We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co.

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
54106 Mtn Hwy E, Elbe, WA 98330
360-569-2500
Website
Today
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 113: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Ok, two railway coaches stuck together. But you want more than that from a restaurant. The were burnt. Really burnt. The Buffalo burger was actually quite good to be fair. Over priced for the quality. Ale sure you sit in the front (roadside) carriage and not the carriage at the back facing towards the railroad as it is not very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Antony J
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The food was very expensive for what you got - and it wasn't very good. Dining in the car is unique however. I ordered a taco salad - and it was the strangest combo of ingredients I have ever seen. service was lacking as well.

Helpful?
Thank oelfkedad
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that you left unsatisfied. I assure you we're capable of more than what you experienced. When it comes to our dishes, they are prepared with fresh ingredients and seasoned to taste. We do our best to make sure that's fairly reflected in our price. And while we can't change our price, we will continue working hard... More 

Issaquah, WA.
Level Contributor
279 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Got a Taco salad to go and it was ample and good at 18.00. We thought by the Internet that breakfast came with our Hobo Inn lodging at this restaurant, but this did not happen. We were told that this ceased to happen several years ago. However, in Trip Advisor, the Hobo Inn is called a Bed and Breakfast. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank GrandmaGoldwing
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

It sounds like there was a mix-up of information about the Hobo Inn lodging. But I do want to thank you for choosing to dine with us. 9AM is our peak breakfast time for travelers and locals alike, and while we can't change when we open, we can make sure you get the most out of your breakfast. That said,... More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We both went for the pulled pork BBQ sandwich, which seemed liked the smallest portion on the menu -- though I wished they'd have used "onion buns" for it. I'd like to go back and try some of the other things on the menu. Great service -- they even offered me free parking for the train!

Helpful?
Thank MarkStephenSouder
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

Thank you so much for this follow-up. While we don't use onion buns for our sandwich, I'm glad you still managed to enjoy it. I certainly hope to see you again. I'd love to know your thoughts on our other menu items. You might just like them even more than the sandwich! See you soon, Elisa Butler - Owner More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a great roadside roadhouse! It was really nice and so cool to eat on an old train. The food is all home cooked and reminiscent of a meal your mom would make. it was close to our hotel, and easy access to the highway.

Helpful?
Thank puppypatty111
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. I think you capture the spirit of our restaurant very well, and I hope this won't be the last time we see you. All the best, Elisa Butler - Owner More 

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is a cute set up with average service and food. You go for the experience of eating in an old train and the decor. Not a place I would eat at again.

Helpful?
Thank annastinadavenport
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

It's disappointing to hear that you think our food is average. We're committed to homemade meals that really hit the spot. And although we can't please everyone, we sure want to try. I am, however, glad you enjoyed the interior. All that said, I would really love to help you find something from our menu that you can look forward... More 

Eatonville, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016

Overpriced, skimpy dishes. Definitely worth passing by. I haven't been back in over a year, so perhaps it's improved?

Helpful?
Thank kitcatalina
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

We're all about serving the highest quality dishes, so it's really unfortunate that you didn't think your meal was worth the price. You mention that it's been over a year since you've been by, and we really hope you'll come by again so we can prove to you that we're worth it. Sincerely, Elisa Butler - Owner More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Rating is NOT correct!!! Food was not only on the expense side, my small $10.00 burger came complete with a long hair inside! Fries were an insult to a cook. Frozen would have been better. We were on an adventure, we got a "cool" experience , the temperature inside was 60 degrees.

Helpful?
Thank Fran B
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

Hi, Fran. I'm sorry that you didn't like the food, but I'm even more concerned to hear about this hair inside your burger. There's no way to be sure that was on of ours, but I still apologize because that's disgusting. That said, we'll definitely relay this to the rest of our team to prevent it from happening in the... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

Food is very good. Atmosphere was understandably nice. Ordered a hamburger and fries and wasn't disappointed. Waitress was great. Will be back again. Live in Eatonville so I'm not far away.

Helpful?
Thank Barb A
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

We'd love to see you again, Barb! Glad that you enjoyed your meal so much. We were happy to have you, and we'd love to see you again the next time you pass through Elbe! Best, Elisa Butler - Owner More 

Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

I gave 2 stars for the coolness of the dining car, but it took a long time to get a seat for lunch. There were only 2 other people eating and we finally had to chase someone down in the back room to let them know we were there. Ordered the mushroom Swiss burger for 12.00 and was sorely disappointed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

Hi, Susan. I'm disappointed to hear that your meal and the service you received wasn't as good as it should have been. None of our food is frozen, and a lot of our food is fresh and drawn from local sources. However, I apologize that this isn't what you experienced. I hope you'll give us another chance the next time... More 

Travelers who viewed Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co. also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$10 - $20
Cuisine
American
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 54106 Mtn Hwy E, Elbe, WA 98330
  • Location: United States  >  Washington (WA)  >  Elbe
  • Phone Number: 360-569-2500
Description
Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co. is a family owned and operated restaurant that is part of one of the largest caboose collections in North America. Come enjoy our delicious house smoked dishes

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co. staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?