We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co.

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
54106 Mtn Hwy E, Elbe, WA 98330
360-569-2500
Website
Today
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 9:00 am - 9:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 108: English reviews
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

It is a cute set up with average service and food. You go for the experience of eating in an old train and the decor. Not a place I would eat at again.

Helpful?
Thank annastinadavenport
Eatonville, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overpriced, skimpy dishes. Definitely worth passing by. I haven't been back in over a year, so perhaps it's improved?

Helpful?
Thank kitcatalina
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

We're all about serving the highest quality dishes, so it's really unfortunate that you didn't think your meal was worth the price. You mention that it's been over a year since you've been by, and we really hope you'll come by again so we can prove to you that we're worth it. Sincerely, Elisa Butler - Owner More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2016 via mobile

Rating is NOT correct!!! Food was not only on the expense side, my small $10.00 burger came complete with a long hair inside! Fries were an insult to a cook. Frozen would have been better. We were on an adventure, we got a "cool" experience , the temperature inside was 60 degrees.

Helpful?
Thank Fran B
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

Hi, Fran. I'm sorry that you didn't like the food, but I'm even more concerned to hear about this hair inside your burger. There's no way to be sure that was on of ours, but I still apologize because that's disgusting. That said, we'll definitely relay this to the rest of our team to prevent it from happening in the... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

Food is very good. Atmosphere was understandably nice. Ordered a hamburger and fries and wasn't disappointed. Waitress was great. Will be back again. Live in Eatonville so I'm not far away.

Helpful?
Thank Barb A
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

We'd love to see you again, Barb! Glad that you enjoyed your meal so much. We were happy to have you, and we'd love to see you again the next time you pass through Elbe! Best, Elisa Butler - Owner More 

Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2016 via mobile

I gave 2 stars for the coolness of the dining car, but it took a long time to get a seat for lunch. There were only 2 other people eating and we finally had to chase someone down in the back room to let them know we were there. Ordered the mushroom Swiss burger for 12.00 and was sorely disappointed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Susan C
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

Hi, Susan. I'm disappointed to hear that your meal and the service you received wasn't as good as it should have been. None of our food is frozen, and a lot of our food is fresh and drawn from local sources. However, I apologize that this isn't what you experienced. I hope you'll give us another chance the next time... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016

We stopped for lunch after a horseback ride. We were seated fairly quickly for it being Mothers Day and the service was fine. The food was pricey and to be honest, nothing special. My son took three bites of his burger and took the rest home to the dog. The rest of the party ate most of their plate but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bethyny R
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

Hi there, Bethyny. Thanks for taking the time out of your day to let us know of your experience with us. I'd like to personally apologize for falling short of your expectations here -- your disappointment is most definitely my disappointment. You should only ever enjoy fresh, delicious meals with us, and I'm very sorry for falling short of your... More 

Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2016 via mobile

We just dropped in for lunch on a sightseeing drive . Place is very clean and fun to visit. We all had smoked chicken or smoked porky sandwiches . Very tasty and nice presentation . What made our stop so memorable was our server. I can't remember her name though she told us she was from Germany . She gave... More 

Helpful?
Thank AkAndy68
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

Thanks so much!!! I'll tell your server you said this -- she'll apprecite the support. I'm glad to hear that you made a pit stop for us and that it paid off. Next time you're in the area, come see us! Elisa Butler - Owner More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2016

worse food ever. could not eat the prime rib. so much gristle. my honeys' was so tough he could not eat his either. would never order that again. the broccoli and baked potato were good but not worth 60.00

Helpful?
Thank Melody A
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

Hi, Melody. Obviously, I'm disappointed to hear this kind of feedback, and I'm sorry that your food wasn't prepared as well as it should have been. Tough prime rib is never appetizing, and we'll definitely keep this in mind moving forward. That said, we hope that you'll give us another chance in the future. Best, Elisa Butler - Owner More 

Selah, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2016

We called around 7pm to see if they would be open when we reached Elbe. Sure enough the gentleman said they would be open. The gentleman was very informative about all of their specials and pleasant to listen too. The food was great. We were the last table there, even though it was 8, and they even served our friends... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ashley T
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

Thanks so much, Ashley! We were happy to have you, and I'm glad to hear that your experience here was so nice. I'm happy you came, and next time you're in the area, bring some more friends! Best, Elisa Butler - Owner More 

Tumwater, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2016

We stopped here last week after visiting Paradise at Mount Rainier. Our kids are 20 months and 4 years so they were really excited to be inside of a train. They loved the toy trains inside as well. We loved the blackberry lemonade, chocolate milk shake, and sweet potato fries. The burger I ordered and the lasagna my husband ordered... More 

Helpful?
Thank marley187
Elisa F, Owner at Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co., responded to this review

Hey, Marley! So glad to hear that you and your kids enjoyed your meal so much. I really do appreciate all the feedback, and we'll see what we can do about those dishes that were more "meh" than anything else. Hope to see you again soon! Best, Elisa Fruzzetti - Owner More 

Travelers who viewed Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co. also viewed

 

Been to Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$10 - $20
Cuisine
American
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 54106 Mtn Hwy E, Elbe, WA 98330
  • Location: United States  >  Washington (WA)  >  Elbe
  • Phone Number: 360-569-2500
Description
Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co. is a family owned and operated restaurant that is part of one of the largest caboose collections in North America. Come enjoy our delicious house smoked dishes

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Mt. Rainier Railroad Dining Co. staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?