lamb shank was excellent! However, due to the service, I don't think we will be back.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
gordonn830, Owner at Pacific Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2020

Hello Venture, I really am sorry that someone was seated before your reservation. I am also sorry the bread on your charcuteries was overly charred, and that it took too long to replace it. The Service Charge is based on liveable wages being paid to...More

Reviewed February 17, 2020 via mobile

Their kindless service and empty apologies were an unsatisfying experience enough. Called to ensure that dining was available at the bar. I was told that there were seats available. I drove across town to find empty bar seats with reserved tags placed in front of...them. I was confused and went to the hostess stand to see what was happening. I was informed that between calling and driving across town several parties had come in and requested seating at the bar. There were parties of 4, 3, and 4 now on a reserved sheet. The hostess remembered me calling but said she couldn’t couldn’t reserve the bar seats. Now, I am confused is the bar first come first served or not? They were waiting on enough seats to open at the bar to seat the parties. I received and apology but was told there was nothing she could do. The only option seemed to be waiting an additional 2 hours. Unfortunately I am visiting from Alaska. I suppose I won’t really be able to honestly rate this place. I am very disappointed that any customer would be treated this manner. I will gladly share this experience with my friends in the localMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
gordonn830, Owner at Pacific Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2020

IceGod, when you called there was indeed seating available at the bar. And yes, we do not [generally] reserve spaces in the bar. But you were driving from Puyallup and things changed by the time you arrived. As in a lot of people came into...More

Reviewed February 14, 2020 via mobile

I’ve been coming regularly for past couple years. Have an excellent happy hour and a menu that changes regularly. Dessert is a MUST. Rock n Roca Blondie Sundae is a signature dish for one or to share.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
gordonn830, Owner at Pacific Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2020

Thank you Tim! We like to feature Tacoma's own Almond Roca in our Blondie Sundae. Glad you enjoyed!

Reviewed February 3, 2020

The food we ordered was amazing ! The filet steak was perfect, the butternut squash linguini was delightful . The atmosphere romantic, I will for sure back !!

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
gordonn830, Owner at Pacific Grill, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2020

Thank you Jenn I am glad you enjoyed our food. Thanks for the 5-Star review!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hampton Inn & Suites Seattle Federal Way
877 reviews
8.08 miles away
La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seattle Federal Way
360 reviews
7.72 miles away
The INN at Gig Harbor
586 reviews
7.96 miles away
Candlewood Suites Lakewood
52 reviews
6.58 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
The Fish Peddler on Foss Waterway
230 reviews
.18 miles away
Bite
283 reviews
.14 miles away
The Old Spaghetti Factory
277 reviews
.17 miles away
Galanga Thai Cuisine
88 reviews
.23 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Washington State History Museum
237 reviews
.31 miles away
Tacoma Art Museum
263 reviews
.11 miles away
Museum of Glass
1,282 reviews
.29 miles away
Union Station
145 reviews
.24 miles away
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing