We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Abuelo's

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Mexican, Southwestern
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
4802 Valley View Blvd NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2001
+1 540-265-3555
Website
Today
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Mon - Thu 11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Fri - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

247 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 247: English reviews
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2015

We always make it a point to dine at Abuelo's on business trips. Quick, friendly service.Chips and salsa very tasty. Cant go wrong with the Fajitas. Good value.

Helpful?
Thank Steven M
AbuelosManagers, General Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this review

This is great to hear, Steven! We are honored you chose to dine with us on business trips. Thanks for the awesome review and we hope to see you very soon! Thanks, Jason McKnight, GM More 

Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2015

After fighting the crowds on Black Friday, Abuelo's was a welcome retreat. We had the chicken medallions stuffed with chorizo. The lunch entree came with beans and rice. The chicken was a good size, tender and very flavorful with the chorizo. Our server was very attentive. All made for a very enjoyable lunch!

Helpful?
Thank VAtouring
AbuelosManager, Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We appreciate the feedback and are glad that you had an enjoyable time dining with us. We hope to see you again soon! - Jason McKnight G.M. More 

Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2015 via mobile

We really enjoyed eating here. Tex Mex isn't my favorite but I thought this place was very good. The chips are thin and crispy and they have a variety of salsas. Service was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank redbirdgirl1965
AbuelosManager, Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Do you have a favorite salsa? On your next visit, may we recommend The Monterrey? It is a huge dish that allows you to try several different enchiladas, including the sour cream chicken enchilada, avocado enchilada, spinach enchilada and chicken ranchera enchilada. It's a great way to enjoy different flavors and spice levels. We can't... More 

Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
982 reviews
641 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2015 via mobile

We have several Abuelo's in my home town in Texas and live them and have visited them for over 19 years now. This location had excellent food, excellent service and excellent margaritas. We eat alot of Tex Mex and frequent many different restaurants at home but it is always a staple for us. Try cheese enchiladas with dour cream sauce... More 

Helpful?
Thank SmurfySmurfette80
AbuelosManager, Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this review

This is exactly what we like to hear! Thank you for your review. We appreciate your loyalty to our restaurant. We're so glad to hear that you were able to get a taste of home while dining with us. We hope your next visit is just as great, and very soon! - Jason McKnight G.M. More 

Manassas, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2015 via mobile

The place looks nice and there is plenty of room. We were seated promptly and our server was pleasant. The chips were thin, cold, somewhat broken and the salsa while different were not great. The house margarita was good and probably the best part of the meal. We ordered the salsa sampler which had guac, cheese, and a meat dip... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scott R
AbuelosManager, Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Scott. At Abuelo's, we strive for everyone to enjoy our made-from-scratch entrées, and we are distressed that you did not experience the restaurant as intended. However, we appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve and provide a better experience in the future. It would mean a lot for you to dine with us... More 

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2015

Beautiful restaurant, Great service, and Exceptional authentic Tex Mex. All food and sauce are made from scratch, with just the right amount of wonderful spice. Another great thing about this restaurant is their willingness to alter dishes to your taste...for example if a plate comes with cheese enchilada....they will give you beef,chicken etc. as well as multitude of great sauces.

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
AbuelosManager, Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words, Robert! We appreciate your loyalty to our restaurant and cannot express how happy it makes us to hear you've found the perfect Mexican food at Abuelo's. We look forward to seeing you again soon! - Jason McKnight G.M. More 

Hardy, VA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2015 via mobile

We went to an early dinner before a movie. We had a hour and a half which should be plenty of time in a not busy restaurant. WRONG. First one of our party's food came out wrong, they didn't know whose food was whose. Then after 20 minutes that order that was missing still had not come. Food came out... More 

Helpful?
Thank GMAS11
AbuelosManager, Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We appreciate your feedback, however we are terribly sorry for your poor experience. Please call me at 540-265-3555, so that I am able to apologize personally for you and your family's night. At Abuelo's, we pride ourselves on providing the utmost care and attention to our guests, as well as serving authentic,... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2015 via mobile

Service was terrible and expensive for food vs alejandos or el rodeo. Then i see all over news a week later that servers at this location have been altering checks and forging names! I would recommend another choice to avoid risk or stress.

Helpful?
Thank Chris U
Stratford, CT
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2015 via mobile

Selected the restaurant at the recommendation of our hotel and were so happy we did. There were an amazing array of selections and our server was very knowledgeable about the specifics of every dish that we asked about. Our server was excellent, anticipating our needs and even bringing additional salsa when we were running low. We were given three salsas... More 

Helpful?
Thank casmith79
AbuelosManager, Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this review

This is exactly what we hope to hear! Thank you for your review. We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed our variety of salsas. Do you have a favorite? We hope your second visit is just as great, and very soon! - Jason McKnight G.M. More 

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2015

Good chain Mexican food with diverse menu. Great chips and a selection of salsas came with the meal. We at lunch on a Friday about 1:00 pm. Only about 20 tables were occupied. The entrees were good, not great. Price of the luncheon entree's was higher than local non-chain Mexican restaurants. $8.99 for a burrito and $8.99 for two enchiladas.... More 

Helpful?
Thank swfl1800
AbuelosManager, Manager at Abuelo's, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. What's your favorite dish so far? We're sorry about the slow afternoon and would love to see you again soon. - Jason McKnight G.M. More 

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's also viewed

 

Been to Abuelo's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Mexican, Southwestern
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Serves Alcohol, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Television, Highchairs Available
Good for
Dining on a budget, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 4802 Valley View Blvd NW, Roanoke, VA 24012-2001
  • Location: United States  >  Virginia (VA)  >  Roanoke
  • Phone Number: +1 540-265-3555

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Abuelo's staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?