We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Windmill Inn

58 Nore Road, Portishead BS20 6JZ, England
+44 1275 818483
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good38%
  • Average16%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible10%
Travelers talk about
“gammon steak” (8 reviews)
“ice cream” (14 reviews)
“pudding” (20 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
58 Nore Road, Portishead BS20 6JZ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (812)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Good food, Excellent service, Good ales, and the most amazing views!! We moved to this area some 9 months ago and have visited The Windmill most weeks. It has been a delightful local pub to frequent, and having found the above always on offer I...More

Thank Roger P
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for such a wonderful review, it is always a pleasure to hear from our reprat customers. I will pass on your comments to all the staff, I hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes. Pix

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We’re to start. My dad had the hot pot. Now traditionally this is a gravy based dish. However it hade been made with tomatoes????? The cook needs some good recipe books me thinks? My dad did not enjoy it. Nice portions though and my lasagne...More

Thank Kirstie S
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your thoughts on your visit. I will pass on your feedback about the hot pot to our executive chefs. We aim to correct any issues at the time by way of a check back to your table so if this did not...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Phenomenal views but the food does not match. The table service is also 5 star, but why are they not allowed to take orders? Would free up the bar staff. The rump steak was fantastic but the chips were no match, nor was the pepper...More

Thank Jeannie_Lillywhite
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good afternoon, thank you for your views on your visit. You could of course have had coffee instead of desserts so we will make sure all the staff are aware, We do have free WIfi available for future reference it is O2, I am pleased...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wow view was amazing... looking out to Wales ....starters were lovely...and very tasty. Squid was a little chewy..but not to bad..spicy chllli jam was awesome... chicken popcorn was tasty with a nice spicy dip.. small Sunday lunch was lovely..one asked for more roast pots. There...More

Thank kathandherb
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good morning and thank you for such a positive review, I hope to see you again soon. Kind regards. Pix

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Large pub with great views over Severn Estuary to Wales and the Severn Bridges, with seating spread over two floors. For anyone who wants to break a long journey on M5 it is worth a detour. Booking in advance at busy times is advisable because...More

Thank elmdalian
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning and thank you leaving your feedback. I hope to see you again soon. Kind regards. Pix

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We travelled a long way to get to this dinner, to find that the menu on the website was considerably larger than the menu on offer. Nevertheless, we were able to order some lovely food, although the lack of table service was a bit of...More

Thank Alison C
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, I am sorry you dis not recieve a check back to your table. There was a staff member on every floor doing check backs yesterday . The menu online has all our rotating specials on it which is why the menu seemed different on...More

Reviewed August 17, 2018 via mobile

The views over the River seven this pub offers are fantastic. The staff were friendly and it’s a great place to stop off for a drink or coffee. However I would not recommend ordering food from this establishment. The chicken I ordered was very dry...More

Thank George B
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Good afternoon, thank yoi for your feedback, it’s great to hear the service was good and the staff were friendly . If you wish to discuss your visit further please email us windmill@fullers.co.uk Kind regards. Pix

Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

It’s got the view. It’s got the space to make it a really great pub. But it’s such a shame that service is shocking. Not disrespecting the individual staff but there is a let down in the training / processes. For example we received a...More

Thank Katrina W
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further please email windmill@fullers.co.uk Regards Pix

Reviewed August 12, 2018 via mobile

We stopped at the Windmill for a Sunday roast. No sooner had the food arrived, a waiter appeared to explain that due a terrible mix up, our table was in fact reserved. The party who'd booked it had arrived, and we were asked to "finish...More

1  Thank Anthony L
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Good morning, as discussed yesterday We cannot apologise enough for the unfortunate incident. If we gave the impression you were to blame then I am sorry this was never our intention. We are saddened you will not be returning as we would love the chance...More

Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

It's been a few years since I've been to the windmill and I'm afraid to say it's not how I remember it. The food and service was terrible, I advise anyone wanting a nice meal to find another establishment as this one will only leave...More

Thank Steven M
Windmill I, Manager at The Windmill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Good afternoon, I would appreciate some more details on your visit. If you wish to discuss this further please email us windmill@fullers.co.uk Regards Pix

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 hotels
Travelodge Portishead
822 reviews
.79 miles away
Premier Inn Portishead Hotel
886 reviews
.90 miles away
Ramada Bristol West
776 reviews
3.28 miles away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
1,191 reviews
4.12 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Venga
386 reviews
.57 miles away
Antonio's
189 reviews
.60 miles away
Aqua Spinnaker
605 reviews
.79 miles away
Bottelino's
537 reviews
.78 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Portishead Open Air Pool
154 reviews
.67 miles away
Portishead Youth Centre
28 reviews
.67 miles away
Channel Explorer charters
11 reviews
.94 miles away
The Play Port at Portishead
6 reviews
.65 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Flobeewan
August 31, 2018|
Answer
Response from Latina c | Reviewed this property |
Not sure
0
Votes
Andy K
September 7, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Nathancj23 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they didn't not very big thou
1
Vote
phoebeSomerset
April 6, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Windmill I | Property representative |
Yes on the bar floor or outside
2
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 58 Nore Road, Portishead BS20 6JZ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Portishead
  • Phone Number: +44 1275 818483
  • E-mail
Description
A warm welcome and stunning ocean views await you. At The Windmill Inn in Portishead, it’s freshly-prepared homemade food and fine real ale on the menu. There’s no need to book – just pop in and make yourself at home.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing