We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windmill Inn

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Socially distanced dining tables
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,056 results
Traveler rating
287
351
163
135
120
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
287
351
163
135
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roast dinner yorkshire pudding bristol channel free dessert severn estuary fantastic views red pepper window seat lovely pub pub grub car park booked a table family meal
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not local to Portishead but we were in the area and needed some dinner and have had great food and experience in the past. We were surprised they had a table for 7 available at short notice and right in the window which was great....We had 3 young children with us (4 adults) and had to get up to ask for kids menus, not a problem as in the past you ordered at the bar. Decided what we were having and went to order to be told table service only. That’s great except in the whole time we had been there not one person approached our table, even when seated we were not told this or offered drinks. Eventually we had to ask someone to take our order. This was painful in itself. Waitress looked like she was eating something sour and we decided we would get drinks at the bar ourselves. Food took half an hour or so (one course) which wasn’t too bad. I must mention the place was not very busy at all. The adults food arrived first. We were dealing with 3 starving kids asking where there food was. We chased this and it still took a while with the beans and veg arriving first with 1 kids meal which were cold by the time the rest of the kids mains came. Adults had to start as it would have been a complete waste. Finally the sausages and chips arrived and the sausages were pathetic, burnt and cold!! Ridiculous. No one asked if we wanted sauces and again had to get up to ask someone. When we wanted to speak to the manager we were told he was eating his dinner. We asked to speak to him afterwards. He never bothered to approach us and we very much felt he hid behind his staff. We told them we would not be paying for the kids dinners. Someone did come and tell us they had removed the kids meals and given us 20% discount which we were happy about as it had not been a good experience. Complete lack of service. Only saving grace was the adults meals were nice. Won’t be bothering to return as it definitely isn’t worth the prices on the menu. No one looked very bothered or apologetic. Spend your hard earned money elsewhere!More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
pix a, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Alice, I am sorry that the experience did not live up to our usually much higher standards. Although I did personally speak with a gentleman from your party regarding the missing children's meals and ensured they got delivered to your table, the waitress team...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to The Windmill for a family Sunday meal last night. The service was excellent, from the front door to the table and throughout the dinner. The roast dinner was delicious, plentiful and piping hot. No complaints at all and will be back. So good...to be back there and have a lovely evening. Everyone left happy.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi, thanks for the lovely feedback! Pix

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Windmill’s had some pretty poor reviews recently. On that basis we steered clear. But tonight we changed that and ventured up. Food was great. Good pub grub. Cooked well and presented with efficient style. No idea who Mrs Owton is, she seems to be in...charge of all things porky. I’d recommend her corporals sausage. My dinner date was very satisfied.More

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the positive review!

Reviewed October 16, 2022 via mobile

Had read the other reviews on The Windmill saying about a very long wait for food and not all items available but hoped things had improved- however, just like many others have said we were told when they came to take our order of all...the items unavailable from the menu, so 3 of our group had to quickly think of a second choice. We then had to wait an unacceptable length of time for food and drinks , we did chase them up as the length of time we were sitting there without food or drink after the orders were taken was ridiculous. There were also items not available from the desert section so one of our group had to go without! I understand this pub has been taken over and are struggling with staffing problems but this lack of service and only a part menu needs to be addressed . The food was just ok.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 11, 2022

Well what an amazing night out we had here. From the moment the table was booked over the phone with a friendly helpful man to the moment we left on Saturday night. There was 12 of us, we were seated by the window with the...lovely view. Our waiter (either Michael or David, sorry cannot remember the name) was just brilliant, he was very attentive & friendly, smiling all the time & even letting us "play up to him" with our joking around. The food was amazing & all brought to the table at the same time so we could all eat together. The waiter (although he had other tables) made us feel like we were important customers & nothing was any trouble for him. We will definitly be back next tiem we are in the area.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 10, 2022

We met up with friend at the Watermill Inn for dinner. We all enjoyed our meal choices. The service was quick, efficient and friendly. We will be happy to return.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2022

Thank you for such positive review! Pix

Reviewed October 1, 2022

We booked a table for 5 and was shoes to it early. Our waitress asked us what we wanted to drink and left. Our drinks arrived some ten minute later. We then waited for 20 minutes for a waitress to arrive, took our order. Food...arrived after 25 minutes with a Yorkshire pudding taking up a third of the plate and everything else piled on top of each other. The turkey on top was dry and unedited to be eaten by 2 of our group. One pork dish had no vegetables on the plate at all. The pigs in blanket was a chipolata bunt to a crisp and no sign of any bacon. The carrots, further on down the pile were soggy and soft. We have regularly used this pub for family gatherings but would hesitate if this cannot improveMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2022

Good afternoon, I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit, we would happily correct any issues with your meals if we are made aware, Your feeback will be with the team.

Reviewed September 23, 2022

Feedback from a recent visit. The service is very slow, had to disturb staff talking to order a drink and food which both took forever to arrive The staff seem inexperienced in customer service and generally disinterested. The food was okay but expensive for what...we had. Don’t expect to return as it has definitely gone downhill since our previous visit.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2022

Thank you for your feedback, we so have a very new team at the moment so your comments will be shared with them all to ensure our service improves.

Reviewed September 22, 2022 via mobile

You know the food is poor when the salted caramel ice cream has more seasoning in it than the main meal.... waiter seemed very uninterested when I said the main (chicken schnitzel) lacked basic seasoning and was completely tasteless. The dessert was chocolate tart, which...was pre cooked and then put in microwave for a few seconds to be this tasteless lukewarm goop with soggy pastry. The salted caramel ice cream that came with the dessert was the only thing that was nice. It was a farewell lunch with my mother before she returns to Sout Africa and we left very underwhelmed and disappointed. After the main and our waiter's indifferent attitude I read the reveiws. Should have done it before we went as we would not have gone there. Furthermore, reading the managers standard and uninspired responses to the feedback given cleary demonstrates the lack of care and inability to try and improve. Only giving a star for the view.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2022

The Chicken schnitzel and the chocolate tart are one of the items on our new menu, The chef team will ensure the specifications for the dish are double checked. I am sorry you feel my responses are uninspired, I am really glad you enjoyed the...More

Reviewed September 7, 2022 via mobile

Have eaten at the Windmill on numerous occasions in a large group from a local establishment. The view and food are lovely and always had good service. However, tonight, as a Lone diner totally different experience. Front of house managed to get me table on...the upper level with a nice view. A few groups came in after me and were served first. After waiting fifteen minutes manged to get the servers attention and placed my order. Food was nice but at no point during my meal was I approached and asked how it was, where as the groups were. On completion long wait for my table to be cleared and no mention of how it was. Larger groups asked if they wanted anything else but not me. Eventually, due to lack of service I had to approach the till station to pay. No mention of my food or how things were just presented with the bill. I started to tell the two young servers that as a Lone diner my experience was totally different to that I received as a large group, to which one of them rolled her eyes and looked away. Saved my breath and left. Lone diners be aware, appears groups or larger parties get more attention due to the possibility of a larger tip.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2022

I am sorry the service you received was not up to standard.

Reviewed September 7, 2022

Visited last night 6th Sept, What a disaster !!!! Shocking menu and Specials board, most female staff seemed more happy chatting to each other than attending customers. Too many items on limited menu not available, and only two items out of seven available on specials...board. Since this once acclaimed venue was taken over by Fullers everything has gone downhill, except the prices, they are on the up and up. Go to their own customer reviews for just this year, shocking. When I asked about the lack of menu choices the waitress said that several managers had left, and that there were only two chef's, so not really sure what that had to do with menu choices ??? Our visit was a birthday celebration, we all wanted steak but the choice was 1 0f 1 and at £25.50 we reluctantly chose to have Haddock x2 and Hunters chicken, but yet another bad choice, served on hot plates but food was only warm. deserts were again limited so we didn't bother, paid the bill and left. I could go on about this venue, but I am now losing the will to live, and will be advising all my friends and customers not to visit this place until Fullers pull out ( hopefully because of bad reviews). Just to add, I have been visiting the Windmill for over thirty years and always had great times until Fullers took over, only visited 4 times in the last 3 years and regret each of those visits, and this one will certainly be the last. In closing have a look at the poor revues on their own website, and this one, see how many times over the last couple of years "The Manager"(not sure which one) has stated that they will talk to their staff and try and improve standards. ??? Guys, take it from me it ain't working.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2022

Good Morning, I am sorry you did not like our menu, We, like the rest of hospitality have struggled with recruiting especially the kitchen team , the menu reflects the size of the kitchen team, On Sunday night we had a leak from the hot...More

Reviewed September 4, 2022 via mobile

Always nice food and fantastic views across the river. Oh, and a big car park. This time, was looked after by Michael, who was friendly, knowledgeable and a nice guy. I would recommend this place wholeheartedly. Enjoy!

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 2, 2022 via mobile

The food was very good and tasty however service was lacking. The staff uniform of leggings allows customers to see far more than they’d choose at lunch time and although there was plenty of staff on they were far more interested in chatting between themselves...than concentrating on customersMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2022

Thank you for the feedback.

Reviewed September 1, 2022 via mobile

Very good service and food, Michael the waiter was so friendly and polite, with a eye for perfection .

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2022

Thank you for the feedback, Michael will be so pleased you enjoyed your evening!

Reviewed August 30, 2022 via mobile

A little bit disappointing. Sometime since we visited here. The menu has been drastically cut down and my word is it expensive now. £15.50 for fish and chips. It was nice enough as food goes but I’m not going to rush back

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Windmill I, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2022

Thanks for the review, as you are probably aware the price of food supplies have increased countrywide and have impacted all of hospitality. Our Autumn winter menu will be launched this month and we have specials available too.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
ibis Budget Portishead Marina
1,212 reviews
.79 miles away
Ramada by Wyndham Bristol West
237 reviews
3.28 miles away
Walton Park Hotel
1,515 reviews
4.12 miles away
Ambassadors Health Farm
5.97 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Venga
518 reviews
.57 miles away
Aqua Spinnaker
1,105 reviews
.79 miles away
Vilasa Indian Restaurant
105 reviews
.62 miles away
Antonio's
225 reviews
.60 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Portishead Open Air Pool
195 reviews
.67 miles away
Portishead Youth Centre
40 reviews
.67 miles away
Channel Explorer charters
22 reviews
.94 miles away
Active Reality
6 reviews
.72 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Flobeewan
August 31, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from timtP7567DY | Reviewed this property |
Total greed I'm afraid! Fullers policy is to charge London prices at this establishment & possibly all their others! I haven't been there for 2 years now because it's such a complete rip off!! Their justification is the... More
0
Votes
230andyk
September 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Nathancj23 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they didn't not very big thou
1
Vote
phoebeSomerset
April 6, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from windmilli | Property representative |
Yes on the bar floor or outside
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE WINDMILL INN, Portishead - 58 Nore Rd - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Windmill Inn

Yes, The Windmill Inn is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Windmill Inn is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3.5
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5