We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
A warm welcome and stunning ocean views await you. At The Windmill Inn in Portishead, it’s freshly-prepared homemade food and fine real ale on the menu. There’s no need to book – just pop in and make yourself at home.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards, Waterfront, Dog Friendly
Reviews (960)
Filter reviews
956 results
Traveler rating
254
332
152
116
102
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
254
332
152
116
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roast dinner pudding bristol channel free dessert severn estuary fantastic views window seat the early bird lovely pub order at the bar pub food nice meal car park booked a table sunny day pubs
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having been to the Windmill prior we were disappointed that our meals were bad.We started with pate,only 2 small pieces of toast.My wife had the Ragout which was mostly rice & very dry tasting.I had the Gammon,never have I had such hard & salty meat,the...chips were what I would expect from a catering pack.The whole meal was lukewarm.My wife left half her meal & I left most of the meat on my plate.Food was overpriced for what we had, Never againMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
windmilli, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon. I apologise that the food was not up to standard. We would always prefer to correct any issues during your visit by way of a check back to your table. If you wish to discuss this further please email windmill.manager@fullers.co.uk Kind regards. Pix

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely lunch of beef lasagna followed by pear and plum crumble and custard. Good CV19 practices observed. Great views.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
windmilli, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, thanks for such a positive review. I hope to see you again soon. Pix

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Have been here many times and always had a good experience this time I was very disappointed COVID is here and if business want to stay in business then the answer is great customer service staff need to know what is one the drinks menu...as you can’t stand at the bar and see for yourself they also need to know what is on the food menu and more importantly if items have dairy gluten nuts etc the member of staff who served us had no clue got annoyed with us for asking as it meant he had to walk back to the bar to ask each time we had a question even simple ones like what gins do you have what cider do you have please make sure your staff know these answers not hardMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
windmilli, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon, i am sorry your visit was not up to our normal standards. I would appreciate some more detail on your visit if possible. Please email windmill.manager@fullers.co.uk. Regards. Pox

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited after a recommendation and the views certainly lived up to expectations. Later in the year there’s a lovely looking terrace for enjoying the sun too. Food was okay but a little more standard pub grub than the more has to pub expected. Would definitely...be back again to enjoy food and drinks in the summer sun on the terraceMore

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
windmilli, Front Office Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the review. We are adding dishes to our menu as we move forward including a brunch menu so hopefully there will be more to excite you! Pix

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have rated this place well a number of times before, but unfortunately the quality of the menu and food itself has brought it down to a typical ‘chain’ pub eatery. Standard pub food menu with only 2 pasta ‘specials’ which were all above £10,...closer to £15 each. Gone are the previous list of real specials and interesting dishes. An evening meal for 3 with only main course and a bottle of wine came to £75 - which is expensive for a basic pub meal. Therefore now it is really only the setting (and the London Pride) that makes it attractive.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
windmilli, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good morning, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations during your visit. I can see you enjoyed your previous visit on Valentines day, since then as you know things have changed a lot. Our menus are sent to us from head office since...More

Reviewed October 13, 2020 via mobile

Had a lovely family meal not long ago it was so nice. Lovely window seat to watch the sunset and the food was amazing.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
windmilli, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2020

Thanks so much for the great review. I hope to see you again soon. Pix

Reviewed October 11, 2020 via mobile

Have visited before and been impressed, unfortunately not today. Whilst the rest of the meal( a beef roast ) was good all our party were served with big slabs of uneatable gristly fat along side the beef. Waitress did not check if meal was ok...and when told about the problem just shrugged and said I’ll tell the chef. Nothing less was said and no reduction made on our bill of nearly a £100 . Very disappointed and won’t bother againMore

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
windmilli, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2020

Good afternoon, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry your visit was disappointing. Sirloin of beef is served with the fat on as it adds to the flavour however we can certainly serve it without the fat on your next visit, please just mention...More

Reviewed October 10, 2020

After a demanding coastal path walk from Clevedon we had planned to stop off at the Windmill just for a refreshing drink. Not to be once we saw how fantastic the venue was we stayed for lunch which we walked off on our return journey!...Even with Bio Security restrictions the staff made us so so welcome. We will be back in the Spring of 2021 if not before !More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed September 30, 2020

The place was spotless, well organised and fish and chips well cooked. Could not believe when we got the bill that a glass of wine was £9.65. The waitress who was brilliant apologised and said the it is fullers policy to charge London prices. Shame...as it was a lovely lunch but just felt a bit conned!More

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?1  
DaveC2980, Other at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2020

Hi, thanks for you feedback. We sell a variety of wines at differing price points. Our large glasses start at £6:45 for a large glass of Sauvignon Blanc up to the &9:65 you paid for a New Zealand one. The prices are in line with...More

Reviewed September 29, 2020 via mobile

Visited the windmill three weeks ago and have been back 3 times since so must be good. Food excellent and staff very welcoming considering the covid situation and all the extra work this involves. Well done to you all. Don Flowers

Date of visit: September 2020
Helpful?
windmilli, General Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2020

Thank you so much for the fabulous review! I hope to see you again soon. Pix

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Travelodge Portishead
1,173 reviews
.79 miles away
Premier Inn Portishead hotel
1,108 reviews
.90 miles away
Ramada by Wyndham Bristol West
892 reviews
3.28 miles away
Walton Park Hotel
1,391 reviews
4.12 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Venga
457 reviews
.57 miles away
Aqua Spinnaker
805 reviews
.79 miles away
Antonio's
220 reviews
.60 miles away
Impero Lounge
391 reviews
.59 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Portishead Open Air Pool
183 reviews
.67 miles away
Portishead Youth Centre
40 reviews
.67 miles away
Channel Explorer charters
20 reviews
.94 miles away
Portishead Golf Course
14 reviews
.27 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Flobeewan
August 31, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from timtP7567DY | Reviewed this property |
Total greed I'm afraid! Fullers policy is to charge London prices at this establishment & possibly all their others! I haven't been there for 2 years now because it's such a complete rip off!! Their justification is the... More
0
Votes
230andyk
September 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Nathancj23 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they didn't not very big thou
1
Vote
phoebeSomerset
April 6, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from windmilli | Property representative |
Yes on the bar floor or outside
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing