We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Peacock Room

Certificate of Excellence
$$$$
British, French, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Crimble Lane, Rochdale OL11 4AD, England (Bury Road)
At the end of the lane
441706368591
Website
Improve this listing
Today
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Wed - Fri 12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Wed - Sat 6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for: Special occasions
Description: The Peacock Room at the Crimble is simply a superb venue. Set back from the...
The Peacock Room at the Crimble is simply a superb venue. Set back from the main road, you feel as though you are in the middle of the countryside. Watch out for Peacocks, who freely roam around the mature garden grounds which surround the building. The restaurant itself is wonderfully opulent. Enter the aperitif bar and enjoy a cocktail or glass of champagne. Peruse the innovative menu featuring seasonal ingredients, freshly prepared into interesting, sumptuous dishes. The food style is modern British, with some international twists. The dinning room features 2 stunning chandeliers amongst its many unique features. The service style includes a warm welcoming approach to fine dining. If you would like information or advice about any of our dishes, or our extensive wine list, feel free to ask, we are here to help.
read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 222 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 148
    Excellent
  • 49
    Very good
  • 11
    Average
  • 8
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 stars
    Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Very enjoyable experience

Was very impressed with the service and was seated quickly. Really enjoyed the food which was of a high standard and will definitely recommend a visit we will be going again.

5 of 5 starsReviewed 1 week ago
Padsra
,
Radcliffe, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Radcliffe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Was very impressed with the service and was seated quickly. Really enjoyed the food which was of a high standard and will definitely recommend a visit we will be going again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Padsra
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this review

Dear Padsra, Thank you for posting such a great review following your recent visit to the Peacock Room. We are so pleased to hear you really enjoyed your meals and were particularly impressed with the service provided by the team. The team will delighted to read such positive comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in... More 

Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

once again the meal was truly scrumptious!we were greeted by a lovely young man who served us our wine while we chose from the menu then Cyril showed us to our table,every course was beautifully presented & very tasty,the new menu is wonderfull,Jean who served our party was very attentive,a meal at The Peacock Rooms is always one to remember... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ann L
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this review

Dear Ann L, Wow! Thank you for posting such a fantastic review following your recent visit to the Peacock Room. We are absolutely delighted to hear you enjoyed a wonderful meal which you thought was truly scrumptious! We have passed all of your kind comments onto the team who will be thrilled with your comments and we very much look... More 

Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have been to the Peacock room on several occasions and have always enjoyed the experience but I feel I must mention the wedding I attended at the Peacock Room on 30/12/15. It was wonderful. The decorations, the staff, the food were superb, which led to a great party atmosphere. Despite there being 80+ of us the food was served... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this review

Dear Mike W, Thank you for posting such a positive review following a recent wedding you attended at the Peacock Room. We are so pleased to hear the day ran like clock-work, there was a great atmosphere, and the transition between the main meal and the evening supper was seamless. We have passed all of your wonderful comments on to... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I came with some friends for a belated Christmas celebration. I am on dialysis and as a result have dietary restrictions. I had informed the restaurant in advance and when we arrived they explained which dishes they could adjust to my requirements. Although this was a limited choice I was very impressed that they had taken this on board. My... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank joansmith_parrfold
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this review

Dear joansmith_parrfold, Thank you for posting such a terrific review following your belated Christmas celebrations. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do. We are so pleased to hear the team accommodated your dietary restrictions and you were all impressed with your meals and had a faultless experience from start to finish. The team... More 

Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The meal was Ok but for the price was lacking. Disco advertised a non event. Despite a note on their webpage that children under 15 would be asked to leave the floor when we walked though to the limited space floor there were young families there with around half a dozen children about 5/6 years old basically preventing any adult... More 

Helpful?
Thank david c
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this review

Dear David C, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do and assists us greatly when looking at areas which may need improving. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. We have tried to contact you to investigate further, however, to date we... More 

Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016

Our family, a party of 13, visited the Peacock Room for Christmas Dinner. The location and atmosphere were good and the staff were very attentive and jovial given they were working on Christmas day. We were not rushed, each course was served in a timely manner. I had scallops to start followed by, soup, the fillet of beef and pear... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MissMinkle850
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this review

Dear Miss Minkle850, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your visit to the Peacock Room for Christmas Dinner. We are pleased to hear you felt the atmosphere was very pleasant, you didn’t feel rushed between courses and you really enjoyed your meals. We are sorry you were a little disappointed with the canapes and the... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2015 via mobile

After visiting Nutters a few weeks prior to the Peacock Room we were looking forward to another lovely family meal.. The food was lovely and thoroughly enjoyed by all seven of us, however it was the service that let the evening down. Still a great meal, but would recommend Nutters by far!

Helpful?
1 Thank RBowler
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this review

Dear RBowler, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do and assists us greatly when looking at areas which may need improving. We are pleased to hear you all enjoyed your meals, however, we are as disappointed as you are to learn that the... More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Terrible this is not a fine dining experience at all food was Gastro Pub standard.We had to questioned the cooking of one of our guests steaks the waitress then advised she had got the steaks mixed up and then astonishingly took it on herself to swop the plates of food with the Knives and Forks on them and with one... More 

Helpful?
Thank J9956MVmaria
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this review

Dear J9956MVmaria, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do and assists us greatly when looking at areas which may need improving. We are truly sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us, please accept our sincere apologies. We have high standards at the... More 

Cornwall
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015

We booked here for early Saturday evening. The place is very nice. The service is wonderful. The drinks and food are the best. I really cannot say anything negative. It was a wonderful experience and we would all definatly go back

Helpful?
1 Thank SteveandAnna
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this review

Dear Steve & Anna, Thank you for posting such a positive review. We are delighted to hear everything was to your liking and overall you had a wonderful experience, and will definitely be returning. We have passed all of your kind comments on to the team and we very much look forward to your next visit. More 

Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2015

Underwhelming. We eat in the normal Crimble and Toby quite often and for a change we thought we would upgrade to Peacock Rooms. Shouldn't have bothered. Food was OK. That was first and last time. Another day out spoiled by staff.

Helpful?
1 Thank jasperjones2015
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this review

Dear Jasperjones2015, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We really appreciate guest feedback as this makes us good at what we do and assists us greatly when looking at areas which may need improving. We are truly sorry you didn't enjoy your experience with us. We do encourage our guests to advise us if anything is... More 

Travelers who viewed The Peacock Room also viewed

Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Peacock Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Crimble Lane, Rochdale OL11 4AD, England
    (Bury Road)
  • Public Transportation: At the end of the lane
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Greater Manchester  >  Rochdale
  • Phone Number: 441706368591

Price and Cuisine

  • Average Prices: USD 26 - 65
  • Cuisine: British, French, Contemporary

Restaurant Characteristics

  • Dining Style: Fine Dining
  • Good for: Special occasions

Description

The Peacock Room at the Crimble is simply a superb venue. Set back from the main road, you feel as though you are in the middle of the countryside. Watch out for Peacocks, who freely roam around the mature garden grounds which surround the building. The restaurant itself is wonderfully opulent. Enter the aperitif bar and enjoy a cocktail or glass of champagne. Peruse the innovative menu featuring seasonal ingredients, freshly prepared into interesting, sumptuous dishes. The food style is modern British, with some international twists. The dinning room features 2 stunning chandeliers amongst its many unique features. The service style includes a warm welcoming approach to fine dining. If you would like information or advice about any of our dishes, or our extensive wine list, feel free to ask, we are here to help.
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Thursday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday
12:00 pm - 2:30 pm
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Saturday
6:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Peacock Room and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Peacock Room staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?